AmeriCorps Reviews

Updated May 17, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.5
68%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
AmeriCorps Director Rosie K. Mauk
Rosie K. Mauk
231 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great way to earn non-profit experience(in 86 reviews)

  • "great experience, teamwork as well as leadership roles(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "Living stipend is nowhere near enough to live comfortably(in 65 reviews)

  • "Difficult to make ends meet with below minimum wage monthly stipend(in 49 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great opportunity to attain skills in area of study"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - VISTA Leader in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Education award, opportunity to travel and network

    Cons

    Long hours, stipend not much

    AmeriCorps2020-01-09
  2. "Great way to gain experience / Poor pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps Member in Manchester, NH
    Recommends

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training and meeting amazing people. You gain real world experience VERY quick. You will be thrown into the work and you will learn.

    Cons

    Pay is terrible. It is a service year and you get a living stipend. I could make this work because I lived at home and had money saved up from my last job. I DO NOT RECOMMEND trying to live in an apt. with this income unless you have other funds/support.

    AmeriCorps2020-05-17
  3. "Great work, sometimes poor communication"

    4.0
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps Member in Kent, WA

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time

    Pros

    I worked at a really great non-profit and got to do direct service with refugees and immigrants.

    Cons

    Communication with our regional office was sometimes poor - our supervisor sometimes would not respond to emails, or lose our information

    AmeriCorps2020-05-17
  4. "Great for the experience but low pay"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reading Corps Tutor 

    I worked at AmeriCorps full-time

    Pros

    You will be trained in some excellent reading interventions and it is a great way to get a sense of what it is like working in a school. You also get health insurance.

    Cons

    The pay is hardly livable. They have changed some of their hour requirements recently (I believe) but you will work hard for very little.

    AmeriCorps2020-05-11
  5. "Americorps VISTA Service"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps Member in Harrisburg, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to earn non-profit experience! Easy to work with lots of different departments and gain knowledge

    Cons

    Extremely low pay and very confusing chain of command. If the organization you're placed with is poorly run then that will affect you as well

    Continue reading
    AmeriCorps2020-05-06
  6. "Teaching Fellow after graduation for gap year prior to dental school"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teaching Fellow in Wilmington, DE
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Had the chance to change a lot of lives of kids coming from difficult situations and was very rewarding

    Cons

    I received little training and did not fully understand what the teaching environment would look like in the school I worked at. It was extremely difficult and I spent a lot of time learning on the job.

    Continue reading
    AmeriCorps2020-05-05
  7. "great people, low pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vista in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    great people, great mission statement, meaningful work

    Cons

    low pay, low benefits, people don't take you seriously and don't respect your hours

    AmeriCorps2020-05-18
  8. "Great experience"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Volunteer in Oklahoma City, OK

    I worked at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great resume booster and volunteer experience

    Cons

    A bit unstructured and open-ended

    AmeriCorps2020-04-28
  9. "behavioal interventionist"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCorps full-time

    Pros

    the benefits and loan forgiveness

    Cons

    poor work-life balance for workers

    AmeriCorps2020-05-12
  10. "Great idea, poor execution"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vista 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Job experience, Non-profit experience, entry level, professional development available

    Cons

    Pay, not for those who are on their own/ without financial support, not really possible to have a second job, promise perks to make up for pay but it's really up to you

    Continue reading
    AmeriCorps2020-05-12
    Previous
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
  • Next
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1139 Reviews