American Axle & Manufacturing Intern Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Intern

American Axle & Manufacturing Intern Reviews

Updated Jul 31, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
85%
Recommend to a Friend
81%
Approve of CEO
American Axle & Manufacturing CEO David C. Dauch
David C. Dauch
3 Ratings
  1. "Review"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Intern - Hourly 

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing part-time

    Pros

    Quick with getting the hiring process rolling Helpful hr Smart managers

    Cons

    Deadlines come up fast and the managers expect results every time

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-08-01
  2. "Engineer Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Engineer Intern in Hamtramck, MI

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice headquarters and opportunity to learn and work on projects

    Cons

    Old culture that shows the old boys club is still around

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-09-14
  3. "American Axle"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Summer Intern 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for more than a year

    Pros

    There are a lot of opportunities for an intern to make improvements at American Axle, and you are given the chance to take on a lot of responsibility and develop your skills.

    Cons

    Even though there is a lot of room for improvement, the process of improving things and implementing projects can be slowed down due to other nuisances and staff work ethic.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2017-09-11
  4. "Love the people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Intern - Hourly in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    The people were so helpful and nice and you don't do 'intern stuff', you get real projects and really get to contribute to the company

    Cons

    Hard if you don't have experience. They expect a lot but you'll learn a lot

    Advice to Management

    Keep being open minded

    American Axle & Manufacturing2016-11-10
  5. "Summer intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Summer Intern 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing

    Pros

    Opportunities to contribute and take initiative

    Cons

    Downtime waiting for things to do

    American Axle & Manufacturing2016-10-13
  6. "Make sure to get yourself out there as an intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Finance Intern in Detroit, MI

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to get your feet wet in the different departments of industry (if you work at HQ). Make sure you get to know people all over in the company because you will most likely not have enough work to do with your individual supervisor. I loved my experience there as a finance intern: diverse personalities in the workplace, autonomy, decent pay as far as I'm concerned.

    Cons

    Generally have to get to know people before they will respect you. The lack of respect can be intimidating at first. Never saw the CEO.

    Advice to Management

    Even though it may take some time, teach your intern/coop skills early on so they can help you with those tasks for the remainder of there employment. May sound obvious but didn't always happen.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2015-09-25
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Uncertainty of company future"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Intern in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing

    Pros

    Great internship experience for an automotive/manufacturing career. Managers were all very knowledgeable and hard working. Structured internship program.

    Cons

    Company is still trying to rebound from 2008 strike by diversifying business with new companies. Future is uncertain

    Advice to Management

    More interaction between plants. Need more opportunities for overtime. Lack of business for some areas of the company are shocking. Increased emphasis on lean manufacturing.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2015-05-23
  8. "Great introduction to learn business environment and introduce yourself to accounting/finance."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Intern - Intern - Hourly in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing for more than a year

    Pros

    The WHQ building in Detroit is stunning and top notch. The people here and teams you work with are excellent. Learning the basic etiquette of business.

    Cons

    Not nearly enough to do while working as an intern Their is no job security for after graduation. You just have to hope there is an available position that interests you, which is very risky.

    Advice to Management

    Focus on updating the culture. This isn't the year 2000 anymore!

    American Axle & Manufacturing2014-12-09
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Good experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Intern - Engineering Intern in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Good work-life balance for the most part

    Cons

    Day to day tasks become repetitive

    American Axle & Manufacturing2014-06-22
  10. "A Wonderful experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Intern - Intern in Chennai
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Great team, excellent environment and a well determined workforce.

    Cons

    Since it is my first internship, I have nothing to complain.

    Advice to Management

    Increase the workforce.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2017-10-02
Found 11 reviews