American Airlines Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

American Airlines Manager Reviews

Updated Sep 11, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 142 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
64%
Recommend to a Friend
78%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
56 Ratings
  1. "AA fly the friendly skies"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Sales Manager 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Continue investing in people, equipment, and facilities

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    American Airlines2019-07-18
  2. "Solid Airline"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Commodity Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    great teammates, great benefits, largest airline in the world

    Cons

    Shaky industry, tough airline competition, huge airline causes challenges

    American Airlines2019-09-12
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Security Operations Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I learned great leadership and management skills I worked with awesome people and teams I traveled around the world for work and pleasure

    Cons

    Each person must take personal responsibility for their own individual daily effort. Every company has pros and cons. Every job is what you make it. I didn't have any unique negative experiences. I was usually able to get assistance to resolve questions or concerns. I'm grateful for the opportunity I had. It's a great company

    Advice to Management

    My advice to employees of all levels is to be understanding, caring, kind, and respectful to everyone

    American Airlines2019-09-04
  4. "Lots of opportunities for management level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great flight benefits and plenty of promotional and lateral opportunities, all over the world

    Cons

    Air travel is not always the most customer friendly business so be prepared to work through operational challenges

    American Airlines2019-08-20
  5. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Junior Account Manager 

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Free travel and a Flexible work environment.

    Cons

    A lot of micromanagement and holidays are not a thing in the industry.

    American Airlines2019-09-03
  6. "False Advertising"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Effective Training Programs, awesome new facility

    Cons

    "Open" positions posted on the Internal Career Section are posted for identified personnel making even lateral moves impossible. You have to make the relationship with the hiring mgr. so they can create the job. Then the 100+ other folks with high hopes get the rejection letters not you.

    Advice to Management

    Improve the H.R. process of selection from review several, not select the first and continue until their not selected before reaching out to the pool of most capable candidates. There is very little to no communication of where we are in the hiring process until you receive the thanks for trying email.

    American Airlines2019-08-22
  7. "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Manager in San Francisco, CA

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Hiring new employees for SFO

    Cons

    Letting go employees when required SFO

    American Airlines2019-07-14
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Nice Place to Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Project Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Free Travel benefits for all employees. Culture is changing for the better

    Cons

    The salary is not as competitive as others

    American Airlines2019-05-31
  9. "American Customers Service Positions Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Manager in Philadelphia, PA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Free or taxes only flights for your immediate family

    Cons

    They do not provide the level of Customer Service I was use to providing

    Advice to Management

    Take care of your customers and they'll take care of the bottom line

    American Airlines2019-06-14
  10. Helpful (1)

    "AA"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great place to work with great benefits and people

    Cons

    airlines can sometimes be stressful

    American Airlines2019-05-07
Found 142 reviews