American Freight Furniture Store Manager Reviews | Glassdoor

Find jobs for Store Manager

American Freight Furniture Store Manager Reviews

Updated Jul 15, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
76%
Recommend to a Friend
82%
Approve of CEO
American Freight Furniture President & CEO Steven Joel Belford (no image)
Steven Joel Belford
10 Ratings
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Commissioned Sales Management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Opportunities to earn big paydays Opportunities for Growth

    Cons

    Long Hours-time for family/life outside of work

    American Freight Furniture2018-12-31
  2. "They make you work for free!!!!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great money..that’s the only Pro.

    Cons

    You work every day. It’s 100% commission, so as a store manager you are required to do warehouse work...and not get paid to do it. Only time you’re making money is when you’re selling.

    Advice to Management

    Pay your warehouse workers more so SALES professionals can be SALES professionals...not warehouse workers. I think it’s ridiculous you make your sales people do warehouse work, and pay them straight commission.

    American Freight Furniture2019-07-15
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The worst company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s only really two pros. If you work hard you can expect to move up and get management experience. Second, you can potentially make lots of money at times.

    Cons

    Upper management sucks. Company policy to keep heat at 55 during winter. But if the store has overhead doors they’ll be open all day long everyday. So if you work in states that see snow on a regular basis, dress for the outdoors even though you’re technically inside. They also will demote managers if your store doesn’t see an increase from the year before. So if you did better a couple years in a row and all of a sudden your store didn’t see a gain, you no longer have a job as manager. A company that only sells furniture can only make an increase so long while trying to sell the SAME stuff. You have no life either. You gotta work 6 days a week open to close. I was working 60-80 hours a week.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit screwing over your employees.

    American Freight Furniture2019-01-04
  4. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for those willing to put in the time. Excellent upper management that are driven to make you more money. Room for growth and expansion. Wonderful company!

    Cons

    Nothing bad about this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep training and being motivating y'all are awesome

    American Freight Furniture2018-08-16
  5. "Company Overview"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Fort Worth, TX
    Recommends
    Negative Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Override is nice, rewards and spiffs

    Cons

    Long hours, ok pay, broken promises

    American Freight Furniture2018-07-27
  6. "Great company to work for! They really care about their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for American Freight for 6 years and have continued to grow with the company. They have recognized my talents and continued to support me in my goal to be upper management. I make a great living to support my family and they give me the flexibility to control my paycheck based on my sales!

    Cons

    I work long hours, but to me the outcome is worth the hard work that I put in. The pay and company support makes up for it.

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-15
  7. "Store Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager in Charleston, SC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture

    Pros

    Good company to work for, Gives back what you put it in. Good benefits and pay.

    Cons

    don't have any at the moment

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-13
  8. "Love Where You Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Panama City, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Company promotes from within. No cap on pay, so you're in control of your own paycheck. No prior sales experience necessary due to essential training provided by experienced managers. The way I see it, if you work in Gordon Bond's market, you're ultimately setup for success. Especially when his sales staff is constantly being promoted to Managers. With new stores opening up every year, there's plenty room for advancement. And now is the time to jump on board!

    Show More

    Cons

    Be willing to work long hours for a bigger check.

    Advice to Management

    American Freight is an awesome company Mr. Belford created that provides many Americans with an opportunity to better themselves. Let's continue to hire, train and promote Managers.

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-12
  9. "LOVE my job!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    I get to grow with a company that is all about promoting from with in!!! American Freight family for life.

    Cons

    Don't have one been with the company 2+years

    Advice to Management

    Keep showing the love to new hires and share others success stories

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-10
  10. "Grateful"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Sanford, FL

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    I have been with the company for 2 years now and the company has progressed and made a drastic change and also, sales skills have been improved.

    Cons

    Working a lot of hours at work also spending less time with family. but i have a good job also thanks to that my wife can stay home with the girls and Quit her job.

    American Freight Furniture2016-03-26
Found 13 reviews