American Axle & Manufacturing Engineering Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Engineering

American Axle & Manufacturing Engineer Reviews

Updated Sep 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 52 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
53%
Recommend to a Friend
90%
Approve of CEO
American Axle & Manufacturing CEO David C. Dauch
David C. Dauch
23 Ratings
  1. "Challenging, Engaging, and Rewarding!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Quality Engineer 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    The Management team is wonderful. They listen to all of their Associate's concerns. This is definitely a company that is proactive instead of reactive. The continuous stride for World Class recognition and manufacturing is astounding.

    Cons

    Benefits could be better. Having a Lean manufacturing process is great. Having a Lean team is asking for disaster. Too few people, too many hats.

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage Associate Empowerment. Make your processes and plants Lean not your people support.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-07-14
  2. "A Complete Mess"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Product Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Compensation was good. Marketing team does a great job with the AAM brand image.

    Cons

    Awful experience in product engineering. There are limited processes that nobody seems to follow. Unless you're on the mechanical side where the parts are known and formulaic, there are nearly no design guidelines or tools with which to develop a design. Terrible infighting between teams because of a disorganized and unclear org structure. A "System Team" who thinks their role is to track math and drawing releases... for component engineers. Most technical gaps are met with "well, let's just hire a contractor for 6 months to show us how to do it" with no plan to develop the capability. Zero understanding of systems engineering. Micromanaging, overbearing leadership. Timelines and deadlines instituted on a whim from senior management with no actual practical bearing. Just a complete mess.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    I think David just doesn't know how much of a mess Product Engineering is. You need to establish clear processes, sign offs, gates, and invest in the right tools if you want to have a chance to compete with the big fish in this space (Magna, Borg, etc).

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-09-04
  3. "Good company to learn"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Senior Software Engineer 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Good environment and opportunity to learn

    Cons

    Somtime job need more working hours

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-06-30
  4. "A good place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Engineering Manager in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Very good overall compensation package and talented engineering workforce.

    Cons

    Still maintain much of the culture from the GM days.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-06-13
  5. "Great Place to Intern/Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Controls Engineer Co-Op in Three Rivers, MI

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to gain experience as a college student.

    Cons

    The 30 minute drive from Kalamazoo to Three Rivers

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-04-05
  6. "Absolutely no communication throughout company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Co-Op 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for more than a year

    Pros

    Was given the opportunity to complete my internship

    Cons

    Everything. The managers don't care about anyone but themselves, no one would help answer any of my questions, the other engineers verbally abused me, and overall it was a hostel work environment. After my internship was done, I was told I could get a position there if I wanted because they said they liked me. I ended up quiting because I couldn't stand being there another day.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-04-23
  7. Helpful (1)

    "AAM Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Product Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Salary is pretty fair. Flexibility to work remotely.

    Cons

    Long hours High pressure Micromanagement Very top heavy

    Advice to Management

    Adding more high level managers without adding working resources does not improve a crisis situation.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-02-24
  8. "Controls Engineer-Mechatronics"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Controls Engineer in Detroit, MI

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Great Work culture, Diversity, Helpful mentors and supervisors

    Cons

    Old school management, Less bonuses

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-01-13
  9. "Bad company culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mechanical Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    pretty challenge for the job

    Cons

    Very bad management for my team. My manager bullied me daily and finally I got laid off. As you can image that they prefer layoff on January just because they don't want to pay you penny for any compensation and annual bonus after my full year service there. my paycheck just account for my last day there. What they really toast for lay off person due to unacceptable of ''mediocre". Indeed, you can hard to image... you can become expert within a year, my manager is a very bad guy. Horrible person ruin company reputation.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Really need to think about promotion for a good well personality's employee instead of promote base upon his year of service with bad personality.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-01-21
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Stressful work environment with a lack of business focus."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Product Engineer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Investment into computer equipment, tools, training, and other engineering resources to aide in productivity.

    Cons

    Disruptive work environment with crowded desk arrangements. Too much focus on meetings and reports without enough focus on the work required to succeed and perform.

    Advice to Management

    Management has a lack of focus when targeting new business. Too much concern on marketing and stock price. Not enough emphasis on product quality and new technology.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-12-21
Found 52 reviews