American Airlines "flight benefits" Reviews | Glassdoor

American Airlines Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 2639 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
71%
Recommend to a Friend
61%
Approve of CEO
American Airlines CEO Doug Parker
Doug Parker
1,013 Ratings
  1. "Worked there for 2 1/2 years as a Sr. Clerk in the CCS department doing refunds. Then, got promoted to Specialist I."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Specialist I - Credit Card Services in Tempe, AZ
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Pay started at $12hr, and after my promotion, it was $14.14/hr. (Also including mandatory yearly raises) Great benefits, flight benefits, medical, dental, vision. Good pay. Easy work. Nice people. Flex time was great. (Arrive to work between 630am and 830am. Stay 8 hours) Full-time. Paid vacation and sick time. Monday-Friday. Weekends off. Also, when you travel, you can book first/business class. If no one buys the... seat, you have the possibility of getting it. For next to nothing out of country, and free inside the states.

    Show More

    Cons

    Kind of boring :/ Very mundane. I was at a desk. And it's practically the same thing, every single day. Other than that, it is a great job if you want to travel for next to nothing.

    Advice to Management

    I loved management. They were very personable, and they work with you. Keep it up.

    American Airlines2019-06-20
  2. "Ssystem support specialist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Phoenix, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits, discounts on hotels, profit share bonus

    Cons

    24 hour center schedule could be anything if your not senior enough in the company. Lesser pay probably because we get flight benefits

    Advice to Management

    No advice

    American Airlines2019-06-12
  3. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits, culture, employers value their employees work life balance

    Cons

    Salary bonus vacation promotion limitation

    American Airlines2019-06-12
  4. Helpful (3)

    "You will grow to HATE it"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Reservations Agent in Dallas, TX
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits. Honestly that’s why more than half still work the company

    Cons

    Mandatory overtime, Schedules, Not keeping the employees in the loop, getting cussed out by nasty customers all day for something.

    Advice to Management

    Let go of everyone in management and start over

    American Airlines2019-07-13
  5. Helpful (8)

    "Management makes it hard on front of the line crew"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Flight Attendant 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flight benefits, growth, meet new people, they hire well when it comes to cabin crew, most flight attendants are positive rays of sunshine with much to offer

    Cons

    Idk where to start. Everyone is always on strike...currently it’s the mechanics and catering. They are in the right to strike but we are the face of it so people get mad at us and don’t care that there’s a strike going on. I’m pretty sure management is determined to go out of business cause they leave a lot to be desired. Delays cancelations happen so often if you are soft (like I am) your health will suffer. If you... have a choice to work for someone else do so even if they aren’t unionized. On another con, I’m pretty sure the union is on managements payroll because they screw us in negotiations. For example, we only get paid for flight time and now AA builds sequences to where we’re just sitting in the airport for three hours between flights...not getting paid. And the union okay-Ed this.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    If you don’t care about the company please quit. Less legroom is dumb, taking out screens (even for international routes) is also dumb. I’ve always been a positive person and that’s why you hired me, if you want me to stay that way, please don’t always lie to customers. Cancel flights instead of delaying a million times so people aren’t getting anxious just waiting. Listen to your front of the line crew. We are... actually with the passengers when they get angry and nasty because of AA errors. You don’t know the Half of it in your office l chairs with only fellow employees and management. Money is not everything, treat us like American humans

    Show More
    American Airlines2019-07-04
  6. "Overworked, just another number."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Victorville, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines

    Pros

    Flexibility with schedule and Flight benefits.

    Cons

    Over worked and underpaid. You can get written up for anything. Waste of time

    American Airlines2019-07-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Awesome benefits and culture, not my ideal working environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Marketing Coordinator in Fort Worth, TX

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flight benefits, culture (depends on department)

    Cons

    no room to be creative, very hierarchical, lots of politics, wages are low compared to other large corporate companies

    American Airlines2019-06-06
  8. "Cool Flight Benefits but Noncompetitive Salary"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Software Developer in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Airlines full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    flight benefits are cool during months 3 & 9, tough otherwise

    Cons

    very conservative culture, resistant to change

    Advice to Management

    treat your IT department with the respect they deserve. invest in them more because they are your future. increase the pay for software developers. the salary is not competitive and the flight benefits really don't add a huge bonus to the career at the end of the day.

    American Airlines2019-05-17
  9. "American Airlines Ramp Agent"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Ramp Agent in Traverse City, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Flight Benefits A lot of downtime in between flights

    Cons

    Low Pay Long Hours Bad Management

    American Airlines2019-05-28
  10. "Need some help"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Airlines full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flight benefits and health insurance

    Cons

    Poor management bad employee relationships

    American Airlines2019-05-22
Found 2639 reviews