American Fidelity Assurance Company Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

American Fidelity Assurance Company Account Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
66%
Recommend to a Friend
100%
Approve of CEO
American Fidelity Assurance Company EVP, President and COO  Jeanette Rice
Jeanette Rice
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful place to grow a career!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in South Bend, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Base salary Company vehicle Great colleagues Professional growth No out of pocket expense No cold calling

    Cons

    Travel is part of the position, however it is communicated well.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  2. Helpful (1)

    "Don't miss this opportunity!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Senior Account Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Great Sales Potential, Bonuses, Benefits, and a Company Car

    Cons

    Traveling and hotel stays, but that's all paid for including per diems.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  3. "A Different Opinion"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Saginaw, MI
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Long Term employment, Family Oriented, Both service and product sales. Flexible, Great Benefits, amazing training tools, corporate support.

    Cons

    Transitioning to a new position

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Great place to be, if you’re given opportunities."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    My peers were some of the best people I’ve had the opportunity to work with.

    Cons

    The presentation to the sales team is that a level playing field exists, and it doesn’t take long for you to realize that this is not the case. Sales quotas increase, and opportunities stay level or decrease depending on who the managers are close with.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-07-02

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    July 2, 2019Talent Management Team

    We hope that you shared your concerns about your leadership during your exit interview. As a Company, our vision has always been to provide supplemental benefits products to help people protect their finances and save for medical expenses and retirement. Our sales team is focused on providing the right solutions for solutions for each individual Customer and policyholder. Our brand philosophy is to make it easy for our Customers to do business with us and give them a different opinion by focusing on what matters most to them.

    Continue reading
  5. "Hard to beat the benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Flexible schedule, meet a lot of great people.

    Cons

    A lot of TRAVEL. Be prepared to spend numerous nights away from your family.

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-20
  6. Helpful (1)

    "Fort Wayne Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Fort Wayne, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time

    Pros

    I work for an amazing, family owned company! It is a great career where I am valued and get the opportunity to help school employees every day with our products and services. I am focused on making the school district's life easier through our technology and services. The career requires a commitment to serve others and work hard. The commitment leads to a fantastic career that enables me to provide for myself and my family.

    Cons

    The overnight travel can be tough at times, but it is worth it.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2018-11-06
  7. "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in South Bend, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Hands down this is the best place I’ve ever worked. I work in the school market and love helping people with our products. If you have a strong work ethic and provide great customer service, you will retire here. Love everything about this place!

    Cons

    Some days are long especially in our busiest season.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2018-11-05
  8. Helpful (1)

    "It is what you make of it..."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great people to work with. Company car, cell phone allowance, bonuses for obtaining your licenses even if you already have them, Amex expense card and gas card. AF does care about its employees. Working with school districts means you work more of a teachers schedule. When they are not in session that means you have a lot of down time/family time. Jan-Mar and June-July tend to be the slower months. You will need to be proactive and work your accounts to create opportunities in those months. The fall is extremely busy which is where most of your opportunities for commission will occur. March starts to pick up and should stay busy through May for open enrollments. Those who say there are poor or bad accounts are the ones who expect things to be given to them. You will get out what you put into it. You will succeed or fail by your own efforts. Take advantage of every opportunity even the so called bad accounts, build the relationships with the employees while you are there and don't accept mediocre and you will succeed as long as you are doing whats in the best interest for the client. This can be a very rewarding career for the person with the willingness, desire , drive and mentality to succeed.

    Cons

    Starting base salary is low but you are reviewed annually with the opportunity of increasing that base including your commision percentage. However, it appears the quota for each position continues to increase each year as well so there is tht offset. Also, if the productivity doesn't stay on the books for 13 months then you will be charged back. So if you sell something one year and they drop it the next then you get hit. So sell the right way, do the right thing for the client. Educate them on why the policy they are interested in is important and how it works and how it will benefit them. Doing that should help reduce the amount of drops/nonrenewals. There will be drops and nonrenewals regardless. During the busier months there can be a lot of traveling required, even overnight. If that is not acceptable or you are not willing to weigh the time away compared to the months you don't travel then look elsewhere. The more you make yourself available the more opportunities to be success you will have. There is a lot of "administrative" work as well as potential micro management which includes daily and weekly productivity reports. Some people track their own productivity such as I did anyway so that they know where they are compared to their goals. If that is you, although the additional requirements can be overwhelming on top of all the other administrative work, you should be able to cope.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2018-10-25
  9. Helpful (1)

    "check your schools premiums to go along with quotas"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager in Indianapolis, IN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company for more than a year

    Pros

    benefits, work remotely, company car, compnay provided computer and printer

    Cons

    management involvement, quota set-up, training

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2018-10-11
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Account Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Reno, NV
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Lots of scheduling flexibility, decent benefits, company car.

    Cons

    Extremely inconsistent middle management. Lots of overnight travel.

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2018-09-09

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 49 reviews