KEY NOT FOUND: coverImgAlt
Logo

American Cancer Society

Is this your company?

American Cancer Society

Add a Review

American Cancer Society Community Manager, Relay for Life Reviews

Updated Aug 17, 2021

To filter reviews, or .

Found 20 of over 1,711 reviews

2.2
8%
Recommend to a Friend
0%
Approve of CEO
American Cancer Society CEO Karen E. Knudsen
Karen E. Knudsen
1 Rating

Ratings by Demographics

This rating reflects the overall rating of American Cancer Society and is not affected by filters.

Want more demographic options?
  1. 5.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Loved working for ACS as Relay For Life Community Manager

    Aug 25, 2015 - Community Manager of Relay for Life in Burbank, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    -Worked with many volunteers -Only had to be in the office one day a week -No matter how hard things may be/ how difficult the job was that day, you know you are doing something good that is helping others

    Cons

    -Volunteers being very passionate which sometimes resulted in them butting heads.

    2 people found this review helpful
  2. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 1 year

    Great mission, Poor Leadership

    Aug 17, 2021 - Community Manager, Relay for Life in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Meeting the cancer survivors and their families, knowing that you are truly people in need, a chance to understand your community better.

    Cons

    My office had no leadership. My boss played favorites and did not give us any direction on what we had to do. I was left to fend for myself and had little understanding of how to recruit people to be part of Relay For Life.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  3. 2.0
    Former Employee, more than 3 years

    Relay For Life: Wonderful mission, subpar employer

    May 10, 2016 - Relay for Life Community Manager in San Diego, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Well defined and deliverable mission to help those fighting cancer. Plenty of training and opportunities to develop skills. Well know and respected company whose name helps open doors. National programs provide a variety of tools, resources and support.

    Cons

    50-70 hour weeks, late nights and no work/life balance. Employees are treated as numbers on a spreadsheet and replaceable. High turn over and burn out. Management is resistant to change and self-insulated. Volunteers are always asked to give more, regardless of their ability to do so. Appreciation and recognition are minimal. Very limited opportunity for promotion. No internal transfers. This is a sales position, but not marketed as such.

    Continue reading
    11 people found this review helpful
  4. 1.0
    Former Employee, more than 5 years

    Lofty and Impossible Fundraising Goals

    Jun 19, 2017 - Community Manager, Relay for Life in Detroit, MI
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Autonomy. Generous time off.

    Cons

    Fundraising on a steady decline. Every region for Relay For Life is operating in the red for fundraising goals, yet they continue to raise the amount required for each event to raise. Working 50 - 85 hours a week during peak season of Relay. Little to no management help. Too many hands in the pot planning an event - including logistics (tents, porta pottys, etc) and then not getting it right. Not finding the best deals and over spending. The ratio of management to fundraisers on the ground generating funds is 6 - 1. Constant state of reorganizing now called Fit For Purpose (also known as transformation and various other names over the last 5 years). No effort in marketing department to create relevance and reason for support. Constant IT problems for people to join our events and raise money.

    Continue reading
    10 people found this review helpful
  5. 2.0
    Former Employee

    Life Altering and All consuming.

    Jan 22, 2011 - Community Representative Relay for Life 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    This company does great things for people that are experiencing the worst times of their life. the money raised really does go for excellent causes and I was proud to be a member of that.

    Cons

    I worked out of the Birmingham, AL office. Offices were at home. We were hired with the ability to leave and get our children from school,I wasz tiold to spend three days in the field and two in the office to calculate money and return emails and phone calls but by the time I ended my employment we were told that we were unable to do that anymore and that we were to work out of our offices all day Monday through Friday and our office work was to be done on nights and weekends. We were specifically told that they would consider this our "volunteer" time for the American Cancer Society. When I calculated my work hours and pay, it averaged at $4.18/hour!!!!! I love the American Cancer Society, but it was not worth the time away from those I love and losing my self in my job.

    Continue reading
    Be the first to find this review helpful
  6. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Community Manager, Relay For Life

    May 29, 2017 - Relay for Life Community Manager in San Jose, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great mission of the organization. Working with dedicated volunteers makes up for some of the cons. Truly care about where the donor dollar goes.

    Cons

    The company is currently going through some changes and is consolidating positions, which means more work for fewer people. Work life balance is non existent. Lots of micromanagement.

    Continue reading
    7 people found this review helpful
  7. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 1 year

    Frustrating.

    Apr 4, 2015 - Community Manager, Relay for Life 
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Mission, ability to set your own hours (to some degree), pay.

    Cons

    High turnover, upper management focuses too much on YOY data and not situational response. Training and communication are not systematic, a lot of it seems to come at random. It feels like the organization is constantly trying to catch up and that you are always one step behind. Your experience is heavily reliant on your manager, their experience and the environment they foster.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  8. 3.0
    Former Employee

    Community Manager

    Dec 18, 2015 - Community Manager Relay for Life in West Oakland, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Great Benefits, flexibility. Good mission that resonates within the community. Really commited and passionate volunteers .

    Cons

    Due to to reorganiztion selection process many valued and experienced staff lost their jobs, empowerment on the community manager level taken away as well for volunteers. New mid level to top level management truly not learned in job responosbilities. Overall income down over 25%. High level turnover due to upper level management.

    Continue reading
    4 people found this review helpful
  9. 4.0
    Current Employee, less than 1 year

    Community Manager, Relay For Life

    Feb 17, 2016 - Community Manager, Relay for Life in Santa Ana, CA
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Wonderful cause, donations are used wisely, the volunteers that we work with are passionate and very hard working- they are the highlight of working for ACS

    Cons

    Employee moral is low in general. There is not enough put into employee growth and development. Internal promotion rates are low in California.

    8 people found this review helpful
  10. 3.0
    Current Employee, more than 3 years

    Community Manager Relay For Life

    Nov 12, 2015 - Community Manager, Relay for Life in Champaign, IL
    Recommend
    CEO Approval
    Business Outlook

    Pros

    Awesome benefits Lots of PTO Some flexibility with work schedule if manager approves Amazing volunteers to work with

    Cons

    Long work hours/over worked Huge work load Lack of appreciation Lack of training No work/life balance No consistency within senior leadership team

    Continue reading
    5 people found this review helpful
Viewing 1 - 10 of 20 Reviews

Popular Careers with American Cancer Society Job Seekers

JobsSalariesInterviews

Work at American Cancer Society? Share Your Experiences

or