American Financial Network Reviews | Glassdoor

American Financial Network Reviews

Updated Nov 19, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.7
67%
Recommend to a Friend
85%
Approve of CEO
American Financial Network CEO Jack Sherman
Jack Sherman
92 Ratings
Pros
Cons
  • "We need to feel good that our loans will be processed to closing(in 7 reviews)

  • "No 401k matching contributions offered(in 6 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Great Company - come check us out"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Austin, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Financial Network full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Manager listens to issues and looks for solutions Most employees (you can't please everyone all the time) have a CAN DO attitude I have been here almost 10 years and wouldn't think about going anywhere else

    Cons

    It would be nice if they matched 401k's or at least contributed something

    Advice to Management

    Keep moving forward!

    American Financial Network2019-09-12
  2. "Landmark Mortgage Planners"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Financial Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Learn what you won't put up with in a lousy so called manager

    Cons

    Lies, lies, and more lies.

    Advice to Management

    Close the AFN child company Landmark Mortgage Planners . Makes AFN look bad.

    American Financial Network2019-11-19
  3. "This place is a joke!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Loan Processor in Brentwood, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Financial Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    There are no pros to this place

    Cons

    I was in operations, received NO training on the AFN way, just thrown into the mix. Their process is very inefficient. The UW turn times are 7-10 business days, no response or communication from the underwriters. I have been in this business for over 20 years and AFN is the biggest joke!!

    Advice to Management

    I’d just close up shop, there’s no fixing that mess!!

    American Financial Network2019-10-03
  4. "great personable company upper management very easy to work with"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Branch Manager in Fresno, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Financial Network full-time

    Pros

    Upper management is very helpful and personable

    Cons

    only two commission tiers available

    American Financial Network2019-05-29
  5. Helpful (1)

    "HORRIBLE"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Mortgage Loan Processor in Germantown, MD
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Financial Network full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    pay was every 2 weeks

    Cons

    Terrible training, terrible corporate office!!! I only gave 1 star because I couldn't give any less

    Advice to Management

    Hire your employees correctly! I was hired as a branch processor only to be told 3 weeks later that corporate doesn't allow branches to have their own processors. I was let go and told to reapply. When all they had to do was change the paperwork on the back end!

    American Financial Network2019-05-15
  6. "Best Place I have Ever Worked"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Loyal Soldier in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Financial Network full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Great Leadership that cares about the employees. Lot's of room for advancement and growth within the company. Excellent benefits beyond the medical plans. Great Wellness program for all staff! Most innovative technology! Cutting Edge company!

    Cons

    Because the company is on the cutting edge of technology, there are constant changes to learn and update to newer and better systems. Because the company is constantly growing, it is hard to keep up to date with all of the new employees.

    Advice to Management

    Recognize and remember your employees more often. Let them know you care.

    American Financial Network2019-03-05
  7. Helpful (1)

    "Clear and honest truth"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Mortgage Loan Officer in Scottsdale, AZ
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Financial Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    The managers leave you alone, mostly

    Cons

    Benefits package is garbage. Pricing is a joke. No holiday pay and no evidence in urgency to fund loans. Tier system opens door to unneeded extension resulting in LO’s not hitting minimums to get paid any commissions, allowing each office to ‘save more money’

    Advice to Management

    Stop trying to reinvent the wheel. Look at other big companies and simply mirror. Office managers are all looking to over complicate things. Not needed.

    American Financial Network2019-01-07
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Love being part of Team AFN!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Brea, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Financial Network full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    I love working for AFN! The team culture is everything! Everyone is friendly and like family. My manager is very helpful and eager to guide me. The owners are wonderful people who care about their employees. There are opportunities for career advancement. There is never a shortage of healthy food/snacks. I love my career and working for AFN!

    Cons

    There are no cons I can think of.

    American Financial Network2018-11-26
  9. "AFN is a great place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Corporate Ops in Orange, CA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Financial Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love that the owners get involved with their employees. Whether it is hosting managers and educating them, having monthly celebrations at the corporate office or spending a Saturday at a fundraising event for a local charity. The culture here is something special. When I'm not at work, I wish I was.

    Cons

    Benefits are pricey for family coverage.

    Advice to Management

    Please keep up the positive vibes.

    American Financial Network2018-11-21
  10. Helpful (6)

    "Not a good experience, especially if you have been doing this for a while"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Senior Mortgage Loan Officer in Costa Mesa, CA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Financial Network full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Corporate staff is very nice, but zero pros besides that

    Cons

    Absolutely no respect for the laws in place post crisis. RESPA violations are overlooked and swept under the rug. Management lies to your face daily. Lack of experienced managers who understand the laws in place. Terrible lead sources. Better luck using someone on the side of the road holding a cardboard sign. Pay is terrible. Pricing is terrible. No way to be successful here. You are doomed the day you start.... Branches do whatever they please regardless of law.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Corporate management needs to do a very solid audit of their branches especially in Orange County specifically. Don't ignore those who reach out to legal/corporate to try and show you whats going on. Take RESPA violations very seriously. Good experienced LO's are forced to leave in order to protect their licensing and morals. Hold branches more accountable and step up compliance.

    American Financial Network2018-11-29
Found 132 reviews