American Airlines Reviews | Glassdoor

American Airlines Reviews

Updated 19 Sep 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2614 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
998 Ratings
  1. "American airlines"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Current Employee - Home Based Reservations in Raleigh, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay Benefits Remote opportunities Flexible sometimes Matching 401 k

    Cons

    Does not consider personal life with schedules

    Advice to Management

    Employee morale could be better

    American Airlines2019-09-13
  2. "good company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time

    Pros

    good company and good benefits.

    Cons

    nothing to say. love AA

    American Airlines2019-08-30
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Great Travel & Responsibility"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Pilot in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    New experiences every day. Travel to new areas.

    Cons

    Management with a lack of understanding

    American Airlines2019-08-25
  4. "Ramp"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Service Clerk in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flying benefits and giving away shifts

    Cons

    Management needs to be retrained

    Advice to Management

    Stop making a hostile enviroment

    American Airlines2019-08-25
  5. "Easiest job, but you put up with a lot"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - American Airlines Flight Attendant in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, easy “job”, mostly fun people to work with

    Cons

    Legal to work long hour days, no recognition for being good at your job most of the time. Management has not been helpful when I’ve needed them, too many loopholes in contract, too many constant changes that employees cannot keep up with. It’s obvious the company cares more for management than employees represented by unions (flight attendants/pilots/maintenance).

    Advice to Management

    Have more managers over less flight attendants so that they can actually have time to help them when they need it.

    American Airlines2019-09-05
  6. "Great place to be"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Junior Account Manager 

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time

    Pros

    Free travel and a Flexible work environment.

    Cons

    A lot of micromanagement and holidays are not a thing in the industry.

    American Airlines2019-09-03
  7. "Lots of opportunities for management level"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Customer Service Manager in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great flight benefits and plenty of promotional and lateral opportunities, all over the world

    Cons

    Air travel is not always the most customer friendly business so be prepared to work through operational challenges

    American Airlines2019-08-20
  8. "Not the best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative in Fort Worth, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great flight benefits and healthcare benefits

    Cons

    The CSR department is very punitive. Extremely stressful work environment.

    Advice to Management

    Incentivize rather than punish

    American Airlines2019-09-03
  9. Helpful (1)

    "wake up, Doug!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Captain in Boston, MA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Major airline benefits and compensation..

    Cons

    Management still trying to figure out how to run the airline post bankruptcy. I hope they figure it out soon - Delta, Southwest, JetBlue, and even United are eating our lunches.

    Advice to Management

    All of you get out of the office for about a month, (don't worry - the place will run just fine - we've got good people here) get down into the trenches and really talk to people. Enough with all the goofy rah-rah eyewash and platitudes. Our self-esteem is just fine.

    American Airlines2019-08-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Fleet Service Clerk 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time

    Pros

    Benefits are a plus. Union job too! Lots of opportunities.

    Cons

    At the beginning part time hours are a little shaky but it gets better as time goes by.

    American Airlines2019-08-13
Found 2614 reviews