American Fidelity Assurance Company Account Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

American Fidelity Assurance Company Account Manager Reviews

Updated Feb 10, 2020

To filter reviews, or .

3.5
61%
Recommend to a Friend
22%
Approve of CEO
American Fidelity Assurance Company EVP, President and COO  Jeanette Rice
Jeanette Rice
2 Ratings
  1. Helpful (12)

    "Not the opportunity I was sold!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Base salary+commission- You're only going to make 30-35k in your first several years from a base salary, but there are good opportunities to make at least that much or more in commission. Company car with gas card- Ford Fusions, nice cars Somewhat captive sales audience- The idea is that you will have many sales opportunities when you are reservicing a group.

    Cons

    Confusing/misleading/often changing compensation plan-4 changes to the compensation document in less than three years. Local management doesn't even understand most recent changes. Extremely unbalanced workload- 60%+ of accounts need serviced in the 4th quarter. Management's solution, start your 4th quarter groups in September. Very unprofessional, and not in keeping with AFA's mantra of being an extension of a company's HR department. Blatant favoritism-Worst company I've ever worked for in this regard. If you are 100% of quota, but not buddies with the district manager, you will not work in the new (and therefore financially lucrative) groups. Quite the contrary in that account managers with abysmal production (but personal pals with the DM) will be put in the position to enroll these new groups. Coached to tell customers one thing while actually doing otherwise-We are told to tell everyone we meet that we are salaried account managers, but don't be fooled...this company is commission driven! Even with the lopsided workload you will be expected to be selling 4 out of 5 days a week. Again this is completely unrealistic. Additionally we are coached to tell everyone we are needs based salespeople. We tell people we are NOT policy pushers, but again once our core benefits (disability and life insurance) are saturated in a group we are expected to come up with an angle to sell our tertiary products like accident, cancer, critical illness, or my favorite riders on existing policies. In this same vein we are coached to present EVERY employee we meet with with a life insurance quote, no financial needs analysis completed (I really don't think most of the employees or especially management would even know what a needs analysis would look like). This is the very definition under insurance ethics of "pushing policies"! Unbelievable turnover- One reason I took this job was because of what was described as extremely low turnover. It was described as less than 5% turnover annually. Anyone familiar with the insurance industry will recognize this as an extremely low turnover rate. The reality is that in the last several years I have seen closer to 60-70% turnover both locally as well as nationally.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2014-08-06

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    August 13, 2014Talent Management Team

    hank you for your feedback. We appreciate the positive comments about the base salary plus commissions, company car and sales process. Our turnover rate in the field is less than 5 percent through June of this year. We definitely want to make sure you understand the compensation structure. Please contact leah.babbit@americanfidelity.com for assistance. We encourage you to reach out to the corporate HR department, your division COO or Internal Audit with your concerns about favoritism so these can be addressed. You can call the Talent Management team at ext. 5046 and they can connect you to the right person. We hope this helps!

    Continue reading
  2. Helpful (8)

    "Explore other options."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Training staff is top-notch and professional, excellent benefits, company car, expenses paid, captive audience.

    Cons

    I was with American Fidelity for almost 2 years. Micro-management, preferential treatment of some, travel (by travel I mean you are in your car on the interstate and staying at the Hampton Inn), high turnover, low flexibility for time-off. If you have small children and want to be around them then this job is not for you. I was sent to job-shadow a veteran Account Manager my second week on the job and he quit on Friday of that week. I should have seen the writing on the wall. As soon as I was licensed I was thrown into an enrollment and learned on the job. I spent 6 weeks in this account only to have the same account terminate their contract with American Fidelity just a few months after this, the primary reason being turnover of Account Mangers. This put me in a constant sales deficit that I was not able to overcome. (*If a policy lapses within 13 months after it is issued then you have to pay back the commission to American Fidelity, plus that amount comes off of your production for the year.) I was already struggling with not having enough accounts to work in, thus limiting my production/sales, and then having to payback a large amount from every paycheck landed me on probation. At one point in my career my state manager told me that I was the best Account Manager he had ever seen one-on-one with the client. I was able to connect on a level that went far beyond just trying to sell someone insurance. I truly enjoyed the one-on-one aspects of my job, but the constant pressure to meet sales quotas and being continually not at-quota put pressure on me as an Account Manager to sell customers anything and everything, not just what they needed. My state manager also played favorites selecting other Account Managers to work in new accounts and better schools while I was often sent to the bus garages and historically lower yielding accounts. American Fidelity has the history of being a great place to work but recently with high turnover and mediocre middle management this has become not even a good place to work. Bottom line: If you have other options for a paycheck take them. If you are desperate for a job then you you have to do what you have to do. A district manager once tried to sell me on the fact that being away from home made his time at home "special". This same DM went on to tell me later about how his wife of 20+ years packed up everything and moved out while he was away on business. So much for "special".

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2014-09-05

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    September 9, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for your feedback. We’re really sorry to hear about your frustrations. In your advice to management, you mention addressing turnover issues. Although our year-to-date voluntary turnover in the field is just over five percent, we are actually in the process of analyzing and addressing this turnover. We are working with our executives to create action plans and are examining regions with the most turnover. We hope that you shared this information in your exit interview so that in can be addressed with your former manager. If you did not, please feel free to contact the Talent Management department or Lauren Lamb at any time to share your thoughts.

    Continue reading
  3. "Great company, excellent at what they do, appreciate their staff"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Oklahoma City, OK
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Strong leadership and management. This is a sales organization, and if you are a sales person this is a great place to work.

