AmeriCorps "living stipend" Reviews | Glassdoor

AmeriCorps Employee Reviews about "living stipend"

Updated Nov 2, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
73%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
AmeriCorps Director Rosie K. Mauk
Rosie K. Mauk
256 Ratings
Pros
  • "Flexible, hands-on experience doing program development, great experience getting to know how non-profit organizations work(in 79 reviews)

  • "great experience, teamwork as well as leadership roles(in 63 reviews)

Cons
  • "The compensation (living stipend) is far too low(in 62 reviews)

  • "Long hours, low pay, diverse group could be challenging to get along with 100 % of the time(in 46 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "living stipend"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    NCCC & Vista in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps for more than a year

    Pros

    -Get good work experience with real responsibilities -Helping out your community -Loan forebearance

    Cons

    -Living stipend wages -Work may slow down for different projects/assignments

    Advice to Management

    N/A

    AmeriCorps2018-12-10
  2. "Challenging but good training for real future leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mental Health Organizer in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at AmeriCorps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    very diverse setting : good exposure to different cultures & sexual backgrounds very educational self-growth experience very empowering work pick your passion wisely great leadership opportunity develop communication and presentational skills interesting oppertunities to do business camping trips

    Cons

    interview process challenging 3 rounds very low-pay must be ok with living stipend a lot of hard work must be extremely flexible to any subtle changes must be unrealistically timely meeting at a new location every day for the first 2 weeks seeing other Allies quit throughout the program

    Advice to Management

    don't make people do a TSP project and work full-time at their sites

    AmeriCorps2019-11-03
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great place to work as a volunteer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps Member 
    Recommends

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Meaningful work Good support system

    Cons

    Long hours Not much pay (living stipend)

    AmeriCorps2019-07-30
  5. "Good Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps VISTA 

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good experience for the resume, network with other AmeriCorps members, and flexible locations so you can go wherever. Also, strict working hours, so no more than 40 a week!

    Cons

    The compensation (living stipend) is far too low.

    AmeriCorps2019-07-18
  6. "Americorps vista is great entry level experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - AmeriCorps Member 

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time

    Pros

    Education award, experience in competitive positions

    Cons

    Living stipend, lack of infrastructure

    AmeriCorps2019-06-03
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Helping My Community"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at AmeriCorps full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great people. I love my service site.

    Cons

    Living stipend is taxed. As well as the education award.

    AmeriCorps2018-12-03
  8. "VISTA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    AmeriCorps VISTA in Coon Rapids, MN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps for more than a year

    Pros

    Great way to build experience and professional development, Education Award at end of service.

    Cons

    Living on a low living stipend while working full time.

    AmeriCorps2018-10-01
  9. "Americorps State & National"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Louis, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    - it's a way to give back to the community - personally, i had a supportive environment - receive a living stipend and education award - eligible for loan deferment and food stamps - if you're interested in nonprofit work, it's a way to get your foot in the door - most likely you'll be working with wonderful people

    Cons

    - even with the living stipend, deferred loans, and food stamps, it's hard to live off of the income without financial support of some kind. - definitely need to start early in order to meet the required hours (900 per year for part-time) - depending on the work you're doing and how organized the higher-ups are, it can be very overwhelming

    Advice to Management

    AmeriCorps is okay for those with the financial support to do it, but unfortunately that can only last for a year, two years max. The organizations using AmeriCorps are perpetuating a "hire & fire" business model which doesn't create the best kind of work culture. I loved what I did but really struggled to live off of the stipend. If you're gonna do it, better to do full-time because most likely you'll be... asked to come in more than you should and you'll have health insurance.

    Show More
    AmeriCorps2018-07-26
  10. Helpful (2)

    "No pay, hard work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    AmeriCorps Member in Lewisville, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps for more than a year

    Pros

    You can really give back to your community and learn new skills along the way. You get a $5000 education award though which is pretty cool. You also allegedly get health insurance but

    Cons

    It is a below poverty "living stipend" so we get a taste of what living in poverty feels like. It sucks.

    Advice to Management

    The living stipend is a joke. Pay your workers.

    AmeriCorps2018-05-01
  11. "VISTA Service: Rewarding "behind the scenes" work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Contractor - Communications Specialist in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at AmeriCorps for more than a year

    Pros

    Great online resources for professional development. In-person orientation is really useful and helps you meet fellow AmeriCorps members from your industry and from your city. 10 sick days and 10 vacation days, all paid, which is fantastic! The work can be very rewarding if you're a "behind-the-scenes" person.

    Cons

    Small living stipend, not very good resources for meeting other AmeriCorps members after orientation, training for AmeriCorps supervisors is limited. No healthcare and no resources for how-to-enroll if, like me, it was your first time getting healthcare. "Intern"/;administrative work can tend to fall to VISTAs if there's not a clear understanding of their service goals.

    Advice to Management

    Lack of communication between the sites, the state office, and the national branch. Would love to see clearer policies and a more detailed training for AmeriCorps site leaders.

    AmeriCorps2018-04-16
Found 62 reviews