AmeriCorps "great experience" Reviews | Glassdoor

AmeriCorps Employee Reviews about "great experience"

Updated 24 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
74%
Recommend to a Friend
86%
Approve of CEO
AmeriCorps CEO Rosie K. Mauk
Rosie K. Mauk
255 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible, hands-on experience doing program development, great experience getting to know how non-profit organizations work(in 78 reviews)

  • "great experience, teamwork as well as leadership roles(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "The compensation (living stipend) is far too low(in 62 reviews)

  • "Long hours, low pay, diverse group could be challenging to get along with 100 % of the time(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "great experience"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "An amazing experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Corps Member 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCorps for less than a year

    Pros

    great experience, teamwork as well as leadership roles

    Cons

    I don't have any con

    AmeriCorps2019-10-10
  2. "Quick and dirty way to get a lot of experience!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Vista 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps

    Pros

    Flexible, hands-on experience doing program development, great experience getting to know how non-profit organizations work

    Cons

    I wish we had more support,

    AmeriCorps2019-10-24
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Work Culture, Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Success Coach in Seattle, WA
    Recommends

    I worked at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    It's a great experience to have on your resume, employers love seeing a year of service. It is very rewarding and there are plenty of opportunities for training and professional development.

    Cons

    It's an exhausting full time job that pays less than minimum wage.

    AmeriCorps2019-07-25
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Great Experience, Albeit a Gamble with Low Pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Volunteer Coordinator in Santa Cruz, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Did work I'm most proud of in my career Great experience Great connections Opened a lot of doors

    Cons

    Stupidly low wages. Basically impossible if you don't have family to support you. A serious gamble on placement. My posting was incredible, others were terrible.

    Advice to Management

    Get higher stipends. Currently it limits access, perhaps ironically, to the privileged.

    AmeriCorps2019-06-11
  6. "Interview Questions"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps Member 
    Recommends

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great experience and an amazing group of people to work with

    Cons

    The stipend is hard to live on

    AmeriCorps2019-06-17
  7. "VISTA program"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Americorps VISTA Member in Newport, RI

    I worked at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Year of service, great experience

    Cons

    Pay is a living allowance

    AmeriCorps2019-06-12
  8. "It really depends where you are"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Vista 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps for more than a year

    Pros

    My first year I worked in New Hampshire with an organization that really wanted to follow the guidelines and do everything right. They made for a great experience and made me excited to stay in the program. We had a great team and they were supportive of me everyday.

    Cons

    My second year I moved to Massachusetts where I had a less than ideal experience. The organization I was with this year was very focused on politics of giving--saying the right words to the right people and manipulating their way into donors pockets. It just didn't feel right.

    Advice to Management

    Please have a system to actually check in with your AmeriCorps members, at least quarterly. I had no one this past year who could check in with me outside of my direct supervisor to check and balance what was going on and how I was being mistreated and the misuse of my contract.

    AmeriCorps2019-05-25
  9. "VISTA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Anonymous Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at AmeriCorps

    Pros

    Great experience, people appreciate the year-of-service in poverty.

    Cons

    The wage is very low as to help volunteers defeat poverty by living with that wage level to increase understanding.

    Advice to Management

    Encourage and help volunteers transition after year of service.

    AmeriCorps2018-05-29
  10. "Americorps Member at North Carolina Literacy Corps"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AmeriCorps part-time

    Pros

    Great experience working with a variety of populations.

    Cons

    Not enough training and communication among managers.

    AmeriCorps2018-05-02
  11. "good experience, extremely difficult"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at AmeriCorps full-time

    Pros

    - great experience for someone who wants to get hands-on non profit experience. I met some of the most dedicated and kind hearted people who will change the world through this program and administration is wonderful.

    Cons

    you are with the 10 people on your team 24/7 if you do the NCCC program. There is no personal space, which can very challenging to your mental well being. The work you do is up to the project sponsor, so you can either be doing very fulfilling work or painting white walls white, depending on your project.

    AmeriCorps2018-04-04
Found 63 reviews