American Cancer Society Reviews

Updated May 21, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.2
48%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
American Cancer Society CEO Gary Reedy (no image)
Gary Reedy
362 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and time off policies(in 85 reviews)

  • "This is a company dedicated to their cause and who has a healthy work/life balance(in 83 reviews)

Cons
  • "Volunteers can make or break your events regardless of the staff's leadership skill(in 122 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance was challenging(in 114 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Talent Strategy (Human Resources)"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Williamsburg, VA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Cancer Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The people working here are wonderful. The employees really care and want to make a difference. Leadership really cares and always looking for ways to improve, and also very transparent.

    Cons

    I don't think there are any cons, I really love working here.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2018-06-20
  2. "Great organization"

    5.0
    Former Employee - Senior Manager 

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time

    Pros

    Camaraderie, strong mission, wonderful volunteers

    Cons

    Long work hours and lack of work/life balance

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2020-05-19
  3. "Strategic Sourcing Manager Position"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Strategic Sourcing Manager in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Friendly, supportive and encouraging team members and leadership willing to train and coach. Excellent work-life balance, flexible work hours and location.

    Cons

    ACS has to downsize every time a financial downturn is happening. We had 7 staff reduction waves during the last 9 years.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2020-05-19
  4. "A great place to work!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Media Advocacy Manager in Boise, ID
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, A great place to work and grow in your profession, Great Benefits and PTO

    Cons

    Many people all over the Country. You probably will not work with people in close proximity.

    American Cancer Society2020-05-18
  5. "Solid Mission with Good goals,"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Community Development Manager in Los Angeles, CA
    Recommends

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible work environment and Competitive benefits

    Cons

    Aggressive fundraising goals, top heavy with management.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2020-05-12
  6. "Uncaring leadership"

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Business Analyst in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Paid holidays and time off, very flexible schedule

    Cons

    Lack of appreciation for your input, the overall culture of staff being warm bodies who are replaceable, and without great worth.

    American Cancer Society2020-05-21
  7. "Connecting businesses with other businesses"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    good community engagement with staff

    Cons

    frequent lay offs, lots of travel

    American Cancer Society2020-05-17
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Great Cause"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Cancer Society full-time

    Pros

    Great cause to fight cancer, some really fantastic people to work with, flexible work arrangements

    Cons

    Leadership direction doesn't make sense, disorganized and unaligned at times, too much struggle for credit

    American Cancer Society2020-05-11
  9. "Excellent Company"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Grassroots Manager in Cody, WY
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great benefits, wonderful colleagues, good work life balance

    Cons

    Lower salary than contemporary colleagues

    American Cancer Society2020-04-28
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Good benefits, bad pay"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Benefits package & helping cancer patients

    Cons

    Horrible pay, micro management, no opportunity to move up

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2020-05-02
Found 1299 reviews