American International Industries (California) Reviews | Glassdoor

American International Industries (California) Reviews

Updated Jun 4, 2019

To filter reviews, or .

Found 18 reviews

1.8
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
16%
Recommend to a Friend
  1. Helpful (2)

    "Video Editor, Motion Graphics Designer, 3D"

    StarStarStarStarStar
      Current Employee - Video Editor, Motion Graphics, 3D 
      Recommends

      I have been working at American International Industries (California) part-time for less than a year

      Pros

      Team is fun to work with.

      Cons

      There are elements of slow change.

      American International Industries (California)2017-06-12
    • "Great place to learn"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Web Designer/Developer in Commerce, CA
      Recommends
      Neutral Outlook

      I worked at American International Industries (California) full-time for more than 3 years

      Pros

      Amazing people, work turn around time isn't crazy allowing you to learn a lot on down time.

      Cons

      Hard to move up & get better pay.

      American International Industries (California)2019-06-05
    • Helpful (1)

      "Brand Manager"

      StarStarStarStarStar
      • Work/Life Balance
      • Culture & Values
      • Career Opportunities
      • Compensation and Benefits
      • Senior Management
      Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 

      I worked at American International Industries (California) full-time

      Pros

      Possibly meet nice people in the industry

      Cons

      No benefits, no advancement...only if they like you

      Advice to Management

      Be a leader

      American International Industries (California)2018-05-30
    • Helpful (1)

      "This place is a mess!"

      StarStarStarStarStar
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Commerce, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at American International Industries (California) full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Some people are nice & helpful

        Cons

        Value their processes over customers & don't value suggestions or new ideas Very little communication between departments, frustrating & confusing everyone needlessly Way too many people in small spaces Too few bathrooms! There's only 2 bathrooms for over 1,000 people! No coffee or water in the kitchen area! Every dept has their own supply! That's just weird! Work spaces are too small & outdated Walk...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        Really look at the procedures & encourage input & new ideas from employees who actually have to use their ridiculous processes! Need more bathrooms! Update the facility & work spaces Coffee & water in the kitchen Need more microwaves! There is always a line at lunch time Hire more people in the warehouse & train them properly

        American International Industries (California)2018-05-30
      • Helpful (4)

        "Work Environment"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Brand Manager in Los Angeles, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Neutral Outlook

        I worked at American International Industries (California) for more than a year

        Pros

        Everyone clocks out on time ALL the time.

        Cons

        The culture is absolutely toxic, their is no training and work is not clearly defined. It's very much a fend for yourself type of company. Upper management is not aware of consumer and market changes so when they finally catch up employees are expected to deliver against impossible deadlines and practically non existent budgets. They care more about the bottom line of revenue they are taking in than nurturing talent and...

        Show More
        American International Industries (California)2018-04-03
      • Helpful (7)

        "Unprofessional & Untrustworthy"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Product Development in Commerce, CA
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at American International Industries (California) full-time for less than a year

        Pros

        Horrible Company Horrible People Horrible Products Please read below.

        Cons

        They contacted me regarding a new position in their Product Development department (which I did not apply for) and after interviewing three times, I was offered the job. I quit my company of 3 years to work for them and then they fired me after 4 DAYS, without any explanation, just "We're so sorry to do this, but we're an at-will company". They had no sympathy for what they did to me (or my son) and just sat there saying,...

        Show More

        Advice to Management

        I'm praying for you.

        American International Industries (California)2017-09-02
      • Helpful (4)

        "Shut it down!!"

        StarStarStarStarStar
        • Work/Life Balance
        • Culture & Values
        • Career Opportunities
        • Compensation and Benefits
        • Senior Management
        Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
        Doesn't Recommend
        Negative Outlook

        I worked at American International Industries (California) full-time for more than a year

        Pros

        Some of the people were nice.

        Cons

        Lack of respect and appreciation for employees. Conditions are uncomfortable and cramped. They seem to have little concern or care for people and it shows. The product itself is alright I would still suggest OPI!

        Advice to Management

        Shut it down!! I don't see management making any positive changes to better the work environment.

        American International Industries (California)2017-07-05
      • Helpful (3)

        "Not a place to grow"

        StarStarStarStarStar
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 

          I have been working at American International Industries (California)

          Pros

          Fast paced and get to learn all aspects of how the company runs. Able to leave on time everyday as overtime is highly frowned upon.

          Cons

          lack of leadership and management. Yearly reviews are rare, no training or employee promotion track. Salaries are based on how much someone likes you and not skill, education or performance. Poor employee moral and toxic company culture.

          American International Industries (California)2017-03-07
        • Helpful (2)

          "Overcrowded!! Very outdated place!"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
          Doesn't Recommend
          Neutral Outlook
          No opinion of CEO

          I have been working at American International Industries (California) full-time

          Pros

          Fast paced, some friendly people. Adversity. Close to 5fwy. However, think there's more cons than pros..

          Cons

          No parking, overcrowded! No 401k!!! My dept, 30 people, no windows, no ventilation! Extremely filthy!

          Advice to Management

          Upgrade offices!!! Embarrassing, such a huge company cannot afford nice cubicles, chairs decent restrooms!! Invest in your own company! Change management, it's ok..

          American International Industries (California)2017-01-20
        • Helpful (4)

          "Brand Manager"

          StarStarStarStarStar
          • Work/Life Balance
          • Culture & Values
          • Career Opportunities
          • Compensation and Benefits
          • Senior Management
          Current Employee - Brand Manager in Los Angeles, CA
          Doesn't Recommend
          Negative Outlook

          I have been working at American International Industries (California) full-time

          Pros

          The only pros are 8 hour work days, good beauty experience, talented co-workers

          Cons

          lack of direction, executives constantly fighting with each other, no SOPs, some employees have been there too long, decision makers have old ideas, need fresh perspective. Benefits are non existent, not a lot of incentive to stay

          Advice to Management

          CEO needs to take charge and let certain people go. Need more support in education, marketing

          American International Industries (California)2016-10-24
        Found 18 reviews