KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo
See All Photos

America First Credit Union

Engaged Employer

America First Credit Union

Add a Review

America First Credit Union Reviews

Updated Sep 19, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 331 of over 331 reviews

3.8
75%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
America First Credit Union President & CEO John Lund (no image)
John Lund
188 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great work environment, really cares for their employees(in 23 reviews)

  • "Great people and great benefits(in 19 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Low pay, not always room for growth(in 33 reviews)

  • "No clear career path for all employees(in 11 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of America First Credit Union and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Great company to work for

      Sep 15, 2021 - Senior Loan Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great benefits Promoting from within Diverse job opportunities

      Cons

      It’s not the best pay

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Good job! Terrible schedule

      Sep 15, 2021 - Computer Operator in Riverdale, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Consistent low pressure job. Don’t have to talk to members.

      Cons

      Rotating schedule of morning shifts, swings and graveyard

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. The latest conversations about Finance

      Join the conversation on

      Finance

      3y

      works at 

      JPMorgan Chase

      Anyone else hate banking lingo and make fun of it, but as soon as a discussion starts you say "we dont want to boil the ocean here". Fml. Whats your most despised finance phrase?

      793

      83 Comments

      Join the conversation on
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good Company, Terrible Pay

      Sep 15, 2021 - Teller in Salt Lake City, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      -America First treats their employees well and they have good benefits, the work culture is amazing, and the management is among the best i've ever worked for -Lots of fun rewards/incentives to work towards, and decent pay raises, but you have to work a long time to move up the ladder

      Cons

      -Pay is low compared to other competitive financial institutions -Long hours (depending what location you work at)

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 5 years

      Great company

      Sep 13, 2021 - Loan Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Supportive managers. Work life balance is good. Good benefits

      Cons

      Pay scale is outdated. Hasn't kept up with inflation very well.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great

      Sep 12, 2021 - Teller 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They were very good to treat me correctly.

      Cons

      They're weren't really any unless your not a sales person than It might not be your cup of tea.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Great company poor pay

      Sep 8, 2021 - Underwriter 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Job stability, defined job description and career path

      Cons

      Pay is low. Upper management isn’t as involved as I would prefer

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 3.0
      Current Employee

      Low pay

      Sep 19, 2021 - Loan Officer 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Not very well paid for expectations.

      Cons

      Not very well paid and too much pressure.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 4.0
      Current Employee

      Great

      Aug 19, 2021 - Assistant Manager in Riverdale, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great job for past 6 years

      Cons

      Limited work at home options

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 4.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Great Company

      Aug 17, 2021 - Escalation Specialist 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They still provide a pension. They have 401K matching. And they have some of the best benefits I have had at a company!

      Cons

      They try to work with your schedule as best as they can but there are still some instances where they can't work with you. You will have a lot of holidays off.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    11. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Fantastic Student Job!

      Jul 31, 2021 - Part Time Teller in South Jordan, UT
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I stayed with AFCU for 3 years after a mental breakdown as a place to recover, improve, and get myself centered before heading off on my career. ~Full time benefits at 30 hours ~Great Insurance ~EAP Services (free counseling) ~Company that genuinely cares about it's employees and it's members. I still bank there and chat with friends I made there. ~I could do homework in the downtime (Some managers are ok with this, some I was too sneaky for them to call me out on)

      Cons

      ~I worked at 4 different branches. The first one I worked at I still refer to as the 'dumpster fire' branch. Upper management gives managers enough freedom to run their branches amazingly, and some don't use that very well. So it can be hit and miss. If you find yourself as a teller working at a bad branch, level up to 5, get good stats, and then a transfer will be easy. 3/4 locations I worked at were amazing! ~Not long-term pay. My starting wage was $10.50. You can max out as a teller at about $13.50 unless you transfer to a loan officer.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 331 Reviews

    Popular Careers with America First Credit Union Job Seekers

    JobsSalariesInterviews

    Work at America First Credit Union? Share Your Experiences

    or