KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

American Addiction Centers

Engaged Employer

American Addiction Centers

Add a Review

American Addiction Centers Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2022

To filter reviews, or .

Found 304 of over 312 reviews

3.5
64%
Recommend to a Friend
62%
Approve of CEO
American Addiction Centers Chairman and CEO Michael Cartwright and Andrew McWilliams (no image)
Michael Cartwright and Andrew McWilliams
194 Ratings

The latest conversations about Healthcare

Join the conversation on

Healthcare

4h

a 

Registered Nurse

I’ve been working as an RN for ~2.5yrs now with experience in AcuteTele & CVICU. I’m doing my MSN Administration right now. Threw my hat in randomly for a nurse manager position and got called in for an interview but now feeling very nervous as I prep for it. I know I don’t have enough experience compared to some of the other applicants but any word of advice from fellow RNs & nurse managers on how to make myself seem like a better candidate? I want to try my hardest!

4

3 Comments

Join the conversation on

Top Review Highlights by Sentiment

Pros
  • "Comp and benefits good.(in 29 reviews)
  • "In my opinion, the pay is good and I feel appreciated at the corporate office.(in 17 reviews)
  • "Generous 401k, great medical benefits, administrative assistants do the detailed work, so there is more time for getting people into treatment, rewarding job being able to help people suffering with addictions and being compensated well for it, high commission structure(in 12 reviews)
  • "Some really great people to work with(in 12 reviews)
  • "My coworkers at AAC are all great people to work with.(in 10 reviews)
Cons
  • "Bully like upper management(in 14 reviews)
  • "The execution of mission is horrible, bad management, limited direction, very unrealistic business model, turn over is astronomical, unqualified individuals in key positions.(in 13 reviews)
  • "there is NO continued training of admissions coordinators(in 7 reviews)
  • "Executive leadership(in 7 reviews)
  • "In my time there we went through 4 CEO's in 5 years which meant constant change.(in 6 reviews)
Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of American Addiction Centers and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Company that truly cares about you

    Jul 18, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Very supportive CEO & leadership that not only cares about their patients but also their employees.

    Cons

    None to share yet with this company.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  2. 4.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Very Rewarding Role

    Sep 23, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Helping people get clean and sober. Great group of colleagues/peers. fun environment

    Cons

    Owner of the company (which has sense changed) was a trainwreck.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Rather Not Say it all but would avoid

    Sep 19, 2022 - Quality Assurance Manager in Lafayette, NJ
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Folks at the facility understand the needs of employees, patients and facility to continually improve. Tight-knit crew of people (not the corporate plants) were like family

    Cons

    Disorganized corporate structure Multiple lawsuits, previously bankrupt Structure built around business development and marketing rather than patient care, services and relational work with CMS, government contracts and commercial payors.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  4. 2.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Work here if you only want to make $18 an hour

    Aug 5, 2022 - Admissions Coordinator 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    I like working with people that need help,

    Cons

    I was weary of AAC due to their previous reputation, but heard they had changed. I was hired on at $18 an hour and was told that I would make around $52k due to the team bonuses each monthly that they regularly received. The company has only given out 3 bonuses in 8 months, even though they tell us that they are making way more profits then last year. AND the only way to make bonuses if that the entire company hits the bonus-which is not great for high producing people to be penalized for others lack of work. People work overtime to try to make up for this. The next level up is a Junior Navigator that they tell you that you will be in 6 months. Not true, they play favorites and bump up people they like more than others. The pay is still $18 an hour, but they take away your overtime-so you actually make LESS. Then you are told that you should be promoted in a year or two to the Navigator role, which the base is $60k. We just had several high level executives leave. I am sad because I had high hopes for this job. No one can live off this salary and support a family. They are constantly hiring new people because people leave. Run! If you do decide to interview-ask them how many bonuses they have hit recently and see what they tell you.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  5. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    xxx

    Sep 8, 2022 - Business Development Manager in Nashville, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Employees are great to work with

    Cons

    Not a well oiled machine

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Not a bad place to work

    Jul 27, 2022 - Licensed Practical Nurse (LPN) in Riverview, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits when I initially started. At first the patient assignment was manageable.

    Cons

    Understaffed, Techs could never be found because they had them doing all sorts of other things, sometimes had a floor and upstairs floor of patients to pass meds to. Felt very alone and lacked support. Facility was not kept up well. HR handled certain situations poorly.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  7. 5.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    The Best Place I've Ever Worked!

    Jul 12, 2022 - Senior SEO Analyst 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome team Remote work Flexibility Helpful managers Learning opportunities Great culture Supportive of educational pursuits Great benefits Fulfilling work

    Cons

    I love being remote but I wish I could meet all my coworkers in person.

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  8. 5.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Best place to work

    Jul 14, 2022 - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy, great leadership, work life balance, transparency, mission driven work

    Cons

    None at this time, they are doing great work

    Be the first to find this review helpful
  9. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Hopefully the new CEO will see that the HR department needs a MAJOR BATH!

    Jul 12, 2022 - Corporate Office 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission driven team with an opportunity to help those struggling with addiction.

    Cons

    HR is a nightmare. Complete and total nightmare.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Great Job

    Jul 21, 2022 - Treatment Coordinator in Brentwood, TN
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great money Great Benefits Great people

    Cons

    When I was there management was undergoing many changes. I hear that has changed for better presently

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 304 Reviews

American Addiction Centers Reviews FAQs

American Addiction Centers has an overall rating of 3.5 out of 5, based on over 312 reviews left anonymously by employees. 64% of employees would recommend working at American Addiction Centers to a friend and 60% have a positive outlook for the business. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

According to anonymously submitted Glassdoor reviews, American Addiction Centers employees rate their compensation and benefits as 3.6 out of 5. Find out more about salaries and benefits at American Addiction Centers. This rating has decreased by -7% over the last 12 months.

64% of American Addiction Centers employees would recommend working there to a friend based on Glassdoor reviews. Employees also rated American Addiction Centers 3.7 out of 5 for work life balance, 3.4 for culture and values and 3.4 for career opportunities.

According to reviews on Glassdoor, employees commonly mention the pros of working at American Addiction Centers to be workplace, benefits, coworkers and the cons to be career development, management, senior leadership.

Popular Careers with American Addiction Centers Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at American Addiction Centers? Share Your Experiences

or

Reviews by Job Title

American Addiction Centers Photos

+ Add Photo
American Addiction Centers photo of: Desert Hope
American Addiction Centers photo of: Greenhouse Treatment Center
American Addiction Centers photo of: AAC Corporate
American Addiction Centers photo of: AAC Corporate
American Addiction Centers photo of: Desert Hope Treatment Center
American Addiction Centers photo of: Desert Hope Treatment Center
American Addiction Centers photo of: Laguna Treatment Hospial
See All Photos

Expert Career Advice

Guide to Getting Your First Job

Find a Great First Job to Jumpstart Your Career

How to Get a Job

Getting a Job Is Tough; This Guide Makes it Easier

How to Get a Promotion

Climb the Ladder With These Proven Promotion Tips

How to Negotiate Your Salary

A Guide to Negotiating the Salary You Deserve

How to Write a Resume

Write a Resume Recruiters Can't Resist

American Addiction Centers Job Seekers Also Viewed

Acadia Healthcare Logo
Acadia Healthcare

2.7

586 Reviews
Compare