American Fidelity Assurance Company Sales Reviews | Glassdoor

American Fidelity Assurance Company Sales Reviews

Updated Sep 23, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.8
54%
Recommend to a Friend
American Fidelity Assurance Company EVP, President and COO  Jeanette Rice
Jeanette Rice
0 Rating
  1. Featured Review
    Helpful (2)

    "My Dream Job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Leader in Jackson, MS
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great Pay Great Benefits Travel Opportunities Working with Talented Professionals who are eager to share their knowledge and sales tips Focus on our Niche Market- we customize benefits at the employee AND Employer Level to provide coverage that matches need- ALWAYS a focus on needs-based sales! Opportunity for Advancement (fairly quickly based on results) Fair and Open-Minded Executive Leadership (focus on transparency) Consistent and top of the line training

    Cons

    Travel (fully disclosed in interview) may be a bit challenging for some at first until they realize that pay and benefits offset the travel. I considered the travel a great opportunity rather than a con-makes the job infinitely more interesting!

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-09-23

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    September 25, 2019Talent Management Team

    Thank you for sharing!

    Continue reading
  2. "Retire Here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Lexington, KY
    Recommends

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Excellent Work Environment Great Benefits Opportunity to be as successful as you want to be Outstanding people Get to help people Long term career, not just a job

    Cons

    Sales driven success. No sales, no success

    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  3. Helpful (2)

    "Fair"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Field Sales 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Competitive pay and benefits. No doubt, AF has done a fabulous job attracting good people and keeping them with the pay/benefits. Superior colleagues to work with because of stringent hiring process.

    Cons

    Culture. Unfortunately, AF has lost its way in putting profits ahead of clients/colleagues. Often times, scheduling is a disaster as things are determined last minute in the field. Which means work/life balance is difficult. Important to this role as the job itself is taxing and involves travel. That plus unnecessary increases in annual quota ensuring a cut in pay to benefit the company's bottom line.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-09-14

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    September 16, 2019Talent Management Team

    Thank you for your feedback. As you noted, we are dedicated to attracting and retaining top talent and creating an employer of choice environment for our Colleagues. This in turn helps us to focus on being a different opinion to our Customers and policyholders. That’s one of the reasons we still focus on providing in-person support and enrollment so that we can build relationships. We use the Challenger sales model to help us provide solutions that meet our Customers’ specific needs. Our products and services are designed specifically for the select industries we do business with.

    Continue reading
  4. Helpful (2)

    "Too much travel"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Account Manager in Colorado Springs, CO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    In Colorado you got to travel the state on the company dime.

    Cons

    Way too much travel depending on where you live. I traveled probably 80% and the demanded more. On top of that the work load is insane. This isn’t a long term career option in this state.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-07-07

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    July 8, 2019Talent Management Team

    In 2018, our turnover rate of Sales Colleagues was just 3.8%. The amount of travel expected in our Sales positions varies depending on where the Sales Colleague lives within their market.

    Continue reading
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Great Company to Work For"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Manager in Montgomery, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Great opportunity, Great Culture and Ability to Succeed. Definitely the best company I have ever worked for.

    Cons

    Overnight Travel. Longer than normal learning curve.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  6. "Good Income working with great people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Madisonville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time

    Pros

    Compensation is great for my region of the country. Great benefits. Company takes care of it's clients and it's employees. The clients I deal with on a day to day basis are kind and intelligent. Freedom to work independently and on a team.

    Cons

    Sometimes, I work A LOT.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-05-30
  7. Helpful (2)

    "Many problems here"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The employee benefits program is okay

    Cons

    This company is a myriad of law suits waiting to happen. First hiring is not based on talent, ability, or qualifications but rather the good ole boy network. Minorities can apply got don't get your hopes up and they people they do hire are not qualified to do the job. As with the hiring, minorities will struggled here, not that the superiority is outright or blatant but subdued and assumed. In both hiring and promotional opportunities the good ole boy network trumps everything else. Management is erratic and quotas are based on weather they want you to remain with the company or terminated. They will smile and play nice to you directly then stab you in the back when you are not looking. This is not the company for you if hiring and promotion based on talent, performance, and merit is important to you.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-06-01

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    June 5, 2019Talent Management Team

    We appreciate your feedback. It’s important to note that American Fidelity is an equal opportunity employer and focuses on being an Employer of Choice for our Colleagues. To that end, we’ve been named to many workplace lists, including Fortune Magazine’s 100 Best Places to Work For in America, Best Workplaces for Diversity and Best Workplaces for Women, among others. https://americanfidelity.com/why-us/awards/

    Continue reading
  8. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Sales 

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time

    Pros

    Great support, training, pay structure and advanced education opportunities.

    Cons

    May have to travel a bit

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2019-04-07

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    April 8, 2019Talent Management Team

    Thank you for sharing your feedback!

    Continue reading
  9. Helpful (6)

    "Retention Sales Rep."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retention Sales Representative in Oklahoma City, OK
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Bonuses, benefits are good, ability to work from home, dress for your day, nice work environment, PTO, their vision of a company culture is good

    Cons

    Team Lead bullies good reliable workers out of their positions by firing them or making them pursue other job opportunities outside of the company. With this comes a lack of good training due to all the people who retained the knowledge being gone. The company does not look into the loss of good employees and continues to allow team lead to effect these things.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2017-11-02
  10. Helpful (7)

    "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Fidelity Assurance Company full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Company Car, Some time off in January and July

    Cons

    Too many too mention them all; Inept managers with stories about how they got promoted, travel 6 days for months in a row, if you are not BFF with manager you WILL get the absolute worst accounts and struggle. Many reps will say and do anything to get a sale and do not have the best interest of the teachers and staff. Managers do not care about this- only their numbers and look the other way.

    Continue reading
    American Fidelity Assurance Company2017-10-30

    American Fidelity Assurance Company Response

    November 1, 2017Talent Management Team

    Many of our school enrollments involve a team of colleagues going into individual schools to meet the needs of our Customers. Our team-oriented approach helps us build long-term relationships as well as keep our customers best interests in mind, which are the heart of our business model.

    Continue reading
Found 15 reviews