Amedisys Business Office Specialist Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Business Office Specialist

Amedisys Business Office Specialist Reviews

Updated Jul 5, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
56%
Recommend to a Friend
1%
Approve of CEO
Amedisys CEO Paul B. Kusserow (no image)
Paul B. Kusserow
3 Ratings
  1. Helpful (9)

    "Wonderful place to work at ."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Business Office Specialist in Roseburg, OR
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys full-time

    Pros

    Amazing coworkers and and director . Family like environment and flexibility when needed because we had a great boss.

    Cons

    Cooperate was incredibly greedy and put a crazy amount of pressure regarding numbers . Even if you had months and months of great census and number it was never enough.

    Amedisys2019-07-06
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Bad placed to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Office Specialist in Lexington, SC
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at Amedisys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Co-workers was very supportive and great team players

    Cons

    Extremely overwhelmed workflow. Company did not provide proper training to new employees.

    Amedisys2019-06-24
  3. "Great Job for over three years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Office Specialist in Kansas City, MO
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Really good pay and lots of p.t.o.

    Cons

    Always a ton of work to do and not always appreciated. I was the only BOS in an office where there are usually two.

    Amedisys2019-02-16
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Ok... I guess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Office Specialist in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Field staff are very friendly

    Cons

    Low paying, bad management, high-stress environment, no room for growth

    Advice to Management

    Learn to utilize your office employees' strengths.

    Amedisys2018-10-23
  5. Helpful (2)

    "AWESOME family atmosphere"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Office Specialist in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Local branches provide a family atmosphere Pay is good

    Cons

    Corporate likes to micromanage locations System is click-heavy, not able to tab through screens

    Advice to Management

    To corporate- stop micromanaging branches To branches- don't fear confrontation.

    Amedisys2018-08-21
  6. "So So"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Office Specialist 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Benefits and pay, for the most part family oriented and good work life balance

    Cons

    No leadership within the care center, lack of support and continuing education options very limited

    Advice to Management

    Send support to the care center

    Amedisys2018-03-11
  7. "Business Office Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Office Specialist in Baton Rouge, LA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great work atmosphere. Family environment. Getting to assist families and patients with their needs. Great benefits.

    Cons

    Going through corporate downsizing and changes.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work.

    Amedisys2018-02-01
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Slightly Above Decent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Office Specialist in Summerville, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hourly pay is on the upper side of what is offered in this area. PTO Insurance

    Cons

    Poor leadership Virtually zero communication Field staff rules the roost. They're never wrong and constantly catered to.

    Advice to Management

    Take a leadership course. Be proactive. Correct issues when they arise,not 2 weeks later once the error is forgotten.

    Amedisys2016-07-21
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Positive Changes"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Business Office Specialist in Navarre, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Getting new software, which will improve efficiency/productivity of charting for clinicians allowing them to have a better home/work life balance. Hopefully this will result in lower turnover rates and training costs.

    Cons

    Benefits keep shrinking, and pay raises haven't been seen in a while.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the positive changes that have been happening in the last few months....also empower your employees and receive even more job satisfaction. With proper training an employee should be allowed to make more critical decisions that would improve efficiency and make them feel more valued. Include employees in discussions about changes, often times the person doing the work isn't consulted when a change is planned.... It is highly likely the person doing the work may have a better solution.

    Show More
    Amedisys2015-06-25
  10. Helpful (4)

    "BOS"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Business Office Specialist in Savannah, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    At my interview the job sounded so great. I would be truly helping people

    Cons

    Management does not back up the office staff. Clinicians are allowed to do as they please, verbally assault office staff, refuse work and transmit their work days after said work was done. Spent the majority of my day fighting with clinicians, writing up incident reports for the DOO and running behind clinicians begging them to please call in and out, please call in caledars and not wait till 4:55pm when patients... need to be seen the NEXT day and TRANSMIT your work. It would take me 2hrs easy every day to just type up dreft's on clinicians for work not received on previous work and this was every day.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Manage your clinical staff. Hire enough staff so when staff will not comply with procedures they get written up and work is withheld until problem is resolved. When clincians know they are the only ones to get the work done, they do as they please and fear no consequences. Management in my office stated they were aware this was an issue and they were just trying me because I was new. I beg to differ. When an office... has hired and lost 4 bos positions in 16 months, there is a problem and it is not with the bos. Shame on Management for allowing issues like this to persist and shame on Upper management for not questioning the office DOO and BOM as to why these issues have not been corrected.

    Show More
    Amedisys2013-07-02
Found 10 reviews