American Freight Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

American Freight Furniture Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
American Freight Furniture President & CEO Steven Joel Belford (no image)
Steven Joel Belford
47 Ratings
  1. "Warehouse ,Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse/Sales in Louisville, KY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great place to work, most days are easy and a steady moving pace lots of down time

    Cons

    Truck days when their its enough employees at work and there's more than one ....!! Lol

    Advice to Management

    Help the warehouse worker's make hard jobs easy specially on truck days do just stand one cout

    American Freight Furniture2017-06-02
  2. "full time commission sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associaate in Vestal, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    I love American Freight because it has helped me realize many different potentials that i have had dormant in me.

    Cons

    its a 5% commission sales job. business is a fluctuating thing where certain times of the year are busier then others.

    Advice to Management

    it would be very useful in the vestal location if the company invested in trucks for a delivery service option. the store would benefit greatly from the ability to run its own transfers, and do its own deliveries in my opinion.

    American Freight Furniture2017-06-02
  3. "Advertising Assistant"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Delaware, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    You get vacation time, frequent bonuses, and they're very flexible with family life.

    Cons

    There is currently no sick time.

    American Freight Furniture2017-03-20
  4. "Great Company to Work For!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - SEO/SEM Manager in Delaware, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Great work environment, flexible work hours, competitive pay, good work experience, and amazing people to work with. The company and employees are very appreciative. If you help someone, there is almost always a thank you or appreciation that follows!

    Cons

    No 401k or paid vacation until after 1 year of employment.

    American Freight Furniture2017-03-20
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Regional Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Regional Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Decent pay as sales. Nothing else to say really.

    Cons

    At first it was fun but there are VP's above that are absolutely clueless that couldn't operate a toilet if their lives depended on it.

    Advice to Management

    Stay in management and do not elevate yourself. Look how many regionals have become a rotating door. You will always be blamed for the failure of your superiors who shouldn't have ever been in that area in the first place.

    American Freight Furniture2017-03-31
  6. "Corporate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    You can miss a day of work without getting in any trouble as there is no attendance policy. There is no dress code. You get bonuses twice a year. They let you bring your dogs to work. You do get some vacation days, and some paid holidays.

    Cons

    The pay is terrible. You don't get raises hardly ever. You also don't get formal reviews. You don't any more than 10 days vacation, no matter how long you have been there. Management doesn't follow through on what they say they're going to do. You don't get holidays off around Christmas if it falls on a weekend. No 401K matching. They did away with paying employee's insurance so some people have their insurance paid and others do not. There is also no sick or personal time. No chance for advancement.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees better.

    American Freight Furniture2017-03-20
  7. "I love my job!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Warehouse in Cahokia, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    It is one of the best work environments to be in

    Cons

    There is no downside to me

    Advice to Management

    Keep doing a great job

    American Freight Furniture2017-02-06
  8. "Laborer"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Tennessee in Nashville, TN
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Nice workers to work with

    Cons

    Not enough hours and loose hours at the same time

    Advice to Management

    Good place to work

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-23
  9. "Easiest 50k salary starting"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in North Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Lots of money, easy job, fun staff, team orientated, positive energy, high motivation. Work hard everyday and you can go from starting salary of 50k to 100k by getting your own store. Be better and always improve. If you are a go getter, you have a big shot and opportunity with this company. I come to work everyday for 8 to 10 hours happy everyday 365. THE GREAT AMERICAN FREIGHT!!!!

    Cons

    Don't know what to do with all this money....

    Advice to Management

    Keep pushing to be better everyday. Best management I've seen out of any job to date.

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-15
  10. "Great company to work for! They really care about their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for American Freight for 6 years and have continued to grow with the company. They have recognized my talents and continued to support me in my goal to be upper management. I make a great living to support my family and they give me the flexibility to control my paycheck based on my sales!

    Cons

    I work long hours, but to me the outcome is worth the hard work that I put in. The pay and company support makes up for it.

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-15
Found 86 reviews