American Axle & Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

American Axle & Manufacturing Reviews

Updated Oct 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
57%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
American Axle & Manufacturing CEO David C. Dauch
David C. Dauch
96 Ratings
  1. "Long hours, no quality time away,lying management, forced overtime"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - X-ray Tech in Twinsburg, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Pay is fair. Hours suck

    Cons

    Crappy insurance, constant overtime, seven days a week and still have to come in early or leave late. Lying management from first day hired in 1998. AVOID!!!!! Lying backstabbers

    Continue reading
    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-07-16
  2. "Okay Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Manager in North Vernon, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Lots of opportunity to learn about other areas in the company Everyone is laid back at the plants

    Cons

    Upper Management uses scare tactics to lead

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-06-24
  3. Helpful (1)

    "Us vs Them"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Jobsetter in Three Rivers, MI
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Decent pay and benefits. Lots of hours if you are willing.

    Cons

    The attitude here is upper management versus salaried (supervisors) versus hourly workers.

    Continue reading
    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-06-09
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Liars, hostile work environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in North Vernon, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Well it does pay good.

    Cons

    Where to start. Well first off I was lied to in the interview about not only hours but what my job would be. Now I don't mind the hours cause more money. But they literally put in a job that cause my constant pain with my health problems. I've brought this up to the managers and was basically ignored even though I listed in my application about it. Then there is my "trainers" who are literally two of the most hostile and snarky people I have ever met. My first day on the job they were going over parts I did which I completely understand since I was new and still learning. But when they found one instead of showing what I missed they took it to the team leader. Who then came and gave me a tongue lashing for having missed that defect. And this is on top of any area with only one light that is just up by the two trainers. Also you only get 3 points per four months and doctor's notes are not accepted. So unless you don't have a life or kids it's not an employee friendly system.

    Continue reading
    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-06-10
  5. "?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Material Handler 
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Good Pay. Lots of Overtime

    Cons

    Benefits, work life balance. Employee Appreciation

    Continue reading
    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-05-04
  6. "Old school bullying"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Quality Assurance in Three Rivers, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Good pay, corporate office is helpful .

    Cons

    The mentality of plant management is to find something to belittle supervisors for. End of shift meeting is nothing more than a chance for management to yell. They won't allow downtime for machine maintenance, but yell at supervisors when equipment finally fails and production goes down. Minimal support from management.

    Continue reading
    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-04-26
  7. "Decent Work Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Human Resources Operations in Detroit, MI
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    A good way to start your career

    Cons

    No career development opportunities

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-04-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Electrician in Biscoe, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great benefits, great pay, and a very hands on job.

    Cons

    Dirty work environment and micro managing.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-03-22
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Great Pay, but not worth the money"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Finance in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great friends and coworkers, decent pay

    Cons

    Long drives, no flexibility, rigid culture, leaders babysit versus lead, strict environment, lots of people work in discomfort and no one cares.

    Continue reading
    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-04-22
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not to bad"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Company owners heart is in the right place

    Cons

    individual plants only care about profit

    American Axle & Manufacturing2019-03-18
Found 330 reviews