American Airlines Customer Service Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

American Airlines Customer Service Agent Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
20 Ratings
  1. "csa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    the company provides good pay, travel benefits and health insurance

    Cons

    can be stressful and a lot of new management

    American Airlines2016-09-19
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service ORD"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines

    Pros

    Co-workers and fast paced environment

    Cons

    Salary, poor customer service, commute in and out of airport/secuirty,

    Advice to Management

    Update your software.

    American Airlines2016-09-09
  3. "customer service agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent in Gold Canyon, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Liked my job and enjoyed helping people. Benefits were excellent.

    Cons

    Travel to and from job and parking were time consuming.

    American Airlines2016-07-27
  4. "Great Place. Horrible Management!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Free flights -Flexible Schedule -Many oppurtunities to grow

    Cons

    -Too much pressure from management to get flights out on time

    American Airlines2016-05-04
  5. "Customer Service Agent - Entry Level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines

    Pros

    Flight benefits. Potentially flexible schedule.

    Cons

    Probationary period is extreme. Entry level salary is too low for what is expected.

    Advice to Management

    Need to weed out the bad apples

    American Airlines2015-11-12
  6. Helpful (3)

    "A hostile work environment and lack of regard for the law."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent in Seattle, WA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines for less than a year

    Pros

    The flight benefits.

    Cons

    American Airlines is currently under investigation for illegal termination, hostile work environment, retaliation, disposing of employees in ways that break federal and state law and is currently user investigation for aircraft maintenance fraud. Which explains all their delayed/cancelled flights that cause passengers to become distressed or stranded. Management is condescending and usually unavailable. The... company pays for too little for what they expect and they are currently under federal investigation for my termination along with the claims made by the mechanics in Chicago, which the FAA this year substantiated their case.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit. Let American Airlines fall on its face like it lets so many of its passengers and employees do. They new American only cares about the bottom line, and they will not protect you from the laws that they press ou to break. Listen to your employees and your airline might actually run for the purpose of air travel instead of profit only. I was disappointed the CEO did not try to correct the illegal actions of... their management, but after I left, I saw that the problem was systemwide, and only you can stop it.

    Show More
    American Airlines2015-11-13
  7. "customer service agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Richmond, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time

    Pros

    They people are very nice to work with. They help you to learn stuff fast

    Cons

    Some of their old associate are mean. I think maybe they hate their job.

    American Airlines2015-09-10
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Honolulu, HI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    This is a excellent company with good flight benefits

    Cons

    Stay there, you may get frustrated at times, but it's all worth it, with the benefits. I love American Airlines Period.

    Advice to Management

    Learn your city codes

    American Airlines2015-07-17
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Customer Service Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Enjoy working at the airport and with passengers....

    Cons

    never really found any downsides other than maybe bidding schedules

    Advice to Management

    Being helpful to agents

    American Airlines2015-05-19
  10. Helpful (3)

    "something special in the air?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Miami, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    flex time, excellent benefits, within work groups good relations

    Cons

    Company is not SERVICE oriented, plays work groups against each other reguarding accountability, inept middle management, US Airways culture is a no win situation

    Advice to Management

    value your employees and the contribuations they make, look to other industry leaders in service and learn their lessons, make SERVICE to your customers priority

    American Airlines2015-05-02
Found 44 reviews