American Marketing Association Reviews | Glassdoor

American Marketing Association Reviews

To filter reviews, or .

Found 30 reviews

3.2
StarStarStarStarStar
Rating TrendsRating Trends
39%
Recommend to a Friend
37%
Approve of CEO
Russ Klein
18 Ratings
  1. "University of Arkansas Campus Team.."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Vice President of Fundraising in Fayetteville, AR
    Recommends
    Neutral Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association

    Pros

    Great opportunity for experience, Resume builder for soon to be college grads, and an environment where each persons voice truly carrie weight.

    Cons

    Somewhat disorganized and lack of thorough communication within teams

    American Marketing Association2015-01-29

    American Marketing Association Response

    June 18, 2015HR Manager

    Thank you for your volunteer efforts at the American Marketing Association (AMA)! We are grateful for your time and dedication to our organization.
    We appreciate your feedback; however, it does not appear from your comments that you were directly employed with us here at the ...

    Show More
  2. "Marketing Career"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association

    Pros

    Very great for learning Marketing Skills

    Cons

    there are no cons with this opportunity

    Advice to Management

    more opportunities must present themselves

    American Marketing Association2014-12-27
  3. "I had a lot of good experiences working for the American Marketing Association in the collegiate sense."

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    No opinion of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association for more than 2 years

    Pros

    Opportunity if you really look for it.

    Cons

    Pay could have been better

    American Marketing Association2014-08-01
  4. Helpful (1)

    "Could be better"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee 
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time for more than 6 years

    Pros

    Flexible work schedule, summer hours

    Cons

    Staff is poorly trained, cliquish work atmosphere, no room for advancement, management is absent, staff is overworked.

    Advice to Management

    Pay attention to your employees. Don't treat them like dirt. Management needs more interaction with staff.

    American Marketing Association2014-09-03
  5. Helpful (3)

    "Changing landscape"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association full-time

    Pros

    This is the land of opportunity to do great work in many areas of the business. There has been a momentum of change in the organization that is reinvigorating this business. It is headed in the right direction.

    Cons

    The vision could be more focused and accountable.

    American Marketing Association2014-02-19
  6. Helpful (5)

    "gorgeous offices - disconnected leadership"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Neutral Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association full-time for more than 4 years

    Pros

    gorgeous offices, summer hours, good work/life balance

    Cons

    disconnected and absent CEO; territorial senior leadership, surprisingly old school for a marketing association. committees don't house the most progressive in the field.

    Advice to Management

    the annual kickoff should not be the only time to connect with employees.

    American Marketing Association2013-08-24
  7. Helpful (2)

    "All things marketing lead to AMA!"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Marketing in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Positive Outlook
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association full-time

    Pros

    Great environment, beautiful office, strong work-life balance which is rare to find in marketing. The learning possibilities are endless. THE place for marketing. Most employees have been there many years which is always a good sign. Great benefits and Top Tier Management (CMO, HR Director, etc). Extra perks like lunch-and-learns, summer friday's, and a holiday party try to encourage more interaction between departments...

    Show More

    Cons

    Could use a little more cross-collaboration between departments.

    Advice to Management

    My confession, I'm sorry I left. AMA is a great place and hopefully it will grow with more opportunities in the near future.

    American Marketing Association2013-04-14
  8. Helpful (6)

    "AMA -- Great on Paper, Horrible in Person"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Doesn't Recommend
    Disapproves of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association

    Pros

    The AMA had great brand recognition and a great reputation in the outside world and I was able to work with some really great co-workers.

    Cons

    Senior management at the AMA is pretty poor from the employee perpsective. Qualified, competent people who are passionate about marketing fled the organization in response to one C level executive's relentless public humiliation and private beratement.

    Advice to Management

    The employee satisfaction survey you recently conducted reflects four years of sentiment from your employees. You've received a great deal of the same feedback from employees' exit interviews, yet seem to ignore it and continue operating in the same fashion. We all fear that you will be left with a skeleton crew supporting the senior management. And not enough members to support their salaries.

    American Marketing Association2011-04-18
  9. "Growth opportunity for young professionals. Lots of responsibilities and opportunity to learn on the job with support f"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Former Employee - Anonymous Employee in Chicago, IL
    Recommends
    Approves of CEO

    I worked at American Marketing Association

    Pros

    friendly atmosphere, have a variety and important resonsibilities.

    Cons

    salary not as competitive, co-workers

    Advice to Management

    Better compensation.

    American Marketing Association2010-09-16
  10. Helpful (3)

    "Fine if you are a yes man"

    StarStarStarStarStar
    • Work/Life Balance
    • Culture & Values
    • Career Opportunities
    • Compensation and Benefits
    • Senior Management
    Current Employee - Anonymous Employee in
    Doesn't Recommend
    Negative Outlook
    Disapproves of CEO

    I have been working at American Marketing Association

    Pros

    Has the potential to be a great organization

    Cons

    Upper management plays politics and only cares about yes men.

    American Marketing Association2012-08-01
Found 30 reviews