American Cancer Society "volunteers" Reviews | Glassdoor

American Cancer Society Employee Reviews about "volunteers"

Updated Jan 9, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
44%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
American Cancer Society CEO Gary Reedy (no image)
Gary Reedy
382 Ratings
Pros
  • "Great benefits and time off policies(in 84 reviews)

  • "Great mission with multiple programs to target different people(in 82 reviews)

Cons
  • "Volunteers can make or break your events regardless of the staff's leadership skill(in 122 reviews)

  • "Work/life balance was challenging(in 114 reviews)

More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "volunteers"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Fulfilling to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I have been working at American Cancer Society part-time

    Pros

    Very fulfilling working for an organization so instrumental in cancer research and patient programs

    Cons

    Sometimes difficult to recruit volunteers

    American Cancer Society2017-04-25
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Really lack care for patients and mission programs- only about the income"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Coordinator, Sales and Marketing 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The volunteers are the best

    Cons

    - doesn't care about the mission, when income is down the mission programs is the first to get the cut and that hurts the patients - lack of listening to their staff and volunteer needs - leadership ONLY cares about income/fundraising not the patients who need help, not the staff or the volunteers- they burn people out in getting the funds but lack care of those trying to fund raise - they don't promote within much - They are very behind on times- RFL worked well years ago but will not modify it today times to meet the attendee appeal but then blame the volunteers and staff for the event not doing well Honestly, the biggest let down is the lack of care for patients and mission programs. After over 5 years of working at ACS, it hurt the lack of human care for those going through cancer and their families. I could get by with the lack of their employee care for awhile but the lack of those in need eventually pushed me over to leave.

    American Cancer Society2020-01-09
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Culture change is necessary and in progress"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Director Level 
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Amazing mission - we save lives! Our volunteer leadership members are some of the most passionate people you will ever meet. Staff team and management are genuinely good people New cultural beliefs are encouraging Investment in marketing and media is a good thing Leadership seems to be focused on the right things Focus on innovation is needed and positive

    Cons

    Unbelievable staff turnover at the "on the ground" fundraising level Non-competitive salary at this same "on the ground" level Volunteers are getting tired, and older, and no real strategy to engage the next gen. Silos and verticals continue to impede communication and collaboration - even after multiple re-organizations New CRM system rollout has been painful Goal setting process is absurd

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2019-09-12
  4. Helpful (4)

    "Strong Mission & Major Stresses"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The mission is incredible; strong and clear stewards of where revenue goes and why; flexible schedules; great paid time off; freedom to be creative in your fundraising ideas/methods

    Cons

    High revenue goals; poor mid and upper management; yearly staff lay-offs and high turnover; typically working 40+ hrs a week so you need to be responsible for your own work/life balance boundaries; overwhelming lack of trust in leadership across the board; within most markets you’ll have a lot of trouble engaging the community due to staff turnover, poor longevity planning, and upset volunteers; Mid-level managers are solely responsible for managing staff, not fundraising

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2019-08-16
  5. Helpful (15)

    "Senior Manager Community Development"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great mission, work flexibility, decent health benefits, generous PTO and retirement if you are able to hang in long enough to receive it.

    Cons

    The organization is constantly in "reorganization" mode. They created fancy titles like "Transformation", and "Fit for Purpose" and laid off staff who were experienced and dedicated to the mission. The constant turnover of staff created chaos , confusion and lack of trust for volunteers, potential donors and the community at-large.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2018-12-09
  6. Helpful (6)

    "Potential is Victim to Self-Preservation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Fundraising in Atlanta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Good benefits. Important research. Caring staff in mission delivery.

    Cons

    Fundraising events are based on whim. Reliance on volunteers to perform leadership and administrative tasks eliminates any potential for a strong internal professional staff to pull off these multimillion dollar events/goals. Staff are expected to be experts in everything from social media strategy to website development to volunteer recruitment and management to conflict resolution to contract negotiations. Above field staff, there are layers and layers of “advice givers” who are quick to put pressure on overworked and underpaid field staff without getting involved at all. Numbers games. Sadly, the good work of the research and mission delivery teams are dependent on fundraising and fundraising refuses to professionalize its process or create an infrastructure. Not pleasant. Most jump ship.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2018-09-16
  7. Helpful (10)

    "Was a great place to work at one point"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Various Roles in Austin, TX
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    -Great benefits -Great time off -Attracts people who care about the mission -Made some great friends

    Cons

    -Mismanagement throughout the years resulted in lots of layoffs (mine included) -New "regime" is trying their best (I believe) but had to make more cuts because of the issues during the previous "regime" -Lots of pressure on event staff to meet their income goals -Remaining staff having to work with the resources they have which may be outdated technology and disgruntled employees/volunteers (disgruntled because of the changes and layoffs)

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2018-05-11
  8. Helpful (9)

    "Massive lay offs in past 2 years"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Cancer Society full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    While the mission is great and there have been amazing employees working there through the years ( see below for 'Cons')

    Cons

    Unfortunately, due to severe mis-management throughout the years, the American Cancer Society needs to go through lay-offs and re-structuring every few years. In 2016 & 2017 alone almost 2000 employees were laid off, most of them doing very well/ excellent in their positions. In 2013 there was another massive lay-off / downsizing, and in 2008 - 2009 another. The skeleton crew that is left cannot highly function as they are spread too thinly (in all verticals, not only mission, but also in community outreach and development). The new people that are hired are hired at a lower pay scale than those who have left the organization, plus the newcomers do not have an appreciation of the history of the organization; thus many of the high level volunteers have left the organization as well, which further contributes to lack of success in events (i.e. Relay for Life, etc.) Contacts and relationships established with community partners in all realms (corporations, smaller/larger companies, community organizations, foundations, hospitals, clinics, etc.) are all wondering why their contacts at the American Cancer Society disappear every few years and they have to re-start a new relationship with someone brand new, who doesn't know the ropes and this often leads to severing the relationship altogether as the initial rapport has evaporated.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2018-05-04
  9. Helpful (8)

    "Worst Non-Profit Environment"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Cancer Society full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Generous PTO (by US Standards) and generous benefits Although this only applied if you are not a contract employee

    Cons

    I was hired as a contract employee for close to a year. Senior management kept extending my contract month by month, long after they were scheduled to hire me on. I had great reviews from my managers and team but they wanted to continue stringing me along. To make matters worse, I realized only later that their contract stipulated that I had to pay them BACK a portion of my salary if I chose to leave my contract. From my own experience, as well as what I observed my co-workers go though, ACS is very unethical and a very oppressive place to work. The strain and hardship that they put their fundraisers under leads to a lot of mistakes. I watched every one of my co-workers get sick over and over again because of how over worked they were. I watched them misplace money because they were so tired. I watched one fall asleep at the wheel while driving volunteers home from an event. And if you ask for higher pay or time off or try to leave, get ready for the guilt trips about how your work is helping cancer patients. Meanwhile senior leadership makes a hefty salary and leave work early every day.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2018-05-30
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Community Development Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Atlanta, GA
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at American Cancer Society full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good flexibility with work life balance and you get to work with passionate people who truly believe in the mission of ACS.

    Cons

    Volunteers can make or break your events regardless of the staff's leadership skill. There is no ability to take control of your own event as everything must be run by and approved by your volunteers. The fundraising model of ACS is very outdated for today's society and they are slow to make changes.

    Continue reading
    American Cancer Society2018-04-24

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 122 reviews