American Axle & Manufacturing Reviews | Glassdoor

American Axle & Manufacturing Reviews

Updated Oct 8, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 329 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
56%
Recommend to a Friend
69%
Approve of CEO
American Axle & Manufacturing CEO David C. Dauch
David C. Dauch
95 Ratings
  1. "Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Three Rivers, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay. When over times available its great. When its lay off season... You are off for a long time

    Cons

    Theres no heads up when it comes to lay offs

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-11-14
  2. "Unhealthy enviroment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Forklift Operator in Saint Cloud, MN

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Great pay and benefits. Great.

    Cons

    Bad atmosphere. Smell bad and dangerous.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-11-03
  3. Helpful (3)

    "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Buyer in Detroit, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for less than a year

    Pros

    Good pay, friendly co-workers, decent cafeteria

    Cons

    Senior leadership is lame and this company is lame Do yourself a solid and don't even entertain the idea of working here

    Advice to Management

    Have you ever wanted to wrap yourself up in tin foil and just hop into the microwave and blow yourself up? That's how I felt coming into work everyday

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-11-21
  4. "Product Engineering Intern"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing

    Pros

    -good pay -friendly work environment -REAL work as an intern -completely about bettering you as a future employee for their company. I was sent to many trainings and product awareness classes to help me become a more valuable employee for full time opportunities with them

    Cons

    -often long work days -sometimes there is some "intern" work you have to do

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-10-02
  5. "Inspection"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    Company is getting better now with new ownership

    Cons

    No opportunity for advancement as of yet.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-09-18
  6. "all"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Fort Wayne, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time

    Pros

    nooooonnnneeee..unless u call 6 month probationary period fair

    Cons

    if u r sick and call in u get fired .they r racist against african Americans..and to start u have a 6 month probationary period with no benefits

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-10-08
  7. "Engineering"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Engineer in Bluffton, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Work as many hours as you can

    Cons

    Insurance has a $7500 out of pocket deductible, $10,000 max, same cost as most 80/20 plans with max out of pocket of $3000

    Advice to Management

    Understand the business before more awuisitiobs

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-09-24
  8. "Operator"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Operator in Three Rivers, MI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Love my job there the employees great.

    Cons

    Management was not well lack of understanding and favorable certain employees

    Advice to Management

    Listen too ur workers happy workplace happy employees

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-08-15
  9. Helpful (2)

    "Isocore core maker"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Isocore Coremaker in New Castle, IN
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Axle & Manufacturing for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Pay good benefits vacation

    Cons

    Smell snitches everywhere hot long hours

    Advice to Management

    Instead of letting go hard workers for missed time in which the hours are made up require medical statements after certain point accruing. I was a hard worker produced excellent product no rejections was let go for missing work with hospital paperwork. Now you can't keep good hard workers

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-07-11
  10. Helpful (2)

    "Buyer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Axle & Manufacturing full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Giant global company leverage in automotive manufacturing if that is what one is interested in. Endless job opportunities if willing to relocate since there are 90 companies in the organization.

    Cons

    Too much division in rank. Pyramid is old school instead of progressive leading to not value associate contributions. It is the AAM top management way or no way. After 14 years of continuous service my job is now classified as a 'new hire'

    Advice to Management

    Quit looking at the acquisition of legacy companies as 'step children' that don't seem to fit in to the AAM regime. Value associates who made the companies what they are before your acquisition.

    American Axle & Manufacturing2018-07-25
Found 329 reviews