American Freight Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

Create your profile to get personalized information

American Freight Furniture Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
American Freight Furniture CEO Steven Joel Belford (no image)
Steven Joel Belford
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "A good thing about this job u can advance from with in very quick and the pay is great(in 7 reviews)

  • "Fast paced so the time seems to fly by when you’re there(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons
  1. "Sales at American Freight Tallahassee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Tallahassee, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Plenty of money to make during tax season and back to school season. Work hard and make around 40k

    Cons

    No A/C or heating and that can be tough certain times of the year. No sitting for 8 to 10 hours without losing opportunity to see clients come in.

    Advice to Management

    Don't wait until the last possible minute to close the store when there is a hurricane on the way and don't be in a hurry to open after a hurricane when your employee's still don't have power and are dealing with issues at home.

    American Freight Furniture2019-11-20
  2. "Between A Rock and A Hard Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Warehouse Associate in Ocala, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Hours. Leniency. Simplistic Work. Self-Motivation Make Your Own Schedule

    Cons

    Bad Management No Home Life No Room For Improvement with Wages.

    Advice to Management

    Find better sales associates. Hire new, more level headed Manager who cares about his job.

    American Freight Furniture2019-11-05
  3. "YOU MAKE IT WHAT YOU WANT!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    If you're willing to work hard and learn, you can earn great money, and the possibility of promotion is very real as the company only promotes from within. Whatever review you read here is typical to ANY sales jobs.. at the end is what you make of it.

    Cons

    Temperatures are not controlled, winters are cold and summers are hot. This is a warehouse setting so hygiene is not the focus.

    Advice to Management

    Train your employees better

    American Freight Furniture2019-10-08
  4. "Good place to start building work experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Manager in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    You get a discount on furniture after 90 days.

    Cons

    Work life balance is non existent.

    Advice to Management

    Hang in there

    American Freight Furniture2019-08-19
  5. "Alright job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Sales commission rates are good

    Cons

    Hours and environment are bad

    American Freight Furniture2019-07-18
  6. "They make you work for free!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great money..that’s the only Pro.

    Cons

    You work every day. It’s 100% commission, so as a store manager you are required to do warehouse work...and not get paid to do it. Only time you’re making money is when you’re selling.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your warehouse workers more so SALES professionals can be SALES professionals...not warehouse workers. I think it’s ridiculous you make your sales people do warehouse work, and pay them straight commission.

    American Freight Furniture2019-07-15
  7. "Terrible hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Management 
    Doesn't Recommend

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Commission can be nice during on season

    Cons

    Strictly commission- terrible during the off-season, still required to work 10+ hours while not being compensated.

    Advice to Management

    Add salary base plus commission.

    American Freight Furniture2019-07-17
  8. "Unprofessional"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse Worker in Decatur, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Customers can be very polite

    Cons

    The unprofessionalism needs to be addressed

    American Freight Furniture2019-06-24
  9. "Wouldnt recommend"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Warehouse in Orlando, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly , exercise ,

    Cons

    Terrible pay , doesn't care ,

    American Freight Furniture2019-06-20
  10. "Great place to work!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Vice President Sales 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    American freight only promotes from within. I was with the company for three months before I got promoted to ASM, three months later I had my own store as Store Manager, within 10 months I was a regional manager. I’ve been with the company for eight years now and currently the VP of Sales over nine states. As a female in one of the most competitive industries, American Freight and management has given me the tools... and leadership to become more successful than ever. The pay is great at every level. You truly decide what you want to make. Another pro is total open lines of communication from top to bottom. You can be a warehouse employee and the CEO will always answer the phone and treat you with respect. No question goes unanswered. The CEO is always in the stores training and motivating.

    Show More

    Cons

    No cons. American freight truly changed my life.

    American Freight Furniture2019-05-16
Found 86 reviews