American Academy of Dermatology Reviews | Glassdoor

American Academy of Dermatology Reviews

Updated Oct 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
79%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. "Genuinely nice people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Academy of Dermatology full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Genuinely nice people to work with. Fun atmosphere for the most part. ...when we need to get down to business we do. We are allowed to be ourselves and not speak our minds in a professional and appropriate manner.

    Cons

    Not necessarily a con, there is something to be said for if its not broken don't fix it, but it would be exciting to shift the culture /organization into a more innovative way of doing things. .....tooooo much food. all the time! lol

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Dermatology2019-10-04
  2. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Academy of Dermatology full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The people here are great! The benefits are awesome!

    Cons

    Location. Big work loads. Lots of travel.

    American Academy of Dermatology2019-06-28
  3. "Good organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Research Associate in Schaumburg, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at American Academy of Dermatology for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great organization; HR is well run

    Cons

    None - there was one person who was negative but they left the organization.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Dermatology2018-09-18
  4. "Specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at American Academy of Dermatology full-time

    Pros

    Good benefits and casual work attire

    Cons

    Open office space is loud

    American Academy of Dermatology2018-09-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Academy of Dermatology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been working for the Academy for a number of years and this is a wonderful place to work. My professional career has flourished and I have been recognized a number of times for a job well done. The Academy offers great benefits! The work-life balance programs are outstanding (compressed workweeks, telecommuting, excellent paid time off and the week off from Christmas to New Years!). My co-workers at the Academy are top-notch; high performing employees that are very passionate at helping to accomplish the Academy's mission and initiatives. We moved to Rosemont in March of 2018 and I love the new location and work environment!

    Cons

    Like any associations we have some red-tape and it takes us longer to implement new ideas. We need senior management approval as well as member committee and member leadership approval before we can move forward on changes. However once approval is finalized, we are full steam ahead. We are a member driven organization so at times we have multiple priorities that need to be accomplished at the same time.

    American Academy of Dermatology2018-07-02
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Great Place to Work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Rosemont, IL
    Recommends

    I have been working at American Academy of Dermatology full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I have been with the organization for a long time and love what I do! I have gotten to work on many projects and programs that I would not have had the opportunity to if in a larger organization. The people I work with are wonderful to collaborate with, very knowledgeable and professional. The organizations benefits and flexibility are great! I have been able to be productive and contribute at work while still being able to the do the things I love outside of work through flexible work arrangements.

    Cons

    The Academy is not the fastest moving organization so you do need to have patience and flexibility to be successful here. We are a member driven organization so at times there are a lot of priorities members want us to work on, hard to get it all done.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Dermatology2018-04-30
  7. Helpful (3)

    "Be careful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Academy of Dermatology full-time

    Pros

    For the most.part the wax is a vood.place to work. Some terrific people.

    Cons

    There are snakes in the grass. Some sms groups can be very disruptive and detrimental to creating a positive culture. Some of the department managers are pretty weak and sway to the most vocal employees.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Dermatology2017-12-23
  8. Helpful (4)

    "WORST JOB EVER!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at American Academy of Dermatology full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    No pros that I can think of

    Cons

    Literally worse job I have ever worked at. Treat their employees like dirt. Only care about how much many they can make off of their members. Mangement doesn't know what they're doing. They also hire temps with the promise of full-time employment as a lie to only fire them when they don't need them anymore. Also work week is 37.4 hours not 40 which affects your paycheck.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Dermatology2017-11-23
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Academy of Dermatology full-time

    Pros

    Provide continuous professional development and challenging assignments.

    Cons

    At times there are night time conference calls

    American Academy of Dermatology2017-09-07
  10. Helpful (5)

    "Management By Fear"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Academy of Dermatology

    Pros

    Yes, there are some great benefits but they were put in place to try to retain employees rather than actually solving the root cause.

    Cons

    Micromanagement by senior staff and managers. No leadership or vision. Members have highjacked the place and they need to have someone actually take the helm and lead the organization.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Dermatology2017-09-01
Found 22 reviews