American Food & Vending Reviews | Glassdoor

American Food & Vending Reviews

Updated Jul 17, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 59 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
32%
Recommend to a Friend
47%
Approve of CEO
Martin Wells
23 Ratings
Pros
  • "(in 4 reviews)

  • "Great hours, good pay, free shoes and uniforms(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. Featured Review

    "Incompetent company with no compassion for it's employees"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Food & Vending

    Pros

    -free lunch is a decent bonus

    Cons

    -employees are insignificant to upper management -raises come very infrequently -no bonuses/incentives -management has the "You are privileged to be working for us" mindset

    American Food & Vending2019-06-12
  2. "Great Opportunity"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales & Marketing in Syracuse, NY

    I have been working at American Food & Vending full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Have the ability to solve problems and grow with the company. Not just a number

    Cons

    Most processes are built off of assumptions.

    Advice to Management

    Be more aware of what the processes are. To much assumption.

    American Food & Vending2019-07-17
  3. "Growth Opportunities"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales/Marketing in Syracuse, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Food & Vending full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    As a new employee, one thing I'm very excited about is the growth opportunity that I see within the company.

    Cons

    Limited parking opportunities for employees (very small parking lot).

    Advice to Management

    Continue to encourage employees to grow and foster that growth with additional training opportunities

    American Food & Vending2019-07-17
  4. "Corporate in a really bad way"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Chef 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Food & Vending full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Paid time off after a year.

    Cons

    largely incompetent management, raises only given once annually (and often at a lower percentage than cost of living hikes, + corporate takes MONTHS to process them), no evaluation of performance (never got to see annual reviews and certainly received no praise), often short-staffed and very slow to hire, insurance packages are mediocre at best, they see every member of a kitchen except an executive chef as entirely...

    Show More
    American Food & Vending2019-05-31
  5. "Lunch cook/ prep"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Line Cook in Ithaca, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Food & Vending full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great customers Good pay Great hours mon-Fri

    Cons

    Severely understaffed Boss would time us on a stop watch to get orders out.

    Advice to Management

    Not to expect one employee to do 3 full time jobs. Be correctly staffed to make employee jobs less stressful.

    American Food & Vending2019-03-25
  6. "Great Place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Route Sales Representative in Williamsport, PA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Food & Vending full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Flexible hours to a point, great supervisor, Awesome co workers. Get done early leaves most of the day open.

    Cons

    Early start time sometimes can be a long day if you run into issues.

    Advice to Management

    While all stops are important there are some that do 10 dollars every 2 weeks. spoil out more than we sell always moving product from these locations and putting fresh in that you will remove again in two weeks. doesn't make scene to me.

    American Food & Vending2019-03-13
  7. "Nice job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Dishwasher 

      I have been working at American Food & Vending

      Pros

      nice coworkers, and easy work

      Cons

      boring work, lots of walking

      American Food & Vending2019-01-06
    • "Okay"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Cashier in Irving, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      No opinion of CEO

      I worked at American Food & Vending full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Easy Stable hours Decent pay for job

      Cons

      Management Insurance Chefs Employees Food

      Advice to Management

      Get better management, some of the managers when I was there were very inappropriate & the chefs didn’t ever last longer then a week.

      American Food & Vending2019-01-11
    • "Minimal training...recipes that dont work. No room to be creative for you will be called out on it."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Executive Chef in Fort Worth, TX
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook
      Disapproves of CEO

      I worked at American Food & Vending full-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Weekly pay is good. That's it.

      Cons

      Recipes suck. Cafeteria style food

      Advice to Management

      Train...take time to fully train and give clear expectations.

      American Food & Vending2018-06-29
    • "Poor food, customer service, and work culture."

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
      Doesn't Recommend
      Negative Outlook

      I have been working at American Food & Vending part-time for more than a year

      Pros

      Fair salary for part-time work. No other pros. None.

      Cons

      Management completely disregards poor customer feedback. As well as employe feedback. No performance reviews. No staff meetings. No training. No raises that I've seen. Inadequate, inexperienced, slovenly, lazy staff. Little to no and/or incorrect food inventory. Understaffed for prep work. Frequently run out of menu items. Machinery constantly malfunctions or completely breaks down. Hiring process to replace...

      Show More

      Advice to Management

      Up to this point, there is no use in advising management about anything. Middle management denies issues. Employees are discouraged from contacting main office. Frequently intimidated by managent, stating that company is owned by attorneys and not to question anything.

      American Food & Vending2018-06-24
    Found 59 reviews