KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

AmeriCorps

Is this your company?

AmeriCorps

Add a Review

AmeriCorps Reviews

Updated Jul 6, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 1,876 of over 2,255 reviews

3.6
69%
Recommend to a Friend
29%
Approve of CEO
AmeriCorps CEO Michael D. Smith
Michael D. Smith
26 Ratings

What people are saying about AmeriCorps

Join the conversation on
Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "I was able to get professional experience doing meaningful work with some really great people.(in 86 reviews)
  • "Great opportunity to get out in the community and work directly with individuals living in the neighborhood.(in 42 reviews)
  • "Great training and on the job experience.(in 41 reviews)
  • "You really do grow as a leader and I think I learned a lot about myself as a person.(in 40 reviews)
  • "Great staff and a foot in the door(in 24 reviews)
Cons
  • "Obviously pay is low but necessary to experience and empathize with those you wish to help(in 381 reviews)
  • "Long hours and lots of work.(in 60 reviews)
  • "You are paid less than minimum wage and there is no help with food or housing by the organization.(in 39 reviews)
  • "No benefits because it's pretty much volunteer.(in 39 reviews)
  • "Management poor and not supportive of existing staff.(in 30 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of AmeriCorps and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee

    Great

    Jun 3, 2022 - Anonymous Employee in Bridgeport, CT
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Opens doors for great people with a past

    Cons

    A little bit disorganized in communication methods

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    A look into the world of Non-Profits

    Jul 4, 2022 - AmeriCorps VISTA in San Francisco, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    If you want to get involved with your local non profit, check and see if they have an Americorps VISTA position available. It is a good way to dip your feet in, or jump in over your head! it is a year of service, and I learned so much. I picked up new hard skills, and AmeriCorps helped me re-locate.

    Cons

    I had a very hard time accessing their health benefits. This was due to me having a name change, but still-the beaurocrocy made it so difficult that I gave up and was thankfully able to rely on Medi-Cal. Also, I was told that I would still qualify for foodstamps. I moved my family from Ohio to California for this position for very low pay. How ever, When I got here I was told there had been a recent change, and the rule for food stamps and AmeriCorps would no longer apply.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Love working here

    Jul 5, 2022 - HRN in Ramsey, MN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Bosses, experience, leadership, people management and internal growth

    Cons

    Pay and training that is all

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Okay Job

    Jul 2, 2022 - Administrative Assistant in Miami, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Resource -food stamps -aid the community -scholarship for school

    Cons

    -Doesn’t pay a lot -heavy workload

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    A review from someone finishing their second year

    Jul 1, 2022 - Americorps VISTA Member in Whitesburg, KY
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Overall it's a good experience. An opportunity to give back to a community, even one that is where you didn't grow up. They have assistance with relocation, and an end of service bonus if you complete your service. If you are trying to get to work for the federal government, this will help you get in a bit easier.

    Cons

    Living stipend, which is possible to live off, just be ready and smart with your money.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 5.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Serving at it's best

    Jun 22, 2022 - Service Member in South Bend, IN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I was able to show up in a community organization and utilize my skills to help create change.

    Cons

    The pay is set depite the hours you put in.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Low pay

    Jul 6, 2022 - Park Interpreter 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Easy job- few tasks at the park

    Cons

    Low pay, long commute to work

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Former Employee

    what you make of it

    Jun 21, 2022 - ESL Instructor in Cincinnati, OH
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome support from the coordinator and a great team of motivated individuals who believe in service

    Cons

    Not paid enough Benefits are limited

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Former Employee, less than 1 year

    Good

    Jun 20, 2022 - City Year Corps Member 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    It was good experience to have

    Cons

    The hours and wage are not great

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 8 years

    Internal leadership challenges

    Jul 2, 2022 - State Director 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission, and volunteers/members are amazing.

    Cons

    Processes are nonlinear. Agency makes processes far too complex (CHC, etc.) and well-meaning human service agencies don't have time to focus on the important community service elements due to heavy-handed requirements from CNCS.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,876 Reviews

AmeriCorps Reviews FAQs

AmeriCorps has an overall rating of 3.6 out of 5, based on over 2,255 reviews left anonymously by employees. 69% of employees would recommend working at AmeriCorps to a friend and 44% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, AmeriCorps employees rate their compensation and benefits as 2.2 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at AmeriCorps. This rating has decreased by -2% over the last 12 months.

69% of AmeriCorps employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated AmeriCorps 3.3 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.9 for culture and values and 3.8 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at AmeriCorps to be culture, benefits, career development and the cons to be work life balance, management, compensation.

Popular Careers with AmeriCorps Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at AmeriCorps? Share Your Experiences

or

AmeriCorps Photos

+ Add Photo
AmeriCorps photo of: Fire Team 10 Mural The Funky Bunch Commandos  (Photo thanks to Flickr user sundaykofax, available under by v2.0)
AmeriCorps photo of: service site
AmeriCorps photo of: We lived here for 3 months.
AmeriCorps photo of: Hope for the Homeless program
AmeriCorps photo of: Telling people how they can help prevent water pollution and improve water quality by making small changes in their yards.
AmeriCorps photo of: Participating in the ActuallySheCan #LessThan campaign via AmeriCorps
AmeriCorps photo of: AmeriCorps Banquet
See All Photos