American Airlines "flight benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

American Airlines Employee Reviews about "flight benefits"

Updated Sep 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2614 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
998 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "The long hours and living out of your suitcase for days on end can be challenging(in 76 reviews)

  • "Your senoir coworkers will be the rudest to passengers(in 50 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "flight benefits"

Return to all Reviews
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (17)

    "Growing in diversity and inclusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    American is going in the right direction to improve in diversity and inclusion in management. Flight benefits are of course great to have.

    Cons

    No real cons at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the employees

    American Airlines2019-04-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Material logistics specialist New York"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Logistics Specialist in Jf Kennedy Ap, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job after your six month probation you can basically make your own schedule because you can trade shifts, flight benefits, nothing difficult, good helpful people for the most part, extremely hard to get fired once you pass probation since you are protected by the union

    Cons

    The only real con is Managment

    American Airlines2019-06-29
  3. Helpful (1)

    "It was nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Service Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits Great co-workers Work was fun (for me anyway)

    Cons

    Management can sometimes be a drag

    American Airlines2019-06-24
  4. "Worked there for 2 1/2 years as a Sr. Clerk in the CCS department doing refunds. Then, got promoted to Specialist I."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist I - Credit Card Services in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay started at $12hr, and after my promotion, it was $14.14/hr. (Also including mandatory yearly raises) Great benefits, flight benefits, medical, dental, vision. Good pay. Easy work. Nice people. Flex time was great. (Arrive to work between 630am and 830am. Stay 8 hours) Full-time. Paid vacation and sick time. Monday-Friday. Weekends off. Also, when you travel, you can book first/business class. If no one buys the... seat, you have the possibility of getting it. For next to nothing out of country, and free inside the states.

    Show More

    Cons

    Kind of boring :/ Very mundane. I was at a desk. And it's practically the same thing, every single day. Other than that, it is a great job if you want to travel for next to nothing.

    Advice to Management

    I loved management. They were very personable, and they work with you. Keep it up.

    American Airlines2019-06-20
  5. "Ssystem support specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits, discounts on hotels, profit share bonus

    Cons

    24 hour center schedule could be anything if your not senior enough in the company. Lesser pay probably because we get flight benefits

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    American Airlines2019-06-12
  6. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, culture, employers value their employees work life balance

    Cons

    Salary bonus vacation promotion limitation

    American Airlines2019-06-12
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome benefits and culture, not my ideal working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Fort Worth, TX

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flight benefits, culture (depends on department)

    Cons

    no room to be creative, very hierarchical, lots of politics, wages are low compared to other large corporate companies

    American Airlines2019-06-06
  8. "Cool Flight Benefits but Noncompetitive Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flight benefits are cool during months 3 & 9, tough otherwise

    Cons

    very conservative culture, resistant to change

    Advice to Management

    treat your IT department with the respect they deserve. invest in them more because they are your future. increase the pay for software developers. the salary is not competitive and the flight benefits really don't add a huge bonus to the career at the end of the day.

    American Airlines2019-05-17
  9. "American Airlines Ramp Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Traverse City, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight Benefits A lot of downtime in between flights

    Cons

    Low Pay Long Hours Bad Management

    American Airlines2019-05-28
  10. "Need some help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits and health insurance

    Cons

    Poor management bad employee relationships

    American Airlines2019-05-22
Found 2614 reviews