American Language Communication Center Reviews | Glassdoor

American Language Communication Center Reviews

Updated Oct 24, 2018

To filter reviews, or .

2.3
37%
Recommend to a Friend
16%
Approve of CEO
American Language Communication Center CEO Jean Pachter (no image)
Jean Pachter
11 Ratings
  1. "Great place with great people!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Language Communication Center full-time

    Pros

    Great staff Great benefits Lots of perks

    Cons

    Lateral movement only. Hit a glass ceiling but learned a lot.

    Advice to Management

    Open doors for people to move up.

    American Language Communication Center2017-09-07
  2. "Degradation"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    ESL Teacher in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Language Communication Center for more than 8 years

    Pros

    none, zero, nothing, not a bit

    Cons

    Overt and implied threats of termination at every corner; Feeling complicit in stealing underprepared students' money; Writing progress reports at three week intervals that are largely ignored by students and administrators; Being "watched" by administrators via Blackboard activity; Students have impression that because they are paying for courses, they won't need to attend classes.

    Advice to Management

    Do not ask the students any more for money to place fake attendance. $ 5 per hour of attendance is a bad business

    American Language Communication Center2018-10-24
  3. Create your profile to get personalized information

  4. "Great Place for ESL teaching in NYC"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Language Communication Center full-time

    Pros

    The Admin lets teachers explore their creativity in the classroom.

    Cons

    Some students can be difficult to deal with. At times it is hard to get materials you need.

    Advice to Management

    Make getting materials easier for teachers.

    American Language Communication Center2018-08-24
  5. Helpful (2)

    "Bad management"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Program Coordinator in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Language Communication Center full-time for more than 5 years

    Pros

    Here are the reasons for ALCC bankruptcy: Low pay , Lots of turnover, Behind with technology, you were only cares about making money and absolutely unethical and horrible work standards.

    Cons

    This is the time to announce your bankruptcy; employees need to know to make decisions. Do not surprise them one day they will find the door closed. You are taking advantage since the information takes a few months to be published on the internet.

    Advice to Management

    These employees who have served you for many years should know that there is no future in ALCC.

    American Language Communication Center2018-06-30
  6. Helpful (3)

    "The company gave up on all of us and scheduled to close down."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Agent in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Language Communication Center full-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    The company filed bankrupt, but communicated about the any possible closure poorly.

    Cons

    Too many promotions- ruined the gross margin and ended up costing hundreds of people their jobs. Poor decision making from the top down.

    Advice to Management

    Too late to do anything now - Out of business

    American Language Communication Center2018-06-23
  7. Helpful (5)

    "Gone with the wind - Disappointing Institution"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Student Agent in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Language Communication Center full-time for more than 8 years

    Pros

    Stay Away from here this company will send us home anytime.

    Cons

    Notice of a language center that is about to disappear because of the wrong management. First they closed our center in Queens and now listening to a conversation between employees where our institution does not have money to pay our salary and apart they own eight months of rent for our center in Manhattan. The receptionist was talking to her friend that the owners were in court because the building owners want to... evict us because they are not paying rent and ALCC doesn’t have any money.

    Show More

    Advice to Management

    Please declare yourself bankruptcy so that we as employees can receive government assistance. It's what we deserve after so many years of service.

    American Language Communication Center2018-06-12
  8. "Nice place to work part time"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - ESL Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends

    I worked at American Language Communication Center part-time for more than 3 years

    Pros

    Books are, for the most part pre-selected Easy to follow curriculum, you can add or take away as you wish Good pay for part time work

    Cons

    Dress code is antiquated Silly regulations, but those are from the government so what can you do

    Advice to Management

    Provide more benefits for full time employees

    American Language Communication Center2018-05-09
  9. Helpful (7)

    "Don't waste your time with this company"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Student Agent in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Language Communication Center full-time for less than a year

    Pros

    The co workers are extremely selfish

    Cons

    Management is horrible they could care less about you and don't help out at all... They expect you to work your behind off while they take 15 smoke breaks a day, meanwhile we can barely get up to pee or even have something to eat.

    Advice to Management

    When will you wake up and see what you are doing is NOT working? You all should be ashamed of yourselves regarding your treatment of your employees.

    American Language Communication Center2018-01-29
  10. "One of the best ESL schools to work for"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Teacher in New York, NY
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I have been working at American Language Communication Center part-time for more than a year

    Pros

    Directors are friendly and stand up for their employees. School goes all out for Halloween and other holiday parties for students, annual dinner for teachers.

    Cons

    Work hours are not computerized. Clerks make mistakes. Also be on time or you could get penalized.

    American Language Communication Center2017-05-10
  11. Helpful (7)

    "Boring and ruthless manager"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Business Development in New York, NY
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Language Communication Center for more than 5 years

    Pros

    I had a worst time working at this job! I got paid very bad and I had the unprofessional coworkers ever in my work experience.

    Cons

    It was super ghetto and extremely unprofessional- but that is why it was fun and a lot of nooky.

    Advice to Management

    Internal politics tend to work against merit based productivity.

    American Language Communication Center2017-03-20
Found 18 reviews