American Academy of Sleep Medicine Reviews | Glassdoor

American Academy of Sleep Medicine Reviews

Updated Feb 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
2.7
36%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
American Academy of Sleep Medicine Executive Director  Steve Van Hout (no image)
Steve Van Hout
2 Ratings
  1. "A Great Work Environment That Promotes Family First"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Computer Programmer in Darien, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Fantastic benefits, and a great work environment. The office promotes a family first culture, and puts great emphasis in developing camaraderie among the employees. Programmers are given the opportunity to develop within a wide range of technologies.

    Cons

    The IT group is responsible for developing and maintaining several projects across many different technologies (Salesforce, .NET web forms, .NET MVC, native iOS, native Android, Xamarin, etc. ). The amount of multi-tasking required to handle the resulting workload can be overwhelming at times, but management is actively working to alleviate this issue (and has made great strides in doing so).

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2020-02-21
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Organization in Transition That's Headed In the Right Direction"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time

    Pros

    The new executive team has shown that they're willing to make changes to modernize the office and create a healthy workplace environment. Health care and retirement benefits are very top-notch. Easy to maintain a healthy work/life balance. New focus on employee wellness.

    Cons

    Could do a better job of financially rewarding employees who grow with the organization. Historically, annual raises did not always rise to match inflation.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2018-10-25

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine Response

    November 6, 2018Director of Human Resources

    Thanks for your feedback. We’re pleased that you recognize the value in the positive changes introduced by the executive director and the management team. Healthy employees AND organizational culture are important to us. We’ll continue to make strides to improve our workplace by soliciting feedback through our monthly staff meetings, quarterly performance check-ins and new suggestion box. In the past, our compensation processes admittedly lacked structure. However, after completing a comprehensive compensation and benefits analysis through a reputable consulting company, we have made significant adjustments to ensure our staff receive competitive pay and perks. We are also developing formal bonus and performance management programs which are clearly linked to organizational goals and individual performance.

    Continue reading
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (3)

    "Marketing Coordinator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time

    Pros

    If you want to do subpar work and just skate by in life, this is the place for you. They had good benefits.

    Cons

    They are heavy in managers that seem to get promoted the longer you stay. Turn over at this place is high, a person left once a week during my 6 months of employment here. It is a cubicle life and you are expected to stay at your desk most of the time.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2018-05-31

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine Response

    July 11, 2018Director of Human Resources

    We appreciate your feedback. It sounds like your experience may have occurred before several changes that we’ve incorporated in the last year. While promoting those with management potential remains important to us, we have also enriched our management team with professionals who possess industry experience. And those new to the management role receive training and regular coaching conversations with upper management. We’ve introduced more opportunities to promote collaboration and teamwork at all levels: a committee focused on improving the onboarding experience and an event committee charged with creating year-round activities to take time out for staff appreciation and fun. Our “all staff” meetings have been redesigned to improve the lines of communication and connect deeper to our mission. Lastly, we encourage movement throughout the day and model that behavior through what has become a highly anticipated weekly event, Wellness Wednesday, where we lead walk, stretch & healthy snack breaks to not only promote wellness, but build camaraderie. We even introduced standing workstations to balance the counter effects of sedentary office life. Our culture has evolved because of these positive changes and new leadership, which has resulted in increased employee satisfaction and lower turnover. We’re proud of this evolution so far and are always looking for ways to improve the employee experience.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Great For Work-Life Balance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymou in Darien, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I see a lot of complaints about the ED in here. I believe you can work here if you are thick skinned. If anything, it is kind of humorous. Never take anything that happens at work to heart. That's what I learned from working here. It seems as if everyone does come here for only a paycheck, but isn't that what most people do anyway? On your death bed, are your achievements at work truly going to define you? No. Overall, this is a great place to work for. Everyone keeps to themselves and helps each other out when needed. It is the perfect place for someone who is very mellow, looking for good experience and just starting out in the career world.

    Cons

    Not much room for growth. Only come here for experience and skill building. Benefits aren't fantastic, either.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2017-05-26

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine Response

    May 31, 2017Human Resources Manager

    Thanks for your feedback and your review. We’re happy that you felt that you had a positive experience with the AASM and that it is a great place to work. We’ve been working hard to create a better balance between work and life. It’s refreshing to read your thoughts on that. We strive to provide challenging opportunities for everyone at all levels. We’re sorry that we weren’t able to provide you with the growth potential that you seek. Learning and job satisfaction is important to us. We are working to improve in this area. We value your insight about our benefits and recognize that there is always room for improvement. While you had some concerns about our benefits, we’d like to share some new changes that have been recently added in response to the needs of our staff. We drastically increased employer contributions for health benefits with savings as much as $120 per paycheck. Our enhanced PTO plan gives employees PTO at an accelerated rate. We’ve added new perks to promote health & wellness, like weekly stretch breaks and yoga classes. We’ve added more impromptu staff events like food cook-offs and potlucks to promote fun and camaraderie. And we’re open to more ideas. Thank you again for your feedback. It will help us make the AASM a better place to work. We wish you the best with your future endeavors.

