American Furniture Warehouse Reviews | Glassdoor

American Furniture Warehouse Reviews

Updated Dec 28, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

3.9
87%
Recommend to a Friend
91%
Approve of CEO
American Furniture Warehouse President and CEO Jake Jabs (no image)
Jake Jabs
85 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good pay, 4% commission moving high volumes of furniture(in 15 reviews)

  • "Good benefits if you can stand the poor management(in 13 reviews)

Cons
  • "(in 9 reviews)

  • "Other sales people complain about literally everything, I think they would complain about getting a raise(in 9 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Be able to operate various lifts during training and after. Be able to move merchandise varying size and weight."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Current Employee - Lift Operator 

    I have been working at American Furniture Warehouse full-time

    Pros

    Benefits paid time off Paid leave Guaranteed 40 week

    Cons

    Certain holidays need to work work weekends

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-12-28
  2. "Good pay"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales in Aurora, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The pay is great around the holidays and busy times.

    Cons

    Work weekends and no consistent check.

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-12-09
  3. "Great Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Upholstery Technician in Gilbert, AZ
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Great Benefits, on job training, great starting pay

    Cons

    Got to buy your own tools for the most part.

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-11-21
  4. "Good company to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Warehouse Associate in Englewood, CO

    I worked at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Friendly, good start out pay

    Cons

    Warehouse hours can be as late as 10pm

    Advice to Management

    I have no advice to management

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-11-04
  5. "Fun work but not good leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Representative in Englewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Good money and fun to help customers

    Cons

    Scheduled to work every weekend

    Advice to Management

    Quit talking down to sales associates

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-10-15
  6. "Good pay but bad hours"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in Colorado Springs, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The pay can be good, depending on how motivated you are to sell.

    Cons

    Mandatory weekends and holidays, black out days on the weekends before all holidays.

    Advice to Management

    Be a little more flexible with hours

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-10-22
  7. "Decent Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Front Desk Receptionist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    They paid a competitive hourly wage for front desk work.

    Cons

    There were unprofessional co-workers, but you can't expect too much from retail.

    Advice to Management

    Don't stay open on holidays where no one will be coming in to buy furniture.

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-10-14
  8. "Learn how to hire people! Not sit around for weeks on decisions!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
     
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Furniture Warehouse

    Pros

    Pay is getting up there! Where people should be getting paid! Alright company once you get in.

    Cons

    Once you apply for the Job, you have to wait weeks and weeks for them to respond back. I applied for several positions with this company in a course of 7 weeks and just hearing back from them. Calls on Applications are made from their corporate office in Colorado! Which make me mad as a future employee looking for a Job. When you apply for so many jobs such as 5 jobs they will all get filled before they can even give you call. Even going on the store and Dropping off your resume to the managers doesn’t help!

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Do a better Job of giving calls to future employees! They are looking for a job and if you want the best pick, give them a call. When you do call don’t just say oh this job is filled and then end up with the future employee angry because he has been waiting for 5 weeks for a phone call on a job status or interview! All stores should have an HR department within the store to better help the needs of new hires! Staff needs to be trained properly because they didn’t even know what HR was much less know where it’s at! So how do you get hired when you come for the job? Only one Store in Webster/Houston Area! Soon Katy, please do a better job with hiring! Also if new employee is checking on a status of Application. Please give a call back. Shouldn’t have to send three emails or call 5 or 6 times just to get sent to an Automatic Employment Voice Mail System! You lost me as a future employee since your competition pick me up! Do a better Job!

    Show More
    American Furniture Warehouse2019-11-02
  9. "Hr Genearlist/SR. Recruiter"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Human Resources Generalist 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    opportunity for advancement in a growing company.

    Cons

    Nothing to complain about

    Advice to Management

    Look into tuition reimbursement

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-09-17
  10. Helpful (1)

    "Not sure what you are asking for?"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Store Manager in Lakewood, CO
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Furniture Warehouse full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    They have a team of upper management that do it right the first time with support throughout the company

    Cons

    Really I cannot think of anything the do wrong and if it is they will correct it as being proactive.

    Advice to Management

    None

    American Furniture Warehouse2019-08-13
Found 129 reviews