American Airlines Aircraft Mechanic Reviews | Glassdoor

American Airlines Aircraft Mechanic Reviews

Updated Oct 31, 2017

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 reviews

2.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
49%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
4 Ratings
  1. "American Airlines Aircraft mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Free flights, free food at work, friends.

    Cons

    when you fly you could get bumpped out, not enough time for free time.

    Advice to Management

    not that much advice because the company is great.

    American Airlines2017-03-26
  2. Helpful (1)

    "The sinking ship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Abilene, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    None what’s so ever

    Cons

    AA don’t care about it employees it is the worst place to work

    Advice to Management

    They should give more attention to there asset which is their employees rather than chasing money

    American Airlines2017-10-31
  3. "aircraft mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    chance to work on different aircraft

    Cons

    working during bad weather and holidays

    Advice to Management

    remember to put yourself into my shoes

    American Airlines2016-12-24
  4. "Aircraft technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Aircraft Mechanic in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines

    Pros

    Plus O.T $ = over 140K a year. Great salary with awesome flight benefits.

    Cons

    Little to none. Up to you to make it work.

    American Airlines2016-11-30
  5. "Aircraft mechanic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Aircraft Mechanic in Jf Kennedy Ap, NY
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines

    Pros

    Good local management, great co-workers, flight benefits, easy days swap between mechanics,

    Cons

    Upper management needs to pay attention and listen to the work force of the company, bad health benefits, pay is not the greatest

    American Airlines2016-08-20
  6. "air craft maintenance"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Aircraft Mechanic in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines

    Pros

    great place to work you can work in different cities and locations an great people to work with

    Cons

    none you make the challenge

    Advice to Management

    train the people to work and they will produce a good product

    American Airlines2016-02-11
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Fly for free"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Abilene, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    fly for free (on standby), pay increase by year, many shifts to choose from

    Cons

    not good salary, union, layoffs

    American Airlines2015-08-13
  8. "great place to work you are always treated fairley and thanked for your worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    good pay & benefits travel privagles

    Cons

    some employes do not help others when they need help

    Advice to Management

    non applacable

    American Airlines2014-03-07
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Management sucks the higher up you go"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Aircraft Maintenance Mechanic in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Love working with my fellow employees. Very diverse crowd. Great experience.

    Cons

    Very little compensation for your responsibility. Management wants more and more from you and wants to give you less and less. AMR and newely formed AAG keep reporting about all the profits rolling in yet the compensation for employees is atrocious. Specially for the regional flying.

    Advice to Management

    Here is a clue for you. Regional flying is a neccesity to operations. The aircraft go thru more cycles then the larger aircraft. They require more work from both maintenance and flight crews. Current MOD at ORD seems more interested in how he can screw you and ruin moral than fix problems. The common adage there is that Moral Don't Fix Airplanes. Well let me tell ya, Bad Moral fixes them a lot slower.

    American Airlines2014-01-17
  10. Helpful (2)

    "American Eagle Airlines LGA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Aircraft Mechanic in Flushing, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Good travel benefits. Standard health benefits and 401k.

    Cons

    American Eagle Airlines at LGA has no hangar so all work is performed outside. Base pay is $12.94 (not a typo) and with an A&P license you get a $3 "boost" to $15.94 (also not a typo). They offer a whopping $0.25 hr "incentive" to work 2nd shift and a hefty $0.45 hr to slave on 3rd shift. Pay is non-negotiable due to it being a union shop. So even though I have over 10 years of experience it doesn't matter.

    Advice to Management

    Your pay is insulting. I made more money working at a pet store... And at the pet store I wasn't entrusted with the safety and repair of aircraft. Scary.

    American Airlines2013-11-08
Found 20 reviews