American Axle & Manufacturing Control Systems Engineer Co-op Reviews | Glassdoor

American Axle & Manufacturing Reviews

Updated Jan 12, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
59%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
American Axle & Manufacturing Chairman and CEO David C. Dauch
David C. Dauch
102 Ratings
  1. "Great Company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Plant Controller 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Great working environment, Competitive pay

    Cons

    Working in plant, the challenge is to keep up with corporate demands, and overcome some perception.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2020-01-13
  2. "Bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay not bad for

    Cons

    Weak managers 7 day work weeks

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-12-14
  3. "College Co-op"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Three Rivers, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Great place to work and good pay for a full time student working 20-25 hours a week. Gained excellent knowledge that I use in my current role. My management was awesome and always understood that school comes first.

    Cons

    Not much opportunity for college co-ops to stay after college. This should really be a feeder and development program to hire after college.

    Advice to Management

    Hire your college co-ops, much less training required when they transition to full time jobs due to them being there for 1-2 years.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-12-07
  4. "Purchasing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Associate Analyst Procurement-Cost Analyst in Charleston, SC

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Worked here for 30 years

    Cons

    They have shut down our plant, laying 85 people off

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-12-05
  5. Helpful (1)

    "A challenge"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing

    Pros

    Global travel, good engineering work, and abundance of things to do.

    Cons

    Lots of internal politics and in fighting.

    Advice to Management

    Have purchasing and program management listen to engineering when quoting and cost estimating. Revamp the purchasing and cost engineering processes, make responsibilities and accountability very clear

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-11-01
  6. "Ok place to work if you nees to"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Production Area Leader in Saint Marys, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great responsibility and associates work hard for the company

    Cons

    Pay raises are bad understaffed and deadlines and production goals are challenging to meet no teamwork between the shifts

    Advice to Management

    Develop a plan to hit targetes goals and focus teams to fix problems conduct maintenence prior to breakdowns take a hard look at each manager and supervisor and fid out why it just isnt working

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-10-31
  7. "handpacker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Saint Marys, PA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    holidays are paid and they provide shoes

    Cons

    mandated overtime, lots of weekend work

    Advice to Management

    learn all the jobs so they know what is going on in the plant.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-10-26
  8. Helpful (1)

    "nepotism at its best"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate in Auburn Hills, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    weak leaders, you can B.S. your hole career.

    Cons

    weak leadership throwing you under bus to climb ladder.

    Advice to Management

    grow up learn some compassion for people sometimes if they have different opinions it is not a bad thing.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-10-22
  9. "Great Place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    - Good opportunities for career advancement

    Cons

    - It's a big organization so there are many levels of approval. It can cause unnecessary delays.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-10-08
  10. "Horrible leaders"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Not many...other than coworkers who make the day easier

    Cons

    Leaders are old school, terrible.. refuse to be flexible

    Advice to Management

    Replace them

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-11-13
Found 345 reviews