Ameren Reviews | Glassdoor

Ameren Reviews

Updated December 6, 2017
100 reviews

Filter

Filter

Current Employees

4.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
Recommend to a friend
Approve of CEO
Ameren Chairman, President and CEO Warner L. Baxter
Warner L. Baxter
50 Ratings

100 Employee Reviews

Sort: PopularRatingDate

Pros
  • Work hours are flexible and the company promotes a work life balance (in 19 reviews)

  • Benefits are good and so is pay (in 15 reviews)

Cons
  • Many layers to go through to get something accomplished and approved (in 3 reviews)

  • Very few cons associated with the work environment (in 3 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

  1. Featured Review

    Helpful (6)

    "Great energy company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren full-time (Less than a year)

    Pros

    Very stable company with great benefits. Company cares very well about employee safety. Salary is very good and is usually above average for entry levels. Very close community, senior employees always ready to help newer ones who may not be up to speed.

    Cons

    For certain engineering disciplines, it might be a little restricted.

    Advice to Management

    Keep up the good work, especially your concern about employee safety.

    Ameren Response

    Feb 6, 2017 – Social Community Manager

    Welcome to our team, and thank you for taking the time to let us know how it’s going. As you mentioned, we’re a pretty close-knit community and co-workers throughout the company are invested in your... More


  2. "Transmission"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren full-time

    Pros

    Thought diversity culture
    Strong management
    Positive morale

    Cons

    Workload spikes at end of year

    Advice to Management

    Need to spread workload throughout the calendar year

  3. "IT. Application Development Specialist."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Applications Development Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - IT Applications Development Specialist in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren full-time (More than 5 years)

    Pros

    Ameren is a very stable, rock solid, company to work for. The pay is very competitive. The benefits (insurance, 401k matching, pension, vacation, flex schedule, ...) are the best I've ever found. Fellow employees are very friendly. The typical skill level of fellow IT coworkers is above average.

    Cons

    Layers of bureaucracy must be satisfied in order to get anything meaningful accomplished in IT. This has a negative impact on the ability to innovate. Cyber security policies are stringent and stifling at times.

    Advice to Management

    Ameren is doing a great job fostering employee loyalty and encouraging ideas and innovation. However, the bureaucracy and locked down software development environment has quite the opposite effect.


  4. Helpful (1)

    "IT Programmer Analyst II"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - IT Applications Programmer in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - IT Applications Programmer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren full-time

    Pros

    Pay. Experience. Great work environment. Benefits. Independence in work hours

    Cons

    None really. They have been super flexible with my needs as an application developer.

    Ameren Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Social Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We're happy to have you as part of the Ameren team.


  5. "Ameren is a great place for anyone to start a career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Care Advisor in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Customer Care Advisor in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren part-time (More than a year)

    Pros

    So many different departments & job titles, pay, supervisor is great, friendly co workers. Amazing food on random days & always during an outage

    Cons

    You may get called in during a large outage any time of the day but you get paid & they will have plenty of food waiting on you

    Advice to Management

    A refresher on training once the initial training is finished.

    Ameren Response

    Nov 9, 2017 – Social Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to share your thoughts. The customer experience is so important to us and in your position, you're oftentimes the first contact a customer has with us. I encourage you... More


  6. "Executive"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren full-time (More than 8 years)

    Pros

    Work life balance, challenging job tasks if you choose to participate outside normal job duties.. ERG groups.

    Cons

    No company is perfect, everyone has their own cons.

    Advice to Management

    Over the last 5 years senior leaders have listened and made advances towards improvement.

    Ameren Response

    Oct 17, 2017 – Social Community Manager

    Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We're glad to have you as part of the Ameren family.


  7. "Underground system journeyman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren full-time

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits

    Cons

    Lots of overtime work on nights and weekends

    Ameren Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – Social Community Manager

    Our journeymen are critical to the work we do each day. Thank you for your service and your review.

  8. "Lineman"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Current Contractor - Anonymous Contractor
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren as a contractor

    Pros

    Good benefits and job security

    Cons

    Not many, but excellent performance doesn't always pay off


  9. "Great Company with Great Potential"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Current Employee - Engineer in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren full-time (More than 3 years)

    Pros

    Benefits are good and management seems interested in peoples future at Ameren.

    Cons

    Would like them to update some of their fringe benefits like adding maternity/parental leave or adding family sick time.

    Advice to Management

    None

    Ameren Response

    Aug 31, 2017 – Social Community Manager

    We're happy to have you as part of the Ameren family. Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Please speak with your supervisor regarding sick leave for qualifying member care, depending on... More


  10. "Meter Reader. Soon this title will be automated. I plan to retire."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Comp & Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at Ameren (More than 10 years)

    Pros

    Great company to work for, Peoria,Bloomington, Lincoln,Springfield, Decatur, St Louis.
    The company offers great benefits.
    Great co-workers. They offer labor jobs as well as office work, or management .

    Cons

    My job deal's with daily routes that need to be done daily.
    You will work in all weather conditions ,rain,snow,heat, storms. Only wait out lightening.
    You also have to be aware of your surroundings, a home could have Bad Dogs.
    Soon as I said this job will be automated.

    Ameren Response

    Jul 7, 2017 – Social Community Manager

    Thank you for your review. We agree, our co-workers are wonderful! The people and culture at Ameren are a large part of what makes this company a great place to work.


Showing 100 of 170 reviews
Reset Filters