American HomePatient Reviews | Glassdoor

American HomePatient Reviews

Updated May 29, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 113 reviews

2.6
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
31%
Recommend to a Friend
30%
Approve of CEO
Joseph F. Furlong III
50 Ratings
Pros
  • "Good people to work with, good hours, was a fun enviorment to work in(in 5 reviews)

  • "Stable and friendly employees and great benefits(in 4 reviews)

Cons
  • "The only con is they merged some locations with Lincare(in 16 reviews)

  • "Low pay, heavy workload, management is not helpful(in 10 reviews)

More Pros and Cons
  1. "The best company I have ever worked for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - General Manager in Birmingham, AL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American HomePatient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Great Benefits, Pay, incentives, mileage reimbursement, car allowance. Great divisional managers and continuous education on all policies, procedures, and updates on insurance changes. The company takes care of the employees and our main focus was the patient care and billing correctly to ensure proper reimbursement for Services rendered.

    Cons

    The only con is they merged some locations with Lincare. The two companies are night and day. My hope is that Lincare will acquire more of the structure and educational training AHOM has in place.

    Advice to Management

    None

    American HomePatient2018-11-15
  2. "It was great.. then it wasn't."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Documentation Specialist in Lees Summit, MO
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American HomePatient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Medical Benefits, overtime and paid holidays.

    Cons

    Is owned by Lincare.

    Advice to Management

    Know how to do your job.

    American HomePatient2019-05-29
  3. "Poor upper management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Account Manager in Daytona Beach, FL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American HomePatient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The local branch managers work hard to help the sales reps out.

    Cons

    The regional managers have a tendency to take forever to return calls. Especially when it comes to commission and bonus errors.

    Advice to Management

    Realize and understand that commissions are where we make our money, and failing to pay us when we have earned it degrades our reasons for being in sales.

    American HomePatient2019-05-01
  4. "Overworked underpaid"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Repap 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American HomePatient full-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Occasional bonuses. Training. Insurance

    Cons

    Low pay. Ripped off on commission checks. Close down locations without notice for some employees

    Advice to Management

    Treat your employees with respect not as if they are disposable.

    American HomePatient2019-04-19
  5. "Sales/customer service"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American HomePatient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Location is good except traffic getting there but not the companies fault

    Cons

    This use to be a great company to work for until they were in a hostile take over by Lincare. Everything went down hill after that. I thought I would be there forever but they don’t see hard workers and devotion as a good employee trait.

    Advice to Management

    Stop taking advantage of your employees and build them up and move them up.

    American HomePatient2018-12-03
  6. "Accounts receivable"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Valdosta, GA
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American HomePatient full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Sometimes you have birthday parties

    Cons

    Pay is awful, no raises, and mandatory overtime

    Advice to Management

    Appreciate your staff more

    American HomePatient2018-11-08
  7. "Now owned by Lincare - stay away!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Inside Sales Representative in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American HomePatient full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    Minimal dress code: jeans and t-shirts every day

    Cons

    Lack of accountability fluctuating pay Management is non-existent/never seen Lincare owns ahom and ahom is treated like the red-headed stepchild

    Advice to Management

    Get out yourselves. Lincare is hurting ahom (you already know that). Get out before the entire ship sinks.

    American HomePatient2018-10-06
  8. Helpful (1)

    "Billing Center employee"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Billing Center Employee in Nashville, TN
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American HomePatient full-time for more than 10 years

    Pros

    Working with most co-workers and patients.

    Cons

    We had the dumbest, laziest and non-caring executive management in the history of business!!

    Advice to Management

    May your dreams be filled with nightmares of the 2,000 employees that you screwed over because you are a business moron!!

    American HomePatient2018-08-31
  9. Helpful (1)

    "Small time company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American HomePatient full-time

    Pros

    Good People and good company value for patients

    Cons

    Bankrupt company and no direction

    American HomePatient2018-06-21
  10. "Ahom"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Customer Service Representative 
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American HomePatient full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Loved the relationship built with coworkers and patients. Fast paced. PTO accrued was good. Manager very understanding regarding family health issues and need to be absent.

    Cons

    Policies always changing. Not much pay raises. Insurance has ridiculous deductibles so most of us in our location did not or could not afford to use the insurance. Not much room to grow. Training for a new position was difficult

    American HomePatient2018-04-10
Found 113 reviews