American Campus Communities Reviews | Glassdoor

American Campus Communities Reviews

Updated Jun 12, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 637 reviews

4.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
77%
Recommend to a Friend
96%
Approve of CEO
William C. Bayless Jr.
295 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Not enough staff to get through leasing season(in 35 reviews)

  • "Very low pay while requiring you to stay in a run down, small space(in 28 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "An absolute gem for developers"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Developer in Bee Cave, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Campus Communities full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Competitive compensation Freedom to innovate Management that understands and harnesses employee strengths Office culture and work-life balance is top-notch Executive team has a vision for the company that is exciting to be a part of

    Cons

    Haven't found anything yet and hope to be here for a long time.

    Advice to Management

    Without a doubt this is the best management team I've had the pleasure of working under. I'm allowed the freedom to conceptualize and implement new ideas and solutions in a way I've not experienced at other organizations. My only advice is to keep this awesome culture and innovative spirit!

    American Campus Communities2019-06-10
  2. "Great Company - Great Opportunities to Move Up"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Community Assistant in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Campus Communities part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Management Flexible Hours Discounted/Free Housing for Students

    Cons

    Tech is outdates Mandatory Commitment all of August

    American Campus Communities2019-06-12
  3. "Nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Former Employee - Maintenance Technician 

      I worked at American Campus Communities full-time

      Pros

      The students are fun to interact with

      Cons

      The pay doesn't match the work

      American Campus Communities2019-06-13
    • "Cool Company for College Student"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Current Employee - Community Assistant in Prairie View, TX

        I have been working at American Campus Communities part-time for more than 3 years

        Pros

        At the time we received free housing so that was a plus considering student housing is the most expensive thing at school

        Cons

        The pay wasn't enough at the time

        American Campus Communities2019-06-12
      • "CA"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I worked at American Campus Communities part-time

          Pros

          Great rent discount and fair pay

          Cons

          you have to work weekends

          American Campus Communities2019-05-27
        • "Ehhh"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Community Assistant in Tampa, FL
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at American Campus Communities part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          Its always convenient working where you live. Don't need to worry about gas or any travel expense. Rent discount is nice too.

          Cons

          Community assistants are definitely not paid enough. They are the backbone of the company and to only being making a little above minimum wage is ridiculous. If you are looking for a decent paying job, look elsewhere.

          American Campus Communities2019-06-08
        • "Decent work place horrib le pay"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Community Assistant 
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at American Campus Communities part-time for more than 3 years

          Pros

          Great for students. Good starter job. Short hours (19 minimum/ pay period). Discounted housing. Gain customer service experience. Early closing on weekends

          Cons

          Short hours--it is part-time and you CANNOT go over your hours excessively. Pay is not the best for the work required. Expected to be the face of the company without the recognition. Required to use your own personal resources. Slightly unorganized. Late closing throughout the week. On-call (for anything...i.e. lockouts, maintenance issues, internet problems, power issues...etc.)

          Advice to Management

          Root for your staff to do better and they will. Don't be hypocritical. Be more open with your staff.

          American Campus Communities2019-06-08
        • "Great"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Community Assistant in Philadelphia, PA
          Recommends
          Positive Outlook
          Approves of CEO

          I have been working at American Campus Communities full-time for less than a year

          Pros

          Great for starting as a college student

          Cons

          No work life balance for students sometimes

          American Campus Communities2019-05-22
        • "RA"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Former Employee - Resident Assistant in Corpus Christi, TX
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I worked at American Campus Communities part-time for more than a year

          Pros

          There was an okay wage.

          Cons

          They don’t care about anything, but leasing.

          Advice to Management

          Be more supportive.

          American Campus Communities2019-06-03
        • "Student Housing Industry"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - General Manager in San Marcos, TX
          Recommends
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at American Campus Communities full-time for more than 5 years

          Pros

          Great company culture, family like atmosphere

          Cons

          Upper management does not dig into employee performance unless the property is struggling with leasing which can cause major staff moral issues if a bad manager is present.

          American Campus Communities2019-06-02
        Found 637 reviews