KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

Ameren

Engaged Employer

Ameren

Add a Review

Ameren Reviews

Updated Oct 27, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 335 of over 453 reviews

4.1
87%
Recommend to a Friend
97%
Approve of CEO
Ameren Chairman, President and CEO Warner L. Baxter
Warner L. Baxter
158 Ratings
Pros
  • "flexible work hours, great benefits(in 32 reviews)

  • "Relaxed work environment and friendly coworkers, good benefits(in 25 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "The level of micromanagement from my manager is stifling(in 5 reviews)

  • "Utilities are highly regulated, this often impacts employees at every level(in 5 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of Ameren and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee
      Featured Review

      Excellent company to work for!

      Nov 30, 2020 - Operational Technology Leader in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great Culture Great People Great Benefits Continuous Improvement both internally and externally

      Cons

      Communication between business lines could be stronger or clearer sometimes, but that's not any different from anywhere else I've worked. Ameren has challenges like any company, but Ameren cares about it's employees, and doing the right thing, which make it a great place to work regardless.

      2 people found this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Ameren

      Oct 26, 2021 - Intern in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It was good experience overall

      Cons

      You'll be assigned that is not related to your field of study

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Good company

      Oct 19, 2021 - Programmer in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Has Good pay and benefits

      Cons

      No cons that are company specific.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      CO-OP

      Oct 18, 2021 - Digital Co-Op in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The people are really great

      Cons

      Getting onboarded and permissions can take awhile

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      An Honest Review

      Oct 27, 2021 - Supervisor 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My review will strive to be truly honest, both positives and negatives. I am impressed with Ameren on many counts, some of which I'll list here: -Very Livable wages, benefits, and work-life policies -Commitment to union labor, which, in turn, supports rights and higher standards for management coworkers as well -Generous support of communities, non-profits, schools, you name it, within our service territory -Job creation, economic development, workforce development efforts, and STEM educational efforts in this region -Evolving along with the changing needs and desires of our customers -Evolving to be a better corporate citizen (DEI efforts, renewable generation, EV and electrification, avian/bat/wildlife protection, and more)

      Cons

      *Culture* Despite all the positives above, I've never been as unhappy and anxious as during my time at Ameren. It has not escaped my friends', family members', or my own notice that my peace of mind and contentment-level really plummeted when I came here. I have thought a lot about this, and I believe it comes down to the competitiveness and high degree of internal politics at Ameren: It is truly wonderful Ameren promotes from within and offers motivating financial rewards, professional esteem, and other intangible perks the higher one rises up in the hierarchy, but it seems this has the unintended consequence of making day-to-day work-life quite cut-throat and back-stabbing. Also, the political focus and favor-currying directed towards top leadership can feel a bit cult-ish at times. It would be nice to work somewhere where collaboration happened (not competition), work friendships were real (not stepping stones), and I could sleep easy at night knowing my work itself really mattered (not just the optics surrounding it).

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Connections Engineer

      Oct 11, 2021 - Career Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible work schedules, competitive pay, great benefits

      Cons

      Promotions can take awhile, some salaried employees not eligible for paid overtime.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great company

      Oct 11, 2021 - Associate Engineer in Decatur, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great environment with great pay

      Cons

      There is no one centralized program for the project. It is necessary to use multiple programs to complete project.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Current Employee

      Great place to work

      Oct 11, 2021 - Communications Specialist in Peoria, IL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Benefits, Flexible working arrangement, Salary, Nice people

      Cons

      Working odd hours can be required

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Former Employee

      Great Place

      Oct 8, 2021 - Electrical Engineer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Everything is great there now

      Cons

      None that I can think of

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Positive Environment

      Oct 2, 2021 - Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I'm given the freedom to provide my deliverables and find new ways of improving how I do my job. The demands of the job and regulated utility industry allow the individual to work at a comfortable pace or be a total work horse. There is a bottomless amount one can learn about the grid and Ameren can be a great place to learn from many different people and skill sets.

      Cons

      It can take a long time to retrieve information to complete routine tasks. The start and stop nature makes it difficult to get into a groove and be as productive as I would like.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 335 Reviews

    Popular Careers with Ameren Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at Ameren? Share Your Experiences

    or