American Equity Reviews | Glassdoor

American Equity Reviews

Updated Apr 25, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 23 reviews

2.9
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
46%
Recommend to a Friend
67%
Approve of CEO
John M. Matovina
6 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Loosening Conservative culture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Full Time Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Equity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Some perks include half day Fridays, flexible arrival/departure, semicasual dress, fun events, and witty security guards. Pay is better than competitive for the salaried people I've talked with.

    Cons

    Hourly people get dinged by the 37.5 hour workweek, the breakroom food is hit or miss, and you will gain 10-20 pounds working here.

    Continue reading
    American Equity2018-05-29
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Huge Culture Shift - for the worse!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Equity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Outstanding benefit package and great compensation

    Cons

    Narcissistic newer bosses ruined culture!

    Continue reading
    American Equity2019-04-25
  3. Helpful (1)

    "American Equity worst employer in Iowa"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Analyst in West Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Equity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Early dismissal on Friday, leave office at 1PM

    Cons

    This is a highly unprofessional organization.

    Continue reading
    American Equity2019-04-24
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Annuity service rep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Equity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    good benefits, managers tried for good morale

    Cons

    high turn over, very old fashioned, not a great work environment

    Continue reading
    American Equity2019-01-11
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Falling fast"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Equity full-time

    Pros

    Benefits offered are second to none.

    Cons

    Since the passing of the founder and his right hand retired, the company is failing fast. The founders mission, vision and value of: “It’s not about the building, it’s not about the charter, it’s about the people” unfortunately is quickly eroding and the company is becoming another numbers only company. So sad to see such a successful company lose everything that set it aside from all others.

    Continue reading
    American Equity2018-12-10
  6. "AVP, Commerical Mortgage"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Equity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Nimble company due to execute management philosophies

    Cons

    Company is dealing with growing pains.

    Continue reading
    American Equity2018-05-31
  7. "Mail Center Service Center"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mail Center Service Center in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Equity full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    They treat you like family

    Cons

    They need to take you serious

    Continue reading
    American Equity2017-11-28
  8. "Service Technician"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Service Technician 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Equity full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great culture, tons of benefits, appreciated and valued.

    Cons

    Since employees are treated so well, they can become almost spoiled and take advantage of the company's generosity. Internally fill open positions (good for existing employees, hard to get in new talent)

    Continue reading
    American Equity2017-09-08
  9. Helpful (3)

    "Just awful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Service Technician in West Des Moines, IA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Equity full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Off at 1 on Fridays.

    Cons

    Awful, awful place to work. I love how they always used to talk about "culture" and how that their biggest concern is their employees happiness. Give me a break. If you want to be micro managed and work in a call center doing customer service for your entire life due to no upward mobility and managers that go out of their way to keep you in your role, boy is this the place for you. I really feel bad for the people that are just getting out of college and hoping to start a long career with a great company, because you won't get that here. STAY AWAY. I was naïve and I wish I would have done my homework before accepting a job right out of college with this terrible company. I hope this review finds you before you accept any job here. Thank goodness I got out when I did and am now happily employed at a much better company that treats me like a valued team member.

    Continue reading
    American Equity2017-08-31
  10. "Director"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in West Des Moines, IA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Equity full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    This is a company that truly cares about its employees. It isn't just words but consistently shown by actions. Provides promotion from within. Best most humble CEO.

    Cons

    That all employees don't always appreciate the great company they work for. Employees can have entitlement attitude trim time to time rather than appreciative attitude.

    Continue reading
    American Equity2017-04-22
Found 23 reviews