American Heart Association Reviews

Updated May 8, 2021

To filter reviews, or .
4.1
75%
Recommend to a Friend
89%
Approve of CEO
American Heart Association CEO Nancy A. Brown
Nancy A. Brown
544 Ratings
Pros
  • "great benefits, a competitive salary(in 85 reviews)

  • "Well organized with a great mission is how I would describe the company(in 72 reviews)

  • Cons
  • "Youth Market claims to care about work life balance(in 80 reviews)

  • "Non-profit salaries are not the best but it's worth it IMO for the cause, can be high pressure(in 46 reviews)

  • More Pros and Cons
    Pros & Cons are excerpts from user reviews. They are not authored by Glassdoor.

    Ratings by Demographics

    This rating reflects the overall rating of American Heart Association and is not affected by filters.

    Want more demographic options?
    1. 5.0
      Former Employee
      Featured Review

      Administrative Assistant

      Apr 28, 2021 - Administrative Assistant 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Good pay, benefits and work/life balance.

      Cons

      None. I enjoyed working at American Heart Association

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    2. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 5 years

      A Mission With Meaning

      May 5, 2021 - Anonymous Employee 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Competitive salary and benefits, recognition for achievements, colleagues who love their jobs, and an undeniably important mission.

      Cons

      Departmental restructuring a couple of years ago caused some of my favored colleagues to be left without a position. This is surely a normal occurrence everywhere and was fairly handled. This was not due to COVID-19, as this restructuring was announced over a year before the pandemic.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    3. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 1 year

      Good work for a great cause

      Apr 6, 2021 - Director in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      The best thing about working at the American Heart Association is that everything you do supports the life-saving research that is the core of the mission. The organization is also quick to recognize when priorities need to shift. For example, leadership has recently centered our work around health equity. They are also concerned about their employees in a way I haven't ever experienced, recognizing the difficulty of the last year, providing flexibility, being transparent about what's ahead, etc. It's been a great place to work!

      Cons

      It's a big organization, and can be somewhat siloed. Also, every group needs to bring in dollars to support itself, so it's sometimes competitive between groups.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    4. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Excellent Place to Work

      May 4, 2021 - Associate Manager in Bullhead City, AZ
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      A Mission to save lives

      Cons

      need more resources for jobs

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    5. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 3 years

      Great place to work

      May 3, 2021 - Youth Market Director in Atlanta, GA
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Flexible schedule and benefits for staff

      Cons

      Long hours and significant travel for staff

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    6. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Outstanding nonprofit organization

      Apr 29, 2021 - Office of Science and Research 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      flex hours, great retirement plan, nice PTO accrual

      Cons

      some level of bureaucracy is expected due to the large size of the organization

      Be the first to find this review helpful
    7. 2.0
      Former Employee

      Important Mission!

      May 8, 2021 - Administrative Staff 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Working for an impactful purpose

      Cons

      What did you do for me today mentally. In one breath your great and the next your gone. It’s always about the money regardless of consequences. How management treats employees and what is tolerated has created a sick culture

      1 person found this review helpful
    8. 2.0
      Former Employee, more than 3 years

      Started Beautifully, Ended Toxic

      Dec 4, 2020 - Youth Market Director 
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      AMAZING benefits, great leaders in some affiliates, excellent learning opportunities, wonderful mission, competitive salary and compensation. I’ve met some of the most incredible women and they will remain my friends for the rest of my life.

      Cons

      Youth Market claims to care about work life balance...they don’t. You’re expected to work 60-80 hours a week and then that’s compensated by having a slow summer. This is a phenomenal opportunity for growth and advancement in your career. However, if you’re an independent thinker and tend not to be too much of a yes man, you’ll be ostracized. I’ve been told some incredibly harsh “feedback” that sounded more like a personality attack than an opportunity to help with growth. It took therapy and leaving for a new career for me to bounce back and realize their negativity was a representation of them and not me. I genuinely loved the AHA and it was my honor to work there. Then I became more and more successful...in my own way, pushing the envelope. Because that wasn’t the “best practice” and because I didn’t blindly oblige, I was expertly pushed out. Fair enough...they wanted a specific person for the job. And I did fit that. And that’s okay! But to expertly alienate someone (because of a personality difference) to the point of misery is simply unprofessional and sad.

      Continue reading
      6 people found this review helpful
    9. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 8 years

      Live Fierce -- love your work

      Apr 5, 2021 - Media Director in Dallas, TX
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Employees at AHA are authentic and passionate about their work making the atmosphere fun and upbeat.

      Cons

      Nonprofit work is not for everyone, but I have found this to be the best non profit to work for.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    10. 5.0
      Current Employee, more than 10 years

      Take YOUR career to Heart!

      Apr 6, 2021 - Human Resource Manager in Columbus, OH
      Recommend
      CEO Approval
      Business Outlook

      Pros

      Excellent benefits and work worth doing! The AHA believes every person deserves the opportunity for a full, healthy life and its staff and volunteers are champions for health equity - removing barriers to health care access and quality. The commitment to inclusion speaks to me!

      Cons

      Our commitment and passion to serve the mission fuels a sense of urgency that's not for everyone.

      Continue reading
      Be the first to find this review helpful
    Viewing 1 - 10 of 972 Reviews

    Popular Careers with American Heart Association Job Seekers

    Youth Market Director
    Learn About the Job
    JobsSalariesInterviews
    Corporate Relations Director
    Learn About the Job
    Business Development Director
    Learn About the Job

    Work at American Heart Association? Share Your Experiences

    or