    Continue reading
  6. Helpful (3)

    "Senior Communications"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Darien, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time

    Pros

    Great benefits and working environment. Very friendly and easy to get along with staff. Competitive salary.

    Cons

    Not a lot of flexibility in terms of work hours.

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2017-02-09
  7. Helpful (8)

    "Horrible Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    New building, great parking and easy to move up do to high turnover.

    Cons

    Stressful work environment created by inexperienced management. The company is behind in many areas because management is not open to new or innovative ideas. Company believes they are tech savvy but still playing catch up. Employees with any skill or experience leave within a year. If you are standing next to the person who just quit, the promotion is yours. Employees are watched at all times and treated like children. Lack of trust causes most employees to be very negative and cliquey. Horrible communication between department. No need to be responsible or talented. Just be there on time and where you're suppose to be.

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2017-02-21
  8. Helpful (12)

    "If only the Board really knew..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The members are very nice to work with. The organization does have decent benefits, easy parking, a newer building, and relatively decent opportunity for growth if you are in the 'in crowd'.

    Cons

    The pay is not within industry standards for a number of positions. However, there is not a specific pay scale so managers could easily make less than some of their employees. Even human resources is not allowed to know what employees of the organization make. In most cases, the strategy is to pay as little as someone will accept. It is not uncommon to hear leaders make inappropriate comments about a number of protected classes openly in the office. There is little to no diversity in the office, and that is not an accident. The executive director promotes gossip and talks about everyone behind their back. Anyone that does not participate is ignored or made fun of. Being uncomfortable with anything is not an option. Promotions have little to do with talent and much more to do with who is 'in' at the moment. The executive director and those that are at the top tend to be secretive and do not take advantage of the ideas and talents of those in middle management. Micromanagement is rampant in the organization and every decision is based upon money, not what is right for the field of Sleep Medicine. Staff turnover is very high because of low pay and the expectation of more than 40 hours per week. Some departments are so overworked they can't keep people more than a year. Overloading those that are good employees is not a winning strategy.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2016-09-02
  9. Helpful (13)

    "Needs a lot of improvement"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time

    Pros

    Consistent work hours, reasonable salary, relaxed office dress code.

    Cons

    The office culture is incredibly toxic. Senior management doesn't make any efforts to make the office collaborative or encouraging — in fact, I would go as far as to say that if you try to collaborate with other departments you will almost certainly be reprimanded for it. The ED manages through intimidation, and most in middle management have been conditioned to treat employees similarly. The ED is an HR nightmare. He will constantly strut through the office shouting slurs about people of color, homosexuals and women. This attitude causes a lot of strain in the overall work environment. Due to the cliques upheld within the organization, reporting inappropriate behavior or mistreatment is at worst, discouraged (with the employee who complained being penalized) and at best, ignored. They nit-pick and attempt to dock your pay with policies that don't exist in the employee handbook. In general, big brother is always going to be watching you, right down to the amount of bathroom breaks you take. This is a nonprofit that doesn't believe in change. Everyone is there to pick up a paycheck and go home. Innovation is strangled by the way workflows are organized (as in they aren't, no one really knows who to go to for assistance because no one attempts to collaborate with one another.) This company is headed in the wrong direction, and without a serious overhaul in how the organization is managed and how the employees are treated, they will continue to have over half their staff leave within a year of being employed there.

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2016-03-04
  10. Helpful (9)

    "Hostile and Dysfunctional, Needs to Grow Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at American Academy of Sleep Medicine full-time

    Pros

    Relaxed dress code Room for growth due to high turnover rate

    Cons

    You are closely monitored upon entering the building by tracking in times down to the second, length of your bathroom breaks, and timed lunches (mandated to a communal area) within a specified time frame, no exceptions. One minute late? Expect to be reprimanded. Senior leadership creates a hostile and cliquey environment and is discouraging of change, yet they continue to blame past leadership for the resulting poor culture and lack of communication between departments and make no concerted effort to fix it. This goes as far as reprimanding individuals for collaborating on projects. ED is more invested in instilling fear, talking about how much money he has, and promoting negativity and discrimination than leading. If you don't drink the kool-aid, they will force you out, as witnessed by the high turnover. On site "holiday" events are more focused on showing off family members than uniting the employees. Systems in place are incredibly behind the times and continues to impede on accomplishing quality work in a reasonable time.

    Continue reading
    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2016-03-04
  11. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Academy of Sleep Medicine

    Pros

    Small office setting, causal office attire, great benefits, 401K and medical.

    Cons

    Salary scale is unbalanced for each coordinator position.

    American Academy of Sleep Medicine2016-01-14
Found 19 reviews