American Airlines Customer Service Agent Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Customer Service Agent

American Airlines Customer Service Agent Reviews

Updated 2 Oct 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
67%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
20 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "ambitious, goal oriented, excited to work."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Love working w/ people, resolution oriented, outstanding at sales + cyst serv

    Cons

    N/A have no cons at all

    Advice to Management

    I am perfect for the position and look forward to working and showing my skills and hope for growth and advancement.

    American Airlines2015-04-11
  2. Helpful (2)

    "The best company."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good salaries and health plans

    Cons

    Minimium vacation extra hours but always a pleausure.

    Advice to Management

    salaries health plans extra hours

    American Airlines2015-03-09
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. Helpful (1)

    "Customer service agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines

    Pros

    Flight benefits, flight benefits, and flight benefits only.

    Cons

    Fear driven management. Your job is always on the line with anything the management feels like picking on that day. Employees are treated like cattle. Filled with drama, threats, dictatorship and bureaucracy.

    Advice to Management

    Don't even try to improve. You are pathetic. Your company will disappear in the near future.

    American Airlines2015-02-09
  5. Helpful (5)

    "over worked and under paid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent in Pittsburgh, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines

    Pros

    Pros are flight benefits for you and your family

    Cons

    As a part time employee you work 5 days a week and up to 38 scheduled hours.... which you never leave on time because they a grossly under staffed.

    Advice to Management

    Replace your management team.... They have no idea how to do schedules nor do they understand the concept of PART TIME!!!!!

    American Airlines2014-12-03
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Job is ok if you can handle custumers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Agent in Washington, DC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits, everyday could be something different

    Cons

    Low pay, unruly customers, job is also dependent on weather

    American Airlines2014-05-31
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Always was very good!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in San Diego, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines part-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    American is a place where people can achieve their full potential!

    Cons

    Longs hours, weekends, holidays and sometimes be away from our families! Also pay is not that great.

    Advice to Management

    Upper management need support their employees on a positive way and sometimes we like to be recognize for a good customer service.

    American Airlines2014-03-27
  8. "A Fun Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    free travel, meet lots of great co-workers and passengers, an exciting environment in which to work

    Cons

    management not focused on employee happiness; encounter some very obnoxious passengers; can be stressful at time, especially during bad weather

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your employees. Don't put them in a position where they have to apologize for poor service and meals. Don't be trying to eliminate retiree benefits

    American Airlines2014-02-28
  9. Helpful (1)

    "19 year career in customer service related areas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Agent in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Travel the world, able to switch work schedule

    Cons

    Pay is low to start, gets better with years worked

    Advice to Management

    Continue to value your employees

    American Airlines2013-08-02
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Misleading Internship"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Airline Customer Service Agent in Fort Myers, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines for less than a year

    Pros

    Great customer relations experience, amazing internship coordinator, very good training and flight benefits

    Cons

    Wasn't trained in many areas like promised and was forced to quit at "end of internship." In the interview I was told that I wouldn't be put into the bid system like all of the other employees due to the fact that I was still in school. I was put into the system anyways and I was at the bottom of the list since I was the most recent hire. I ended up with hours that didn't work out with my class schedule so I had to... pick school over the company. Management did not care at all.

    Show More
    American Airlines2013-01-12
  11. Helpful (3)

    "Human Punching bag"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Customer Service Agent in Fort Lauderdale, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines

    Pros

    The shift was flexible to pick.

    Cons

    Human punching bag everyday. Doesn't pay worth a squat. Have to wait 11 years to finally make max pay of $20 an hour. Seems like an awful long time, 11 years to wait to make chump change.

    Advice to Management

    Speak English

    American Airlines2011-09-21
Found 44 reviews