    Cons

    As with many jobs, particularly in sales, this one can quickly edge the work/life balance into mostly work.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2014-08-05

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    August 7, 2014Talent Management Team

    Thank you for sharing! I noticed you mentioned the potential for work/life balance issues. Our Colleague Assistance Plan has tools and resources to help with that. You can see how to log-in on AFweb or contact live-smart@americanfidelity.com for assistance. I will share your comment on our promote from within program with the recruiting and performance management teams.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (9)

    "Account Manager (Sales) - I urge you to do your research!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good benefits and training. Great IT support. Customer service staff in Oklahoma are top notch.

    Cons

    High turnover in sales resulting in constant reassignment of accounts and frustrated employers who suffer poor service from the lack of continuity. Very long hours, often arriving home on Fridays after 10 pm, then leaving Sunday again. Repetitive sales reporting and other administration burdens that seem unnecessary. Do not count on bad weather being a good reason to reschedule an enrollment or business trip. Bad reputation in some regions creating a significant barrier for success.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2014-07-01
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Best place to work on Earth!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in South Bend, IN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    You have the potential to make as much money as you want. You're in control of your career from day one regarding the amount of income you can make. Family owned is a major perk. American Fidelity treats its employees awesome from the company car to the pension plan. If you are a sales professional, this is the company for you!

    Cons

    A lot of driving and could be some overnight travel.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2013-03-31
  6. "Great Benefits"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Denver, CO
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Excellent benefits, treat you like a family. Be prepared to work very hard.

    Cons

    Lots of overnight travel. Difficult to manage career vs. life.

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2013-01-18
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Wonderful Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Account Manager in Cleveland, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    American Fidelity is a fantastic company to work for. I am an account manager for this company. I have worked for other sales based companies and this is by far the best. American Fedelity invests a lot of time and money in training each account manager regardless of experience. They give you a car and pay for all of your gas. The company also provides a laptop/printer/cell phone and wireless card allowance. The company is very straight forward about what you will be responible for and what they will do for you. The managers truly care about you as a person and don't look at you like a sales machine. The company says that you will make between 60-80k your first year. I would say that this is an accurate range for slightly above average reps for year one. By year 3 it would be surprising if you weren't in 6 figures or extremely close. If you can make it to year three it is very unlikely that you would leave the company. I say 'if' only becuase some people leave for personaly reasons or don't like to travel. All in all, I plan on having a very long career with this company. It is one of the few companies left that offers a pension.

    Cons

    The starting salary is 25k. This can scare some people off but it shouldn't. You will have to travel and drive to accounts which can result in long days but this is not an all the time occurence and this is made clear to you in your initial interview so it should not be a surprise. I truly cannot think of any other cons that any other job does not have. Yes you will get stressed at certain times. Yes you will have bad days but any sales position is going to.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2012-12-12
  8. Helpful (3)

    "A change from the ususal insurance positions."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager 
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company

    Pros

    Salaried account manager Company car Expense account Some flexibility in scheduling Bonus paid on sales Company provided laptop and supplies Paid time off / holidays

    Cons

    Hard to make consistent bonus money Low starting salary without subsantial bonus throughout the year Have recently taken away a consistency bonus that allowed for a more consistent earning throughout the year. The bonus was based on business on the books. Now there is nothing to entice a Account rep to keep business on the books more than a year. Business from one rep is given to new reps as they are hired. No compensation for original rep.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2012-01-17
  9. Helpful (7)

    "American Fidelity needs to rethink its strategy going forward."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Account Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company

    Pros

    Company Car - brand new ford fusion with most of the bells and whistles. Expense account Laptop with withless card Cell phone reimbursement Salary plus commission Sales conventions

    Cons

    Work-Life balance - You are required to travel as necessary. It used to be that just the people who wanted the opportunity to make extra money would travel to better accounts. But now, things have changed. If there is an enrollment that isn't going very well, the manager of that account can have her resources used in a better account and then require other reps to travel to her account to work. If the rep cannot make the trip, the manager puts immediate pressure on that employee until he or she gives in or could possibly lose their job. Equality - If the manager isn't your best friend, then expect to fail. This company has so many political issues which prevent it from being a great company. Management doesn't play fair. If you have been in the company for many years and developed your accounts, you will be asked to share and get nothing in return. Not only that, if you are brand new, you get placed in the crappy account and struggle to find a place to work throughout the year. Of course, you can travel to different enrollments, but when I say travel, I mean drive anywhere from 1-6 hours. But, if the distant enrollment was any good, you would not be invited because only the top reps would have access. Audits - Within the last 5 years, AFA decided to get into the business of performing dependent verification audits which entailed meeting with every employee of the school district and forcing them bring in official documents to prove their dependents are in fact eligible. These were a serious pain in the rear. AFA began to bend over backwards for these opportunities which resulted in AFA reps working from 7:30-5:30 and meeting with 20-30 employees per day, filling out tons of paperwork which took about 10 minutes to explain and fill out before the sales pitch even began. The audits have caused so much grief for the reps working there. Yes, it is an opportunity to sell a lot, but it really puts wear and tear on the reps. Recessionary hiring - When the recession first started, AFA began to hire even more reps. Not only that, as the economy began chopping away at school employees, AFA held its ground to continue hiring and growing at 10% per year. Well, this was a big mistake because in 2010, most of the reps did not make their quota, get promotions, raises. In 2010, probation was the a common discussion and grounds of termination were in everyday discussions.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2011-09-27

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 49 reviews