American Freight Furniture Reviews | Glassdoor

American Freight Furniture Reviews

Updated Nov 20, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
American Freight Furniture President & CEO Steven Joel Belford (no image)
Steven Joel Belford
47 Ratings
  1. "Sales at American Freight Furniture"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    High Turn Over so they promote quickly from within

    Cons

    Everyone is very young and inexperienced. There is a lot of bait and switch tactics to get customers in the store with advertisements of items that are unavailable

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2015-10-19
  2. "Close to sucking"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Clerical in Delaware, OH
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture

    Pros

    You pretty much set your own hours, no attendance policy (so no trouble if you miss a day), very relaxed atmosphere, casual dress, friendly, helpful co-workers.

    Cons

    No attendance policy, very little vacation time, no sick or personal days, pay is terrible, very low compared to industry standards. Holidays are determined by the financial officer, you may get a day off for holiday one year, but not the next. It depends on how they feel!

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2015-09-10
  3. "Sales"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    I enjoyed laid back atmosphere, but really was more interested in making money

    Cons

    I had one coworker and two managers. With little to no training- if I asked a question- they would "Take Over" my sale and in turn take half of my whopping 5%. Managers were already making 2 % of everything I made. I ended up going way beyond their sales goal, and still brought home 250-300 per week

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2015-08-24
  4. "Sales Representative"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Representative in Toledo, OH
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Potential to make alot more

    Cons

    Have to hit a certain amount in a pay period, if not u get minimum wage

    American Freight Furniture2015-07-17
  5. Helpful (1)

    "It's just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    after paying for medical insurance for 1 year it is paid for by the company which was a $200 a month savings for single coverage. 2 bonus checks per year if you qualify or if you are well liked.

    Cons

    Low pay and minimum benefits, max out at 2 weeks vacation. No room to grow. Surrounded by unprofessionalism including upper management.

    American Freight Furniture2015-07-11
  6. "Sign waver"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     in Tallahassee, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture for less than a year

    Pros

    the money was the only pro.

    Cons

    didnt care much about paying you even when the weather was bad and they sent you home. boss was rude and hot-tempered. also they didn't let me come in when it stormed. breaks were too short. scheduling wasn't considerate.

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2015-06-20
  7. Helpful (4)

    "Not For College Students"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Sales Representative 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture for less than a year

    Pros

    Paid training, good discount, opportunities to excel if this is your first priority. Decent Sunday hours, allow time for church if need be.

    Cons

    Hours not accommodating to college students or people with other jobs. Only 5% commission w/o hourly equals out to less than minimum wage if you can't work all of the time because of other commitments.

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2015-02-16
  8. "Great place to work and make money!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - General Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    American Freight is fast paced and allows you to grow within the company and make money. You definitely get back what you put in.

    Cons

    You have to be willing to put in the time to progress with the company.

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2014-11-06
  9. "Been here since Febuary and love it, Excellent Promotability!."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Assistant Manager in Jacksonville, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Excellent Pay, Great co workers, Excellent ability to grow within the company. Fast paced, but the harder you work, the more you make.

    Cons

    Can get very hot/cold in the store depending on weather. During slow times days feel like they drag, but that is anywhere. Not a lot of time off.

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2014-11-06
  10. "Growing Experience"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    No college degree needed, great income, fast paced. It's always a different work experience each day, which makes for an exciting place to work. Been with the company for almost 5 years and will always give me the opportunity to make a living for my family.

    Cons

    Late hours, and little time off to enjoy the money you make.

    Continue reading
    American Freight Furniture2014-11-05

Choose a different language and keep reading other reviews.

Found 86 reviews