American Eldercare Reviews | Glassdoor

American Eldercare Reviews

Updated May 9, 2016

To filter reviews, or .

Found 16 reviews

2.0
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
24%
Recommend to a Friend
36%
Approve of CEO
American Eldercare CEO Robert Schemel  (no image)
Robert Schemel
11 Ratings
  1. "Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Care Manager in Fort Myers, FL

    I have been working at American Eldercare full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Helpful Managers, staff works well as a team, nice office, decent paid time off, helping elderly people

    Cons

    Computers and programs don't work all the time, corporate management, conflicting priorities, overwhelming job duties at times

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your local office staff. They have good ideas and want to do a good job. Give them tools that work to do their job.

    American Eldercare2015-05-20
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Awful Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Eldercare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Decent pay for the job and very good benefits

    Cons

    Awful Management. Managers treat employees horrible and do not appreciate good employees

    American Eldercare2016-05-10
  3. "Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Care Manager in Dunedin, FL
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Eldercare for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Co workers and supervisors were the best.

    Cons

    It was sold to Humana as the Medicaid Reform came into place. The office grew from a group of 10 to about 40 people. The company did not seem to be organized or ready for such a change.

    Advice to Management

    consider well the good employees they have.

    American Eldercare2016-02-03
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Great Work Culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Eldercare

    Pros

    Great work culture. Staff and departments worked well to accomplish various tasks.

    Cons

    Once acquired, the work culture changed dramatically.

    Advice to Management

    Consult with more than just the business minded decision makers when it comes to being acquired. Get the employees perspective, receive their input and get them involved in the process.

    American Eldercare2016-01-24
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Overworked and low pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clinical Guidance Case Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Eldercare

    Pros

    The only thing I can think of is EXPERIENCE.

    Cons

    Workers are overworked and paid too low. Pay is not the same across the board. Spanish speakers get paid less.

    Advice to Management

    raise pay and less work

    American Eldercare2016-02-11
  6. "Supervisor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Orlando, FL
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Eldercare for more than a year

    Pros

    Family like working environment. Very good working atmosphere. Everyone got along for the most part. There were a few personality conflicts which would be expected in an office that size.

    Cons

    Unrealistic expectations/workloads placed on care managers

    American Eldercare2016-01-06
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Care Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Case Manager in Orlando, FL

    I worked at American Eldercare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good Benefits. The job itself is great.

    Cons

    Micromanaging idiots who are supervisors. Too many tasks for the care managers. Specialists needed to reduce the workload.

    Advice to Management

    Quit.

    American Eldercare2015-11-23
  8. Helpful (1)

    "BEWARE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Office Coordinator in Tampa, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Eldercare

    Pros

    No pros that I can even think of.

    Cons

    Management treats their staff members horribly and also tries to pit staff members against each other.

    Advice to Management

    Stop micro managing and do properly supervise your employees. How about treating you staff members with the proper respect they so do deserve.

    American Eldercare2015-11-24
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Learn about managing"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Care Manager in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Eldercare

    Pros

    Great co workers and good team work.

    Cons

    Management was the worst, they were not team players, they micro manage and were not available .

    American Eldercare2015-11-11
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Miserable management, bitter employees, physically and mentally draining, extreme burn-out like I have never experienced"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Care Manager Supervisor 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Eldercare full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    There are none at this point, I am only there until I can find another job with (hopefully) comparable pay.

    Cons

    management extreme overtime high demands no life outside of work micro-managed to the extreme

    Advice to Management

    You will continue to lose your best employees over and over again unless the ideals of the company change and become more realistic.

    American Eldercare2015-02-16
Found 16 reviews