American Girl Reviews | Glassdoor

American Girl Reviews

Updated Jul 14, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 358 reviews

3.7
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
68%
Recommend to a Friend
63%
Approve of CEO
Katy Dickson
21 Ratings
  1. "Great!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Sales Associate in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Girl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Flexible schedule Friendly staff Guest are nice

    Cons

    Not enough hours Some guest are rude

    American Girl2019-07-14
  2. "Wonderful job, terrible management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Girl

    Pros

    Interact with customers around the world, wonderful area, easy workload, somewhat decent pay, amazing coworkers (excluding management)

    Cons

    immature Management, hours, pay, job security, favoritism,

    Advice to Management

    Treat your staff with respect and maybe you’ll actually have a staff that will stay for more than a year

    American Girl2019-07-09
  3. "Wonderful Company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Associate in Dallas, TX
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Girl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    My managers are fantastic, fun environment, upbeat work

    Cons

    Not a good job if you don’t like kids, you are on your feet pretty much the entire shift

    American Girl2019-07-03
  4. "Amazing place to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Sales Department Clerk in Orlando, FL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Girl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    They give great benefits, amazing management, and work and dolls are really fun.

    Cons

    I can't really think of anything at the moment.

    American Girl2019-06-25
  5. "Sales floor"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

    I worked at American Girl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Fun place to work

    Cons

    Scheduling shifts was old school

    American Girl2019-06-21
  6. "Great Place"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Bistro Lead 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Girl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Mostly positive interactions with guests. Very collaborative work environment. Fast pace with lots of special events going on through out the year.

    Cons

    Company is downsizing. Corporate doesn't really understand retail. Guests want a miracle to happen

    American Girl2019-06-21
  7. "Very Nice Place To Work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Bistro Hostess in Natick, MA
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Girl part-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The people are some of the nicest to each other that I've ever seen in a company. The company is very big on community and sharing and cooperation, and it shows in their workplaces. The dolls are a solid product to sell. People won't come to the store unless they want the produce so you're not blind selling. The company values are great, and they work hard to bring positive influences to young girls, through characters...

    Show More

    Cons

    Management changes consistently to the point where it can be fantastic and then not even a week later be hell on earth. The sales goals are flighty at best and sometimes impossible, and that's saying something considering the price of the products. You will get a lot of complaints about that from customers, and a lot of complaints that the dolls are made in China. The parents are the worst part about the store, honestly....

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Listen to your team. Take suggestions better. Don't just focus on girls, but all kids. Do not be hateful if a boy comes in and plays with a doll. Acceptance is key in the American Girl company.

    American Girl2019-06-09
  8. "Decent place to work"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Associate in Columbus, OH
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Girl part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Nice environment. Lots of hours during the holiday season. Good training. Friendly people.

    Cons

    Some favoritism. Not much hours to give out during the summer. Dress code is very strict. Best as a part time job.

    Advice to Management

    Stop the favoritism

    American Girl2019-06-05
  9. "Cautiously optimistic"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Supervisor in Wilmot, WI
    Negative Outlook

    I worked at American Girl full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    I worked at the Wilmot facility until it closed. I enjoyed coming to work. We had a great staff that really cared about their work.

    Cons

    It used to be a great place to work. It was a profitable business until Mattel stopped investing $ in us even when we were the only profitable division. I hope the business can be turned around for the sake of the remaining good people in Middleton.

    Advice to Management

    Bring on the remote agents and take advantage of some of the talent you left behind.

    American Girl2019-05-17
  10. "Great Job for those with Passion for the Brand"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Retail Sales Associate in Charlotte, NC
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Girl full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Fun environment, great if you really love the AG brand, product discounts, retail hours (10 AM-9PM), paid breaks on short shifts, opportunities to cross-train, peer recognition program

    Cons

    Wages are lower than they should be for a premium brand and do not compete even with Target's advertised starting pay. Schedule is always changing and is known only 2-2.5 weeks in advance. A push for aggressive sales techniques is not everyone's strength.

    American Girl2019-05-06
Found 358 reviews