American Girl Reviews | Glassdoor

American Girl Reviews

Updated Jun 9, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 353 reviews

3.5
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
62%
Recommend to a Friend
59%
Approve of CEO
Katy Dickson
17 Ratings
Pros
  • "Dolls cute hours are decent that's all(in 24 reviews)

  • "Decent job (if you're only ever looking for part-time work)(in 18 reviews)

Cons
  • "Very few (if any) opportunities for moving into a full-time benefitted positions(in 21 reviews)

  • "limited hours for part time employees during slow seasons(in 21 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "Doll Hair Salon - Stylist"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Experience Associate in Chicago, IL
    Recommends

    I worked at American Girl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Such a positive environment. Mostly friendly and supportive coworkers and managers. Tips/gratuities allowed and very common around the winter holiday season.

    Cons

    At the Chicago location, parking was very expensive

    American Girl2019-03-27
  2. "Very Nice Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bistro Hostess in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Girl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are some of the nicest to each other that I've ever seen in a company. The company is very big on community and sharing and cooperation, and it shows in their workplaces. The dolls are a solid product to sell. People won't come to the store unless they want the produce so you're not blind selling. The company values are great, and they work hard to bring positive influences to young girls, through characters...

    Show More

    Cons

    Management changes consistently to the point where it can be fantastic and then not even a week later be hell on earth. The sales goals are flighty at best and sometimes impossible, and that's saying something considering the price of the products. You will get a lot of complaints about that from customers, and a lot of complaints that the dolls are made in China. The parents are the worst part about the store, honestly....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team. Take suggestions better. Don't just focus on girls, but all kids. Do not be hateful if a boy comes in and plays with a doll. Acceptance is key in the American Girl company.

    American Girl2019-06-09
  3. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Girl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment. Lots of hours during the holiday season. Good training. Friendly people.

    Cons

    Some favoritism. Not much hours to give out during the summer. Dress code is very strict. Best as a part time job.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favoritism

    American Girl2019-06-05
  4. "Cautiously optimistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Wilmot, WI
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Girl full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at the Wilmot facility until it closed. I enjoyed coming to work. We had a great staff that really cared about their work.

    Cons

    It used to be a great place to work. It was a profitable business until Mattel stopped investing $ in us even when we were the only profitable division. I hope the business can be turned around for the sake of the remaining good people in Middleton.

    Advice to Management

    Bring on the remote agents and take advantage of some of the talent you left behind.

    American Girl2019-05-17
  5. "Great Job for those with Passion for the Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Girl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, great if you really love the AG brand, product discounts, retail hours (10 AM-9PM), paid breaks on short shifts, opportunities to cross-train, peer recognition program

    Cons

    Wages are lower than they should be for a premium brand and do not compete even with Target's advertised starting pay. Schedule is always changing and is known only 2-2.5 weeks in advance. A push for aggressive sales techniques is not everyone's strength.

    American Girl2019-05-06
  6. Helpful (1)

    "American girl sales associate"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Sales Associate 

      I have been working at American Girl part-time

      Pros

      Fun environment and easy work!

      Cons

      No hours and favoritism

      American Girl2019-05-03
    • "Great culture"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Sales Associate/Cashier 

        I worked at American Girl part-time

        Pros

        The management is great and cooperative

        Cons

        Retail jobs are not the most rewarding

        American Girl2019-03-08
      • "American Girl"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Senior Associate in Wilmot, WI
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook
        Disapproves of CEO

        I worked at American Girl full-time for more than 10 years

        Pros

        Fellow employees / Friendly atmosphere

        Cons

        Computer System crashes / System not ready when promotions came out

        Advice to Management

        Get a computer friendly system

        American Girl2019-03-01
      • "American Girl Boston Bistro Location - Hostess"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Hostess in Boston, MA
        Recommends
        Negative Outlook
        No opinion of CEO

        I worked at American Girl part-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Very fun work environment and always dealing with new customers and kids coming in. Co-workers all mostly very friendly and easy to work with. training provided and very informative and helpful. Hours were great

        Cons

        the company as a whole is not doing very well and is therefore shutting down this location, putting these people out of jobs.

        American Girl2019-02-21
      • "Best place I've ever worked!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Hair Stylist/Ops/Retail in Natick, MA
        Recommends

        I worked at American Girl part-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Great management Reasonable/Flexible hours Amazing co-workers Great work atmosphere

        Cons

        None, best place ever, keep up the good work!

        American Girl2019-02-19
      Found 353 reviews