American Freight Furniture "upper management" Reviews | Glassdoor

American Freight Furniture Employee Reviews about "upper management"

Updated Apr 6, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.1
54%
Recommend to a Friend
71%
Approve of CEO
American Freight Furniture President & CEO Steven Joel Belford (no image)
Steven Joel Belford
47 Ratings
Pros
  • "A good thing about this job u can advance from with in very quick and the pay is great(in 7 reviews)

  • "Fast paced so the time seems to fly by when you’re there(in 4 reviews)

Cons
More Pros and Cons

Reviews about "upper management"

Return to all Reviews
  1. "Store manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Glendale, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great pay for those willing to put in the time. Excellent upper management that are driven to make you more money. Room for growth and expansion. Wonderful company!

    Cons

    Nothing bad about this company.

    Advice to Management

    Keep training and being motivating y'all are awesome

    American Freight Furniture2018-08-16
  2. "Horrible upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Working with the general public

    Cons

    Upper management fires or demotes you for absolutely no reason in my experience. They came in and said we think you need more training and never did anything! Oh so you are liars? What a joke!

    Advice to Management

    Fulfill your promises made.

    American Freight Furniture2019-04-07
  3. Helpful (2)

    "The worst company to work for."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    There’s only really two pros. If you work hard you can expect to move up and get management experience. Second, you can potentially make lots of money at times.

    Cons

    Upper management sucks. Company policy to keep heat at 55 during winter. But if the store has overhead doors they’ll be open all day long everyday. So if you work in states that see snow on a regular basis, dress for the outdoors even though you’re technically inside. They also will demote managers if your store doesn’t see an increase from the year before. So if you did better a couple years in a row and all of a sudden your store didn’t see a gain, you no longer have a job as manager. A company that only sells furniture can only make an increase so long while trying to sell the SAME stuff. You have no life either. You gotta work 6 days a week open to close. I was working 60-80 hours a week.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Quit screwing over your employees.

    American Freight Furniture2019-01-04
  4. "Great company to work for! They really care about their people"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Store Manager in Buffalo, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I have worked for American Freight for 6 years and have continued to grow with the company. They have recognized my talents and continued to support me in my goal to be upper management. I make a great living to support my family and they give me the flexibility to control my paycheck based on my sales!

    Cons

    I work long hours, but to me the outcome is worth the hard work that I put in. The pay and company support makes up for it.

    American Freight Furniture2016-11-15
  5. Helpful (1)

    "Manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture

    Pros

    Opportunities present themselves quickly. Great for people who do not have college educations to make a good living. Not really many to put here as they put everything on management's shoulders including payroll, inventories, operations, advertising, and the list goes on... Oh you have to sell customers dreams because they never send us furniture we need. Lies. All lies.

    Cons

    Pay compared to hours worked, home life/work life balance, upper management, leadership, training. The company runs on a "good ole boy" mentality.

    Advice to Management

    Better training and inventive and benefit programs. Get with 21st century. Don't burn customers and better yet don't burn out your people

    American Freight Furniture2016-04-16
  6. "Compensation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook

    I have been working at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    Earning potential is great.

    Cons

    Upper management unprofessional and rude

    Advice to Management

    Cursing and yelling at employees is not the best way to make them improve or get the job done correctly.

    American Freight Furniture2016-03-23
  7. "It's just a job"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture full-time

    Pros

    after paying for medical insurance for 1 year it is paid for by the company which was a $200 a month savings for single coverage. 2 bonus checks per year if you qualify or if you are well liked.

    Cons

    Low pay and minimum benefits, max out at 2 weeks vacation. No room to grow. Surrounded by unprofessionalism including upper management.

    American Freight Furniture2015-07-11
  8. Helpful (2)

    "Great pay. No life."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Store Manager 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Freight Furniture for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Promote quickly from within. Pays well for management. No degree required. If you're willing to relocate and don't care about having a life you can go far.

    Cons

    Overworked. Managers are made to work 6 days a week over 55 hours. You're often chastised for taking any extra time off. All they care about are numbers. No loyalty to employees. While they promote fast they also fire just as quickly. Upper management is out of touch and protect themselves by passing blame and throwing middle management under the bus. Benefits are available but very expensive if you have a family. No 401k match of any sort. Vacation is capped at two weeks no matter how long you've been there. Upper management makes it seem like one bad sales day is the end of the world. Working conditions are in a warehouse with no ac or heating. No regular lunch breaks. Managers are basically expected not to leave the store. New rules are made up weekly by the VP. Managers are meant to sell, manage sales, warehouse staff, inventory and customer service all at once which leads to sub par customer service as the manger is spread quite thin. Most stores have their own customer service department at each store this company has one lady at corporate and good luck getting her number.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Lighten up. Be more loyal to your employees. Give mangers two days off a week so they can have somewhat of a life. You burn out your employees which leads to poorer results on the sales floor. There's more to life and business than last year's numbers

    American Freight Furniture2014-07-24
Found 8 reviews