American Airlines "flight benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

American Airlines Reviews

Updated Oct 22, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
70%
Recommend to a Friend
60%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
1,017 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Company Culture at HDQ"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Analyst in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight Benefits! You can see the world for pretty much free. American is a well-known brand and I’m proud to tell people I work here. Benefits are decent. New headquarters is an awesome space. There are some great people who work here and you feel like part of a family.

    Cons

    At HDQ there are so many layers of management that it can be hard to be heard or get anything done. Many departments are so bloated that there are employees who no one knows what they actually do all day, but managers are afraid of losing headcount so they keep them. Many leaders have been there 20+ years and still have the old school mentality when it comes to flexibility in schedules or working from home... occasionally. Vacation policy for non-union employees is pitiful at two weeks a year for your first five years. No parental leave for new parents (only disability leave for birth mothers) so sorry dads or adoptive parents. Any positive changes put forth for non-union employees are shot down since they don’t want it to appear that management is gaining anything over unionized employees. Company culture can be toxic since every town hall meeting and the company intranet is full off comments from demoralized unionized employees spewing their hatred of leadership and the company.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to non-unionized employees as much as you do to the loud angry voices of frontline employees. A decent PTO and parental leave policy is long overdue.

    American Airlines2019-08-13
  2. "Best in the industry"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits are the best

    Cons

    exhausting job almost every day

    American Airlines2019-07-30
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Review This"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Fleet Service Clerk 

    I have been working at American Airlines part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, health benefits, 401k and did I mention flights!!!

    Cons

    Pay can be a little better with all the heavy lifting we do and dusty work area!

    American Airlines2019-07-29
  5. "Not great"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Financial Analyst 

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    If you get a good manager, work life balance can be achieved.

    Cons

    Flight benefits really aren't a benefit- more trouble than it's worth. Technology is outdated and change is SLOW.

    American Airlines2019-08-06
  6. Helpful (2)

    "Excellent company to work for at headquarters"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vendor Relations Specialist in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Working at HQ is a pleasure (don't know much about airport operations). People are genuinely caring, work is challenging and at the same time work-life balance is respected. Pay is good too and flight benefits are great.

    Cons

    On a case by case basis, one can complain of anything but there's nothing that I can broadly speak of.

    American Airlines2019-07-12
  7. Helpful (22)

    "Growing in diversity and inclusion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Analyst in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    American is going in the right direction to improve in diversity and inclusion in management. Flight benefits are of course great to have.

    Cons

    No real cons at this time

    Advice to Management

    Keep listening to the employees

    American Airlines2019-04-20
  8. Helpful (1)

    "good job but horribly managed"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Assistant Representative in San Diego, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    flight benefits if seats are available.

    Cons

    poorly managed. they don;'t really care about their passengers, it's all about money and charging them for every little thing they can.

    Advice to Management

    listen to employee suggestions to make things better. I went to Elevate training in DFW and was told just to to wait it will be better. it never did.

    American Airlines2019-08-06
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Material logistics specialist New York"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Material Logistics Specialist in Jf Kennedy Ap, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great job after your six month probation you can basically make your own schedule because you can trade shifts, flight benefits, nothing difficult, good helpful people for the most part, extremely hard to get fired once you pass probation since you are protected by the union

    Cons

    The only real con is Managment

    American Airlines2019-06-29
  10. Helpful (1)

    "It was nice"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Fleet Service Clerk in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits Great co-workers Work was fun (for me anyway)

    Cons

    Management can sometimes be a drag

    American Airlines2019-06-24
  11. Helpful (2)

    "Ilegal manipulation of personnel files"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Home Based Reservations Representative in Miami, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits and that is it

    Cons

    Mostly everything else besides travel benefits. Schedules are horrible. Pay low and medical benefits so expensive and low coverage. Managers are a joke. They lie and will put illegal information on your personnel file that will ban you for life from ever working for AA. I re-applied for a Flight Attendant position recently, I got the job, I was going through the process of the background checks and they withdrew... my offer because they claim I am illegible to be rehired. I requested a copy of my personnel file and they denied it. I never had any write ups, no complaints, nothing negative. I resigned with the required two weeks notice and followed every single step for resigning. Still they lie and put illegal information on my file.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Hire people that won't be breaking the law and have some ethics, and not lying and placing illegal, malicious information on employees files.

    American Airlines2019-07-27
Found 2652 reviews