American Diabetes Association Reviews | Glassdoor

American Diabetes Association Reviews

Updated Jun 13, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 256 reviews

2.3
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
28%
Recommend to a Friend
65%
Approve of CEO
American Diabetes Association CEO Tracey D. Brown
Tracey D. Brown
15 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Some employees are great at being at ADA a long time by kissing up rather than being held accountable(in 25 reviews)

  • "Employees work very hard and kept busy, which is not unusual in non-profit world(in 16 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Fight for People Who are Living with Diao"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Director in Arlington, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Diabetes Association full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    -Focused Strategy -Experienced Business Organization Executive Leadership -Mission Driven (not just lip service like in the past) -Eliminating Waste, Data Driven Decisions, Fiscally Responsible -New Talent

    Cons

    -Institutionalization Employees are damaged mentally - Tenured Employee are angry, non thinkers who were allowed to outsource their jobs at the expense of the person living with diabetes

    Advice to Management

    Lead us into the future, we need more forward thinkers, instill accountablitity and an environmental that curates integrity, excellence and growth.

    American Diabetes Association2019-03-16
  2. Helpful (2)

    "Great Organization"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Diabetes Association full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Cool people to work with, in certain departments. The mission to help people with Diabetes is amazing and gives us incentive to work hard.

    Cons

    Leadership changes. Hire too many executives”. No raises and no merit (cost of living) increases for long term employees.

    Advice to Management

    Give your employees that have worked at the ADA for over 5 years a raise or merit increase .

    American Diabetes Association2019-06-13
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Always a revolving door"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Associate 

    I worked at American Diabetes Association full-time

    Pros

    the mission and everyone is focused on finding that cure

    Cons

    every time a new administration joins ADA, a new set of rules and management style changes and everything is always on fire and time to fix, change and review everything that is done

    American Diabetes Association2019-05-13
  4. Helpful (3)

    "Unstable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Diabetes Association full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Mission Great Co-Workers! (Some of THE best people) Great home/work balance Schedule Flexibility

    Cons

    Pay Slow Paced a lot of the time Senior Management

    Advice to Management

    My last straw was a Town Hall Meeting where we were told to go back to our office and our Manager would let us know if we still had a job.

    American Diabetes Association2019-05-27
  5. Helpful (4)

    "Nope"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I have been working at American Diabetes Association

      Pros

      Connected for Life is a great concept.

      Cons

      What the hell? Things have gone from bad to worse around this place. The micromanaging is unreal - and it is done with bullying and fear tactics. We have no mission to deliver right now and people are suffering for it. Staff turnover is out of control and so many good employees are being held to higher goals with less resources and manpower. It’s so unrealistic. People continue to leave.

      Advice to Management

      Stop. Take a breath and TRUST your people. Start to communicate value to employees and devote some real effort to fill seats to reach goals in the field. Hire more hiring managers!

      American Diabetes Association2019-03-27
    • Helpful (5)

      "Culture of Confusing"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Neutral Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Diabetes Association full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Flexibility, PTO, benefits , and volunteers

      Cons

      No room for growth unless you hold a national position

      American Diabetes Association2019-01-26
    • Helpful (7)

      "Great mission, frustrating employer"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Director in Washington, DC
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Diabetes Association full-time for more than 5 years

      Pros

      Feel like you are helping people with diabetes

      Cons

      Years with no raises given

      Advice to Management

      Don't bring in cronies. Don't play favorites. Be more transparent.

      American Diabetes Association2019-01-30
    • Helpful (5)

      "High degree of bad leadership"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at American Diabetes Association

      Pros

      Vacation time and good office location

      Cons

      Too many leaders don't have the skills to do their job, no less manage others. Some employees are great at being at ADA a long time by kissing up rather than being held accountable. Then others have to do their job while they are busy being a "yes" person. No raises, no development, all you hear is budget, budget, budget. A lot of people who get results are leaving.

      Advice to Management

      Look at who is really doing the job. Stop pacifying the ones who don't deliver results.

      American Diabetes Association2019-01-31
    • Helpful (6)

      "Eh"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Positive Outlook
      Approves of CEO

      I have been working at American Diabetes Association full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      ADA has a great mission and I see a lot of passion in some employees. There are a lot of hard working employees.

      Cons

      There are some people that I wonder what they do all day. Managers like to delegate and have no clue what goes on in their depts.

      Advice to Management

      Talk to all employees within the dept. Start from the bottom up. Start with the employees that have been there the longest.

      American Diabetes Association2019-01-26
    • Helpful (8)

      "From bad to worse"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Manager 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at American Diabetes Association full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      - Flexible work from home policies

      Cons

      - Salaries are not competitive and raises (even small cost of living adjustments) do not happen. Ever. - Any form of staff appreciation is extremely rare. - Retirement takes too long to be vested and PTO accrual doesn't increase, leading to no increase in total compensation to make up for stagnant pay. - Upper management (non-executive) is in place largely because they stuck around the longest, not because they...

      Show More
      American Diabetes Association2019-01-31
    Found 256 reviews