Amedisys Licensed Practical Nurse Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

Amedisys Licensed Practical Nurse Reviews

Updated Jul 16, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
72%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
Amedisys CEO Paul B. Kusserow (no image)
Paul B. Kusserow
8 Ratings
  1. "Love my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Gloucester, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Staff support. No day is ever the same. Great pay and benefits.

    Cons

    Mileage, wear and tear on your vehicle.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the great work!

    Amedisys2018-09-07
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Home health job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Memphis, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great company, good benifits, UNDERSTANDING, provides car

    Cons

    Pay is on the low end per hour

    Amedisys2019-07-17
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Good job but heavy workload"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Florence, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexibility and independent job for most part

    Cons

    Heavy expectations to do 10 hrs if an in 8

    Advice to Management

    Make workload and minimal productivity obtainable so nurses dont burn out

    Amedisys2019-06-15
  4. "Home care"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Tucker, GA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Monday through Friday 8-5 no weekend

    Cons

    Trafficking in surrounding areas hectic

    Amedisys2019-03-28
  5. Helpful (2)

    "lpn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Columbus, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    limted contact with office staff

    Cons

    office staff does not care of conditions of homes nurses have to perform their duties ie bedbugs fleas roaches rats

    Advice to Management

    not every pt is homehealth suitable ie dementia alert x 1 medicare fraud ????

    Amedisys2018-12-09
  6. Helpful (9)

    "Continues to get worse as the years go by. After over 8 years, I'm jumping ship!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys part-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Wonderful nurses, therapists, aides and social worker. I love my patients and will miss them. 401K matching contribution. Home Care Home Base makes charting easier (if the admitting RN does not assign irrelevant interventions).

    Cons

    Too much emphasis on numbers. Compensation could be higher to balance out all the work that is required when you get home for the evening (charting, return calls to physicians) Too many required inservices. Inservices and PTO are only paid at "administrative rate", which is an hourly rate and much lower than your base visit rate. Takes too long to replace staff that have left, requiring us to take on double the... patient load than we signed on for. If you decline visits due to overscheduling, you are treated differently. They will add visits on to your schedule after you've already planned out your day and contacted your patients. Their concern is their RN attrition rate, but not so much the LPNs. Constant revamping, renaming and retraining of programs. No more bonus program. Unsanitary and unsafe work environment at times. Mileage rate is not in line with IRS rates. Additional mileage benefits/mileage exceptions are just out of reach based on requirements. Insurance benefits are expensive with high rates and high deductibles (Read the fine print carefully. You cannot afford time off due to illness). On-call pay is ridiculously low for giving up your evening and weekends and you will usually get called out. No raise for 8 years, even with good annual reviews. Even with a raise, they will raise your base rate for regular day visits, but not your rate for evenings, weekends and prn visits. Amedisys seems a little "top heavy" with regard to management.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Your nurses (both LPNs and RNs) and therapists are the backbone of the company. Treat them well, and Amedisys will market itself with satisfied and willing employees. Employee satisfaction has continued to decline. Increase compensation packages. Increase call pay, which is currently only $25 weeknights and $50 Saturday and Sunday. Increase PRN pay to make accepting visits more enticing when you are expected to... cancel personal plans and help out. DO NOT accept referrals when your staff is already spread too thin to manage what they've already got. Stop sending out pointless surveys about employee satisfaction and then not heeding suggestions for improvement. Clinical Managers should be required to have had in-home clinical experience before trying to micromanage the clinical staff.

    Show More
    Amedisys2018-07-18
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Lpn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Philadelphia, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    More time with patients if you have less than 10 a day. Decent pay. Not much else to say under pro

    Cons

    No home life, this company consumes your every waking moment. On call hours are terrible. Can’t trust your management. CMs speak down to you. Demanding attitudes. Rns mean more to mgmt than lpns.

    Advice to Management

    Care more about your field employees and quit catering to office staff.

    Amedisys2018-05-04
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Lpn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Several wonderful co-workers along the way

    Cons

    Would not recommend a job in any capacity with this company. I was employed for 8.5 years with the company. I cannot think of a single positive when reflecting on my years of employment except for a lot of wonderful co-workers along the way.

    Amedisys2017-11-02
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Lpn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Licensed Practical Nurse in Griffin, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at Amedisys for less than a year

    Pros

    Hours, patients, alone time, mileage

    Cons

    Pay, hours, call time, paper work

    Amedisys2017-05-17
  10. "Cares about employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Licensed Practical Nurse in Saint Clairsville, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Amedisys full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great hours. No fussing about being with family on holidays. Family oriented. Competitive pay. Decent benefits.

    Cons

    Training lacks structure. A lot of driving involved in all types of weather.

    Advice to Management

    Training needs more structure. There is a lot to learn. Watching videos is not sufficient training for most employees.

    Amedisys2017-01-15
Found 27 reviews