American Cancer Society Reviews

Updated May 13, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
80%
Approve of CEO
American Cancer Society CEO Gary Reedy (no image)
Gary Reedy
432 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great mission, great workforce, great benefits(in 103 reviews)

  • "Great benefits, PTO and insurance(in 96 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "He lied and would throw us under the bus any chance he got and would be dishonest with volunteers which out us in a bind(in 123 reviews)

  • "work life balance was difficult(in 119 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of American Cancer Society and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Loved it!

      May 7, 2021 - Community Support Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Best onboarding experience, so much job support. Good people and office environment (pre covid). Meaningful work. Work life balance was beautiful. Had great bosses and colleagues. Networked and connections made were priceless. Allowed individuals to be who they are.

      Cons

      Had to pay for parking at downtown building. Difficult to find donations checks due to mailing processes. Year end reconciliation was grueling.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 3.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Some Good, Some Bad

      Mar 10, 2021 - Community Development Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      My manager was very supportive and patient with me as I learned the ropes. With a role like Community Development, it came take a year to really start to feel like you understand the role plus get to know your volunteers. I started in January 2020 and thought the training process was fantastic. I only had a couple months in the office before going remote but the switch to remote was relatively easy.

      Cons

      Like many organizations, we went through 2 periods of lay offs. I was initially laid off in June but hired back within 2 weeks. The second period of lay offs, we were notified before Thanksgiving they would be happening and who it would be. Being let go right before the holidays was incredibly stressful because the timing and the money situation. Additionally, the time frame made it harder to interview with other companies because so many are out of office during that time. Although I was repeatedly told it wasn't my performance, now that I keep seeing similar roles from ACS they are hiring for in my area and have to wonder if they cut people too soon.

      Continue reading
      4 people found this review helpful
    3. 4.0
      Current Employee, less than 1 year

      Wonderful mission and great onboarding

      May 13, 2021 - Senior Manager 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Feel like the company is highly invested in its employees. Month-long onboarding program that includes great training, information, and assistance for job performance.

      Cons

      There's still so much to learn.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 4.0
      Current Employee

      It's a great place to work with a great mission.

      May 11, 2021 - Director of Integrated Marketing in Birmingham, AL
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      It's a great mission to support.

      Cons

      There is a lot of change.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 4.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Organization that is mission driven and full of great people

      Apr 29, 2021 - Director of Marketing 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The staff at the American Cancer Society are comprised of great colleagues truly committed to the mission of saving lives from cancer. It's a friendly work environment and emphasizes a solid work/life balance.

      Cons

      Some of the transition over the past year due to the pandemic has put a strain on resources and roles at the organization.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Former Employee, more than 1 year

      Amazing experience

      Apr 25, 2021 - Spanish Cancer Support - Bilingual in Las Vegas, NV
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Work like balance, the people you work with and for genuinely care, a job that can be hard at times when speaking with patients, but rewarding at the end of the day

      Cons

      75 hour work week, if 80, then it would be perfect

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 5.0
      Former Employee

      American Cancer Society

      May 3, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great work environment, everyone is so friendly

      Cons

      A lot of work for low pay, long hours,

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    8. 5.0
      Former Employee, less than 1 year

      Great people and work environment

      Apr 22, 2021 - Coordinator in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      They are dedicated to your growth and provide multiple opportunities for you to learn new skills. The mission is awesome and the employees truly enjoy making a difference. Benefits and pay were decent for entry level employees.

      Cons

      I can't think of any cons.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    9. 3.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Too many high level positions

      May 11, 2021 - Manager in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Great opportunity to volunteer and give back to the community.

      Cons

      Top heavy, too many high level roles and too many competing priorities. Rollercoaster of break fix and releases never stop.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Former Employee

      A Great Organization

      Apr 1, 2021 - IT Help Desk Technician in Indianapolis, IN
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      I worked for them over 41 years before they eliminated my position. The ACS is a great organization and one I was proud to be a part of for so long. I strongly recommend them to anyone.

      Cons

      They have suffered this year due to Covid-19. It has been a very difficult fundraising year for them, so I hold no ill will toward them for eliminating my IT Service Desk position. I didn't like it, but I understood it. I wish them well in the future.

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 1,491 Reviews

    Popular Careers with American Cancer Society Job Seekers

    Community Development Manager
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Coordinator, Community Support
    Learn About the Job
    Community Manager - Development
    Learn About the Job
    Senior Manager, Community Development
    Learn About the Job

    Work at American Cancer Society? Share Your Experiences

    or