American Family Insurance Reviews

Updated May 28, 2020

To filter reviews, or .
3.6
71%
Recommend to a Friend
74%
Approve of CEO
American Family Insurance President & CEO Jack Salzwedel
Jack Salzwedel
408 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "Terrible leadership, No trust from upper management(in 35 reviews)

  • "Low pay, no benefits when working at an agents office(in 30 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "take great care of their employees"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Representative in Saint Joseph, MO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    top concern was to give customers a good experience

    Cons

    insurance field isn't for everyone

    American Family Insurance2020-04-06
  2. "Give it a try - where dreams come true!!!"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Specialist in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    engaging culture, supportive managers, focus on learning and development, community focus

    Cons

    can't think of any right now

    American Family Insurance2020-03-05
  3. "I love this company, would love to work for them. Everyone is very nice and helpful at the Gardnerville office."

    5.0
    Former Employee - Customer Service 

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Very friendly office, professional, it's even a short drive from my home, no reasons why I wouldn't like the sound of it.

    Cons

    Can't think of any at all.

    American Family Insurance2020-05-25
  4. "All good"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Information Security Analyst 

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time

    Pros

    Love this place great atmosphere

    Cons

    None that I can think of

    American Family Insurance2020-05-21
  5. "Casualty claims manager"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Casualty Claims Manager 

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Company to work for

    Cons

    No cons at this time

    American Family Insurance2020-05-19
  6. "Good benefits - inconsistent"

    4.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Property Claims Adjuster in Eden Prairie, MN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great benefits: PTO, health insurance, pension, annual bonus Relaxed atmosphere: casual dress, flexible hours, generally good team atmospheres

    Cons

    I've been in two different departments and three different teams and management is inconsistent. Concerns are usually brought to upper managers and nothing gets done. Lots of virtue signaling from corporate

    American Family Insurance2020-05-14
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Seem to Strive to Keep Employees Slightly Overworked"

    3.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Investigation Claims Adjuster in Phoenix, AZ
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Most people are good, honest, hard working employees and are fun to work with. Ability to work from home. Competitive pay. There are opportunities to move into different areas of the company.

    Cons

    Upper management always seems to claim they are overstaffed. The employee lives and dies based on quality assurance reviews. Some things the employee's performance is based on are out of the employee's control. You may find yourself trying to satisfy the demands of the quality assurance department over ensuring a positive customer experience.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-05-23
  8. "Great Company"

    5.0
    Current Employee - Office Administrator 

    I have been working at American Family Insurance part-time

    Pros

    Good company to work, care about their employees

    Cons

    Not much room for growth

    American Family Insurance2020-05-06
  9. Helpful (2)

    "One of the worst experiences I have ever encountered in my professional life."

    2.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative I in Madison, WI
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    The majority of people that work here are great. It's surprising, considering how garbage the company actually is.

    Cons

    Virtually everything about the company and management.

    Continue reading
    American Family Insurance2020-05-18
  10. "Nice place"

    5.0
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Data Scientist in Madison, WI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Family Insurance full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    flex time, projects centered around being useful to the customer instead of profit

    Cons

    corporate structure impedes computer use instead of enabling it, projects centered around being useful to the customer instead of profit

    American Family Insurance2020-05-05
Found 961 reviews